We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to check your credit card statement - we were double charged”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #87 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Be sure to check your credit card statement - we were double charged”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Double check your credit card statement when you get your bill - we were double charged. Not to mention, the place has obviously seen a few too many frat parties. The only good thing about it is the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zanychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanamanager, General Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Thank you very much, if you think you were double charged feel free to contact us and we will be happy to discuss it with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    28
    14
    74
See reviews for
67
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Was nervous about this hotel after some of the reviews....but glad we stayed here! Rooms and oceanfront balcony were very spacious! Staff was very nice......stayed on the 5th floor, oceanfront view was great! Again, location was great, parked the vehicle and didn't have to get back in it until we checked out. Only complaint I have is regarding the Wi-Fi.... no internet access the whole time we were there, we were given the password, however there was never a strong enough signal for any internet connection (we were on an end- corner room) apparently each floor has it's own internet connection, where we were located did not pick any of this up.....regarding the stairs, I'm not sure if we were allowed or not, but at times we used them! and our room was very clean upon arrival, carpets were shampooed and still a little damp. no outdoor pool, yes the indoor pool is somewhat small, but heated which my 7 month old baby enjoyed very much! There are 2 elevators, yes they are somewhat slow, but I didn't think it was too bad, I've seen worse... If you're looking for a decent, average hotel, in a great location with a great view...this hotel is for you. Afterall, you're going for the BEACH right?! I think the people that are complaining so much should stay in a 5 star hotel if that's what they're looking for ;) I would definitely stay here again! PS.....Beds were clean....room service only came 2 days, we ran downstairs for more toilet paper and asked them to come for towels, and they did.... Very pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a few days for a summer trip. When we first got there the images online looked nothing like the hotel. The inside was old and crusty looking. The staff were extremely rude and barely spoke any English. When we got to our room the sheets were yellow and the pillows were brown and I am not talking about the pillow cases or sheet colors. We had to bring our own sleeping blankets because the bed was nasty and I feared I was going to get an STD. We were in our room for less than an hour when we decided to step out on to our balcony for a drink. Our view was a old dumpster from the restaurant beside the hotel which wreaked and there were birds everywhere. While we were on the balcony we had the door locked and bolted from the inside. Once we came back in to our room the door was open only to be stopped by the dead bolt. The staff tried to come in to our room thinking we were not there. This all happened less than 2 hours into our stay. We approached the desk and questioned them about why our door was open and all the sudden no one could speak English at all. They had no explanation and for the rest of the trip we took all of our valuables to the beach with us. I have never in my life written a hotel review but I feel people should know to NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanamanager, General Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Thank you for the review, we have upgraded the lock systems for your safety. We try to keep everything clean and working right. What you describe is not normal for our hotel.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Harwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

First off, I have a phobia about elevators!! They have stairs but no one is allowed to use them unless you are dying!!!! My answer to the question about what to do about this was find another hotel (of course at the last minute in peak season!!!) The rooms were small and dirty! Mattress was so old and saggy that they had boards between the mattress and box spring, which did not help and I came home with an aching back!!! Bathroom floor was filthy and the carpet smelled like urine!!! The indoor pool they brag about was so dirty that you could not see the bottom of the pool because of the dirty water. Opening your eyes underwater was a no-no!!!! Plus they failed to mention that the pool was kiddie sized and not good for adults!!!!! Not worth the $1800.00 we paid to stay there and will DEFINITELY not go there again!!!! The staff was snobby and very inconsiderate, even laughing when we complained!!! This place needs to be condemned!!!!!!!

Room Tip: best place on the boardwalk is the Rideau!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pam018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americanamanager, General Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review the Americana Hotel, The stairway doorsare always locked. The town requires we keep them locked from the outside at all times. At the Americana Hotel we try to keep everything as clean as possible, and in good working condition. What you describe is not normal for our hotel.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel has an awesome location. We stayed on the 6th floor on the south side. We heard no outside noises at all. No trash trucks or delivery trucks. The curtain across the sliding glass door was heavy enough that it kept out the morning sunlight. You heard no noises from any rooms. Sleeping was great! The beds were comfy. Yes the pillows were a little on the flat side. The room was HUGE and very very clean. Our bed sheets were changed DAILY, the bathroom and kitchen floors were washed everyday. The carpeting was swept everyday. Clean bath towels were given to us daily. Our 2 housekeepers were awesome. The staff is very friendly. We had a balcony with a sideview of the ocean. Honestly this hotel is a great deal and priced right for being on the boardwalk at 10th street. Will stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family booked this hotel, then read all the bad reviews. We checked in & were quite surprised to find that our rooms were super large & nice!! The hotel itself could be updated, & there were some plumbing issues, but it was fixed quickly. The housekeeping service was AWESOME!! Our rooms were left VERY clean & they even made little animals & flowers with our towels!! We had a total of 3 rooms & no issues. The front desk was nice to deal with as well. Great location, great value. Don't let the bad reviews turn you away!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girlyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurlock, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I love this hotel. We like to get away by ourselves mostly in the off season . Our grandson loved it here to. Staff very friendly. We have stayed here numerous times and will continue to do so . We love to just sit on the ocean front balcony and people watch, read, etc. Beautifull view of ocean.

Room Tip: Ocean front very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank repomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Walk Hotel
Beach Walk Hotel
#53 of 103 in Ocean City
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#90 of 103 in Ocean City
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
878 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#73 of 103 in Ocean City
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lankford Hotel
Lankford Hotel
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 913 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-6689
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Ocean City
Americana Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing