We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean beaches”
Review of Ocean City Beach

Ocean City Beach
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice clean beaches”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed off the boardwalk and the beaches were really clean.With all the crowds they really keep them up!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank eagleeye112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,125
    775
    206
    39
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Carbon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best beach!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a beautiful beach! Very clean, and great for seashell collecting and kite flying! Soft sand and not far to the water's edge.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank irishgirl2958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very impressed with cleanliness!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Ocean City beaches are very, very clean. They're well taken care of. The people are friendly, it's not overly crowded . .just a great place for any type of visitor!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Relax”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

They drag the beach every day and clean the boardwalk every day. The Beach is wonderful! There is a lot to see and enjoy like dolphins coming up the coast, a peer to look off or fish off of and several place for kids to hang out at one a rainy day. The beach is beautiful!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nelly540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just average!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Ocean City. It is true there are many restaurants, vacation rentals and stores. Some people may refer that has a bonus, but to us it seemed like too much in that small stretch of beach. What was a bonu is having the bay on one side and the ocean on the other. The beach itself is very nice and clean. One thing to note though, as you are walking on the beach toward the ocean, there was a drop in sand before you reach the ocean, I don't know if it is always like that, but perhaps the waves were rough. But it was not an easy step down. Also it was windy and chilly most of the week (65 - 70 degrees), except the last day (of course!!) But we know, that is to be expected during off season. Despite the weather and waves, there were many people in the ocean.

I am not sure if I would go back again, because first we felt it was too commercialized. And secondly the coastal highway is just too busy for us. We stayed near 98th St. Maybe down near the boardwalk it would not be a problem. My husband and I love walking and the highway felt very noisy. It did not help that the first weekend was biker's week and we could not carry on a conversation with as many bikers that drove by. , Also, if you wanted to cross the street you had to walk almost a block or two out of your way to get to a cross walk or jaywalk (we did many times). But then we were talking to some locals who told us that there were 30 pedestrian accidents this year alone and several were fatalities! They went on to say that as the tourist are driving they may not be looking at the road and then a jaywalker is accidentally hit. Please be careful in Ocean City. I am not sure if I would go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cmdwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean City Beach also viewed

 

Been to Ocean City Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing