We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesomness”
Review of Oceanic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanic Motel
Ranked #61 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Chambersburg, Pa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“awesomness”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My 2 sisters and I planned a trip. My family and I have never stayed Bayside before. I am so glad we chose the Oceanic for our first experience. The staff is wonderful. Its like they were all family tip the end of the week. Our housekeeper bubbly Beverly was the friendliest housekeeper I ever met. The other lady (I forget her name SORRY) was just as friendly. The other guests we talked to had been coming for years. That says a lot they had nothing but good things to say. The only downfall was the ice machine was broke but the desk staff had it available when we mered it. We have been coming to OC for about 11 years and I cant see us ever going anywhere else after the Oceanic. Its close to everything. Thank you to the great OCEANIC staff. It was a pleasure and relaxing week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Asseteague island is right across the bay and it was awesome to awake il...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank loretta1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    102
    60
    35
    61
See reviews for
144
126
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 days at the of august. This place is great. Great staff very friendly, free coffee all day free fruit and newspaper for breakfast and free passes to the pier. The view alone is enough of a reason to stay here everything else is just a bonus. Love all the beach chairs, charcoal grills, and hammocks, a lot of fun :) rooms were small but cozy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifallelsefails5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Recently came to MD to be in a wedding... from the wedding, we came to Oceanic motel to finish the week. Ended up part of the wedding party and the bride and groom showed up... The hotel was so accommodating, we couldn't have asked for a better "honeymoon" for our family!!! Depending on what you want to do, you won't even have to get back into your car if you don't have to. The pool overlooking the bay is awesome...

I see ABSOLUTELY NO REASON for us to EVER stay anywhere else, can't wait to book our next stay....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just had to write a review, i usually don't take the time. This is the first time I stayed in Oceanic and I loved it. Right near the fishing pier,(grandson's favorite part) and it is free to fish just rent the pole. Room was perfect Older but clean. Pool was nice.Motel is close to Inlet-water, tram,boardwalk,carnival everything you come to OC for. The Staff was AMAZING!!!!!!!!! Angie is so sweet, she is willing to inform you of all activities going on and always has a smile. Bam-Bam was great he is the maitenance man I believe. It is not real fancy but it is nice and a great family place. This will be my motel of chioce from now on. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon. Hugs from VA. Karen B

Room Tip: some of the rooms are very small, but we had the communicating room, it sleeps 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Angie is a wonderful help. She is always willing to go the extra mile to make sure you have everything you need. Bev is a wonderful housekeeper. She has a great personalilty and is very personalable. Bev will make you smile anyway she can. I love having her as my housekeeper every year. Joyce is so nice. Always has a smile on her face. My overall time that Im there is great. I never wanna leave there and cant wait to return the next year! Thank you Oceanic staff for making our stay so enjoyable and fun!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajones5708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Where do I start? Ewww.
Dirty, rundown, needs to just be torn down and completely renovate the lot.
First off, $200 a night. Seriously? This motel is more like a "pay by the hour" motel you'd see in a movie. They get you because they make you pay upfront and then have a "no refund" policy. We had already paid a fortune and had no where else to stay so we were stuck.
The room was so gross we wouldn't even walk without shoes on, even wore flip flips in the bathroom. Bed linens were dirty, we had to have them change them. Towels were stained, some even had hard lumps stuck to them.
It is very old and rundown. Smells so heavily of Lysol, I had to use my inhaler for my asthma constantly.
They advertise free wi-fi. What they don't advertise is that you have to go out on the picnic table to get it!
The outlets are a fire hazard and definitely not up to code. One was actually burning hot, so we unplugged it.
Room air conditioner units that run constantly.
I just can't tell you enough how bad this is. I wonder why it has good reviews by people. I am amazed.
Anyway, don't hope that the bad reviews are just a few grumpy people. Trust me on this, listen to them- don't stay here. Look elsewhere.
The only good thing about it is the location. You can walk right to the boardwalk in two minutes. But I should have just slept in my car, it would have been better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DMH1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Westminster, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My experience was great! The room was clean and very roomy. The staff were friendly and informative of events and info about the town. The location is great, close to bus stop and inlet shopping, very short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
7.2 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#71 of 103 in Ocean City
209 reviews
3.5 mi away
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
#68 of 103 in Ocean City
464 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#78 of 103 in Ocean City
38 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bedtime Inn
Bedtime Inn
#79 of 103 in Ocean City
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madison Beach Motel
Madison Beach Motel
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Motel

Property: Oceanic Motel
Address: 710 S Philadelphia Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-7420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceanic Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many a fish story has begun at the Oceanic Motel. Located at the southernmost end of Ocean City, we overlook the Inlet and Assateague Island with their famous ponies. All rooms are air-conditioned and come with refrigerators. Guests are welcome to take a dip in our outdoor pool, fish off of our pier or relax on our private bayside beach. If the ocean is what you crave, the beach is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Oceanic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Motel Ocean City
Oceanic Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing