We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience - DO NOT RECOMMEND”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Experience - DO NOT RECOMMEND”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

For the past 2 years we have participated in the White Marlin Tournament. With this being one of the largest White Marlin tournaments in the nation, it's a busy time for Ocean City. Long story short, I reserved multiple rooms within my room block and some people had to change rooms mid-stay because they're room types were not available the entire time. Not ideal but the hotel was at capacity so it just is what it is.

Upon check in, 3 of my guests sharing 2 different rooms were told that they no longer had to change rooms mid stay as the hotel was able to rearrange some of their inventory. This excitement was short lived.

Keep in mind, my guests are here for a fishing tournament so they are leaving the hotel at 3am in the morning and are miles off shore. One day during their stay, the hotel decides that they can no longer keep those 3 guests in the same room and will need to go back to the original plan of switching rooms mid stay. The only problem is that 1 of those 3 guests was out on the boat at the time that this was decided and did not have cell service.

This is where it gets interesting. The hotel takes it upon themselves to contact the other guests in their party and tell them that they need to go clean out the 1 room of the guest who was unavailable. Keep in mind, they didn't know that they were going to need to change rooms so their room was in disarray. While this may seem harmless, it is extremely intrusive and unprofessional of the hotel.

When the guest whose room was ransacked finally got close enough to shore to receive cell service and realized what happened, he immediately panicked. He had approximately $15K worth of merchandise in the safe that may or may not be there.

After a very difficult conversation with the manager on duty, Natalie, they were able to recover the merchandise. While this was the worst of the issues we had with this property, it was not the only one.

Needless to say, I will NEVER book another room at this hotel nor would I ever recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    246
    73
    25
    23
See reviews for
408
292
30
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We have come to OC every year for over 10yrs, and decided to try the Hampton Inn as it is a newer place and we wanted bayfront view. We originally booked a 2 queen bed room but decided to upgrade to the 2 queen bed suite bayfront to enjoy the additional space and amenities.

This was our first disappointment as the suite room just has slightly larger space, a sink, microwave, and the additional sitting area with couch which is separated by a desk. Definitely not worth the additional $200. The view was breathtaking and we were top floor which was great but doesnt compensate for the lack of amenities. In addition, the temperature on the top floor was sooo hot due to the sun baking on the hotel & the air conditioning unit not going any lower than 60degrees, the room was never cool. Even though it read 60, it felt like 80degrees all the time. We slept without blankets and were sweating all the time in our room because we were so hot.

This hotel does not have a restaurant or a bar inside the hotel. It only has a Tiki bar outside by the pool that closes at dusk. This is a problem during rain storms when you are confined to the hotel. Moreover, this hotel does not offer room service for either food or beverages. Major disappointment.

Overall, based on our experience, we would never return to this hotel nor would we recommend this hotel to others. We expect alot more from a hilton chain and being hilton honors members.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mpierry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbhde, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear you are disappointed with our Hampton Inn & Suites. Hampton Inn's are ALL limited service properties...and you will not have the amenities here that full service hotels offer. All our suites are just as you explained...Not a full suite, 1 bedroom, etc. The suite at this property is the same suite you will get at all Hampton Inn & Suites as we are built to Hampton specs. We are a bit different as most Hampton's do not offer a seasonal tiki bar that serves drinks, sandwiches and snacks. I'm sorry to hear you had a room that was too hot....I'm not sure if our staff was notified...if so, we could have checked into that for you.
I would suggest if you want full service amenities that you visit the Hilton or one of the many other full service properties in Ocean City. Again, our apologies that you weren't happy with your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is only a year old at the time of this review and is WHOLE LOT nicer than many of the older hotels that exist in the area - it's sort of "Resort Light". It doesn't have all the luxury and amenities of a resort hotel (Hilton, Loews, Hyatt, Westin, etc) but it does try to provide some of the key features of a resort experience. Since resort options are limited in OC (new hilton OC resort was booked), this hotel and its newness, location, decor, and outdoor pool area with tiki bar was a nice alternative for myself, husband, and 3 sons.The housekeeping, knowledge and attentiveness of staff and provided services were not the same of an higher end hotel, so the price was high considering it was a moderate class hotel and we were in OCMD - but I guess that is what the market in the area dictates in season. (We have paid the same price to stay in Hard Rock at Universal/Orlando, Florida, Hilton Bonnet Creek Orlando, Fl., Lowes, St. Petes Florida, etc, so paying this price for OCMD was surprising.) But anything more reasonable didn't seem as nice or have as much. Our stay overall was VERY enjoyable. The key to this place is that it is NEW. Nice lobby, a great outdoor pool (and indoor) and patio with a close, beautiful view of the bay. There is also a tiki bar near pool with food service and tables. The food at the bar was pretty good (recommend Club sandwich). They also had live music late afternoon/evening. Free internet and workout room. Some of the downsides were that you needed to check pool / beach towels in and out fo the front deask rather than available poolside as you need / want them. The daily housekeeping was not the best - room was cleaned and looked good for most part each day but not great attention to details (such as replacing shampoo, soap, cleaning corners, etc - although the font desk provided any needed extra items, if requested). The ventilation in room was not great either (no fan in bathrooom, can't adjust fan speed in room, etc. You CAN adjust temperature and each room has slider with balcony) Free breakfast was not great. It gets crowded and because they dont have many waffle makers or toasters, the lines for these are long. The taste of the breakfast was below average. One morning served pre-made omelettes of just folded egg and cheese - no meat in or on the side offered. The bagels and other pastries just dont taste good - poor quality and / or stale/fozen. The only fruit I saw was apples, no oranges, bananas, etc. So its nice to have free breakfast but dont get too excited over the options / taste. However, I guess you can't beat the price and they do offer cereal, yogurt, and the waffles are pretty good. Some other feedback is that they do not have a hot tub - although its seems between the indoor and outdoor pool, the workout room and the overall set up it seems like there should be. The rooms also do not have "on command" movie or show service. So even though its is mostly families staying there who would want to watch a movie at night (suite had fridge and microwave so we brought popcorn to make to eat during movie) there was nothing to watch. Only regular tv and that was limited and hard to find something to watch that we all liked/was appropriate and started at a time for us all to watch - So bring your ipad to use the free internet to watch a movie. The front desk seemed to lack some knowledge. We asked if there were lifeguards up the block and if chairs and umbrellas were available for rent at beach (have to walk a block to beach across a main road but its not bad at all). The staff didn't know if there were items for rent and told us the beach did not have lifeguards and that we would have to go by boardwalk for lifeguards - which required driving. It turns out this is not true. There ARE lifeguards by the local beach and there ARE chairs and umbrellas for rent. Although there were a few areas of dissapointment -- GIVEN THE COST OF THE ROOMS - this hotel was VERY nice. The fact that it is new is a huge seller and its is a good location and offers some very nice resort type features that you may not find at another hotel within this "hotel class". I would definitely recommend and return.

Room Tip: Choose away from elevator and face pool/bayside for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Overall a great experience. Staff was friendly and room was clean. My daughter loved the outdoor and indoor pools. Public transportation was easy to use to get to the boardwalk if you don't want to drive and pay for parking (too far to walk with little kids).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just returned from ocean city. I went with my husband, my mother and our 8 month old. The location of the hotel is perfect, the pool was good but only if you have kids, there is a bar outside that was great to have so you can have a drink or snack. Thursday night they had a guy singing and we could hear him from our room while we were getting ready.
The only negative was the breakfast...since it is included in the price you pay people take advantage and eat the food like they have never eaten before. We saw guest taking trays and stacking the food and bringing it to their room, there are only two waffle makers that take forever to make and you have to stand online because people make more than one waffle at a time. Plus they taste like cardboard. They ran out of bananas which we resorted to the fruit since everything else was not good at all. We would stay here again but not take part in the breakfast it was less than satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very clean, new & great location. Nice pool with great bay view although a bit cloudy. Nice tiki bar. Nice to have option of Free brkfst. 1 block to beach but need to cross hwy. If crossing with children I'd wait for shuttle as I heard they had one. The only thing we weren't pleased with was not getting bay side room even though booked and requested a month in advance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank ronniehutch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice hotel bit overpriced. Breakfast one morning ran out of eggs and sausage. Friday night musician was terrible. Good location to mackys and secrets. There was a bus stop out front that was useful. And three dollars for all day and one foe one way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d1avid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
2,061 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.6 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,081 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Address: 4301 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-3241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing