We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Maintenance and Hotel Manager With An Attitude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coastal Palms Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Maintenance and Hotel Manager With An Attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel was horrible. Poor maintenance and the room was dirty; hair and cap of cosmetic top on floor behind bathroom door. Coffee cups dirty and refrigerator did not get cold. The bed linen was dirty. We did not receive room service. Upon reporting to manager he wanted to observe and did very little about it. Only had someone bring clean towels, coffee cups and a blanket. The hair and cap remained on the floor. Sorry to say, I would never return to this property again. Disgusted!

Room Tip: The room was unclean when we arrived; hair on the bathroom floor and top off some type of cosmetics...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest, were sorry your stay was less than adequate. The front desk manager was correct in saying our maids only service the rooms once a day but were sorry the communication came off as if they wouldn't service your room upon request. If you needed room service you should have had it, no questions asked. I want to thank you for your review and let you know it did not fall on deaf ears. We will be working harder to tighten up our room inspections. Additionally we will be reaching out to you personally to try and clear up the customer service issue. All of our managers and supervisors are well educated on hotel operations and absolutely well mannered and helpful individuals. We hope to earn your trust back and have you again as our guest in beautiful Ocean City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    52
    52
    26
    21
See reviews for
107
43
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I were very disappointed when we arrived at the property. The pictures of this property on the internet are misleading. This "motel" brings new meaning to the phrase, " you get what you pay for". We were told that the property was newly renovated and had recently reopened. It was clear that our room was not renovated. The stairways and hallways remained littered with trash the five days we were there. Our bathroom floor was dirty and the room did not spell fresh. I wanted to check out before checking in. We could not because of their 72 hours cancellation policy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear concerned guest, there are many photo's online which accurately depict the rooms and suites. They do not differ in quality, or appearance, and are accurately represented on our website and social media sites. We urge our customers to take photos of the rooms and amenities for other potential guests to see. The rooms have been renovated with flat screen lcd TV's, new carpet(may 2012), 2 y/o mattresses, new granite sinks, tile, tub and shower heads. Not everything is absolutely 100% brand new, but its pretty close. The hallway issue should be addressed and we will be keeping a closer watch on our outward appearance and we thank you for bringing that issue to our attention. If you truly felt as though you were absolutely dissatisfied with your room we may have made an exception to refund your stay.

The price of our rooms is not reflected in the quality of the product but as a courtesy to our new guests in order to spread the word about this great economical find. We want to gain the trust and respect of new customers and have been offering great rates as an incentive to be our guest. We're sorry you did not feel this way and truly wish you decide to come back to beautiful Ocean City, and your next stay exceeds expectations.

PS: The Carousel Group does offer many different room types ranging from Bay-view standard rooms to Penthouse Oceanfront Condominiums. Surely we can accommodate you at a price point which fits your budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

West Keansburg, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed 7/11 - 7/14. We checked in very late and then unfortunately had a medical emergency that needed an ambulance and a trip to the hospital, Norman( I hope I have his name right) the desk clerk at the time was very helpful and he even asked how everything went the next time we saw him. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. A call to the front desk to check on our air conditioner was responded to immediately by a friendly maintenance man and fixed. One day our room had not been serviced yet when we returned from the beach. I only asked for towels, but the housekeeper came back later to make the beds and to be sure the room was cleaned. I loved the location which is about a 10 to 15 minute ride to the boardwalk. I appreciated the free beach chairs and the closeness to the beach. I would surely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink513pd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear valued customer, thanks for the positive review! We are truly sorry you needed to make a trip to the hospital during your stay, but are glad you still had a great time.

We're glad you enjoyed the free beach chairs, we hope you had some time to enjoy some of the other joint amenities of the Carousel as well. You receive a free family photo with every stay, discounted ice skating passes, access to our back patio bar and grill, discounted dining, access to our kids activities such as Camp Carousel, our pirates ship and the moon bounce.

Thanks again for being our guest, we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our team (approximately 8 rooms) stayed for two nights and it will be our last stay. At least four rooms had problems with this hotel; however I will let those families leave their own reviews. I was very disappointed. When we checked-in, the bathroom floor was dirty with hair, sand and trash. One of the beds had a dirty blanket. The sofa bed mattress didn't have sheets so the hotel didn't even try to hide the numerous stains on the sofa bed. However, we didn't have trouble getting sheets and another dirty blanket from the front desk. The next day, when we made coffee, we found that all the coffee mugs were dirty. Additionally, we did not get maid service. We went to the front desk and spoke with the manager, he came up to the room. After viewing dirt, the uncleaned room and the stained mattress, he was unapologetic and seemed irritated by our complaints. But he sent someone to the room; and after he made three trips, we got clean towels, clean mugs and a clean blanket. So we made our beds and cleaned up the previous guests hair and sand. Later that evening, when we went back to the front desk, the same manager claimed the maid came to our room at 10AM and we supposedly denied service even though I slept until 10:30AM but my kids were watching TV. When we told him that was untrue and the maid was cleaning the room next to ours when we left, he said "they are busy and they only come to rooms once." WOW! So next year, I will be spending the extra money for real oceanview rooms, better customer service, maide service, clean linen and a clean pool.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Coastal Palms Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear concerned customer, thank you for being our guest, we are sorry your stay was less than adequate. After reading your review we have come to the conclusion that the core of the issues you have had can be directly traced back to our housekeeping staff and mis communication between staff members. We assure you that your complaints have not fallen on deaf ears and we are working hard to better manage our housekeeping staff.

We have worked hard to provide a higher quality experience at a reasonable rate, and it's a shame this couldn't shine through for your first stay with us. Although there is no excuse for mis - communication, we would like to let you know we have several hotels with many different class rooms ranging from bayside rooms to penthouse condominiums. We hope your next stay in beautiful Ocean City exceeds expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah County, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We did not book ahead of time and found this place purely by luck. It was a great place away from the hustle and bustle of the boardwalk. They told us our room would be ready by 4pm, and when we stopped by to check to see if was ready at 2pm, it was and they allowed us to check in early. The room was clean and it was a welcomed surprise to find 2 TV's, with 3 children, it cut down on the arguments, especially when it rained. The staff was always friendly and ready to accommodate any and every need we had. The only complaint that I have is the room was very close to the street and it was very noisy..ask for a room further away from the street. Also, I would not go to the restraunt attached to the hotel, the staff is not friendly or accommodating. This hotel was a great place and if we return to Ocean City, we'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and let me say it has been amazing! We got to the hotel early and they let us check in, I was a bit nervous thinking the price was too good to be true and it wouldn't be anything too great , but as soon as we opened the door we were surprised, the room was really clean and there was a beautiful balcony, even though there was a line of buildings in the way, the ocean was still visible. The most amazing part was the beach was right across the street which made everything 10xs better! I'm so happy I found this hotel. It seemed to be such a better deal then the ones closer to the boardwalk. The staff at the front desk was really friendly, and not to mention there is an AMAZING restaurant right on the corner. The hotel is clean , super close to the beach , very peaceful , great view I give it 2 thumbs up , and defiantly will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Its an L shape so all of the rooms are facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Btatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was a little nervous about this hotel since the price seemed so much lower than some of the other places, but we were very happy with our stay. The room was clean and spacious. It was great to have two queen size beds rather than the standard double beds at other places. Our daughter was excited to sleep on the pull out sofa, but unfortunately the mattress was in no condition to be slept on. It was thin, worn, and had crumbs or sand or something in it. I told the young man who checked us out and he said he would be sure to put it in the notes, so hopefully that will be taken care of. I read in some other reviews that lighting was an issue in the rooms, however we didn't find it a problem so maybe that has been taken care of as well. The balcony bigger than I had anticipated, with room enough for two chairs and space to walk around. My girls really enjoyed sitting out there at night reading before bed. And our ocean view room actually had a very nice ocean view! Granted it was not directly out the window, but you could see a nice stretch of it standing on the balcony. Housekeeping did a nice job of keeping the room clean and supplied during our stay. The pool is small, but it served our purpose nicely. It is 3 feet deep on one end and 5 feet deep on the other. Perfect for our tiny 6 and 10 year olds. The parking lot is pretty cramped, so if you have a large vehicle beware, but we were fine with our midsized car. Very short walk to the beach and about 20 minute drive to the boardwalk. Plenty of stores and places to eat within walking distance. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.7 mi away
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
#64 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#77 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#21 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#38 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Palms Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Palms Inn & Suites

Property: Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Address: 12004 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-4701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coastal Palms Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Palms is a family friendly hotel situated in peaceful North Ocean City. Located near many local attractions, you won't have trouble finding entertainment for the whole family. At Coastal Palms you will experience quality, comfort, a personable staff, moderate room rates, and an overall friendly experience. Just steps from the beach, you can relax and unwind with the vacation you and your family deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Coastal Palms Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing