We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was just fine”
Review of Harrison Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harrison Hall
Ranked #17 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was just fine”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Yes the hotel is older and if you want a place to stay more than a couple days I might suggest you look further. The room was very clean, NO BED BUGS, Older style bathroom with only a shower (no bath tub) and it is small.
The porch was awesome though crowded at times but the wait was worth the view.
The pool bar was not open on a Friday evening or afternoon which was a bit frustrating but there was plenty to do close by.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have a sweet window view... the basement floor smelled musty just walking thru the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sg15401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    262
    190
    81
    98
See reviews for
387
244
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Robesonia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Harrison hotel for the first time this year after spending the past years staying at the shoreham hotel, we thought we would upgrade and stay at a "nicer" place, after I looked at the website I booked the vacation.

PROS: Right on the boardwalk/ vending machines (cheap soda's) / nice size adult pool and also a kiddie pool/ bathtub in room.

CONS: Parking is VERY limited/ only 1 elevator for 4 floors/ elevator is VERY small/ bathroom is small/ rooms are small/ rooms are smelly/ hallways are smelly. We had a room with 2 double beds at the bottom of one of the beds was a shape area of metal that I scraped my leg on twice, my husband thought he fixed the problem and then he got scrached by it and then my son, thank goodness we brought our first aid kit along. When we first arrived we have no idea where to check in at, I had to call the front desk from our car they have a very small parking area up front and it was of course full so we had to park 2 blocks away.

CONCLUSSION: If you have children I wouldn't suggest staying here, you wait a while for the elevator with a stroller and kids don't like to wait.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great view of the ocean--Parked the car (they provide a pass)- never had to drive--- everything in walking distance--the pool was the largest I had swam in---But the Front Porch is the best-- it is a nice place to just sit and people watch or to look at the ocean--you meet the nicest people--then you dont have to leave the hotel hjust go to the resatraunt that is on the premises

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANETS207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Tried Harrison Hall based on the location and a friends recommendation from a stay several years previously. First, the good. Staff was friendly. Location is excellent on the boardwalk and beach. The wide front porch is a nice place for people watching except for all the smokers. Now the not so good. The physical facility is showing its age and lack of updating badly. Carpets are dingy. Bathroom fixtures very dated and showing use damages. Plumbing for shower could not control the mix of hot and cold very well and made for an interesting hot and then cold then hot shower. This could actually be dangerous.

Overall, this seems like a facility waiting to be sold to a large chain hotel for tear down and rebuild.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cagandpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Found this hotel online and let me just say, looks can be deceiving! Aside from housekeeping, the rest of the staff was horrible! The first night of staying there the shower wasn't working and wasn't draining any water. They didn't have any maintenance there to take care of the situation. The room was dirty and smelled like mildew. They only had one elevator for the entire hotel and was barely big enough to fit two people inside with their luggage. This place is definitely over priced! The only thing we liked about this place was the view from the porch, whenever you actually found a chair to sit on. Overall, the trip was amazing but the hotel was horrible. Would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LC413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our high school senior class stayed for the weekend . The staff was so Accomidating.
to the students. I definitely recommend the Harrison for families,couples,or groups.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

As identified in my review last year i have been stayimg at HARRISON HALL for a number of and always look forward to returning. Why HARRISON HALL? As previouly said LOCATION, LOCATION. LOCATION. Located on 15th street on the Boardwalk. Close to anything you want or need---resturants, including DeVincie"s at hotel (fine dinning inside or on Boardwalk)---entertainment (day/night, adults/kids)---large swimming pool (bar/entertainment)---public transportation (24 hr pass/$3)---great people watching---AND hotel staff, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: fLOORS 1 & 2 easter if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArkansasCheezburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.5 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrison Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrison Hall

Property: Harrison Hall
Address: 1409 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-7522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harrison Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Ocean City’s original gems, Harrison Hall has been welcoming visitors since 1951. All of our rooms come with refrigerators. Located directly on the boardwalk, feel free to relax in a rocking chair on our spacious front porch or find the perfect spot on the beach for a day spent soaking up the sun. If the beach isn’t for you, pull up a chaise lounge on the deck of our Olympic sized swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Harrison Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrison Hall Hotel Ocean City
Harrison Hall Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing