We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good service, Clean, and Affordable Compared to other Ocean City Lodging” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spinnaker

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Spinnaker
Ranked #18 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
crozet
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service, Clean, and Affordable Compared to other Ocean City Lodging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I paid extra for one of the plus rooms at the Spinnaker Motel during the peak summer season and still got a better deal than other places on the Boardwalk in Ocean City. I shared the room with four other adults but didn't feel too cramped because the room was reasonably spacious and the sleep sofa was large enough for one adult. We loved having the fully stocked kitchen with a microwave and refrigerator. I was surprised that even though the Spinnaker is not oceanfront that we had a beautiful view of Ocean City and the ocean from the balcony of our room. The Spinnaker is located on the Boardwalk which was great. We rarely had to use our vehicle because shopping, the beach, and restaurants were always close by. We utilized the trolley alot to get around. This staff were very accomodating; they allowed us to park our car in their lot before checking in when we arrived before our room was ready. Maid service was excellent the whole time we were there. Our room was very clean when we arrived. The beds were only full size but very comfortable. Really the only downside was the elevators. There were only two elevators and both of them did not run smoothly even though they were operational the whole time we were there. I would recommend the Spinnaker especially if you don't want to stay on the Boardwalk but don't want to spend $400.00 per night.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the plus rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank houchens49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    158
    40
    6
    10
See reviews for
203
96
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a decent motel that was over priced for Labor day weekend! I think I would stay here again if I got a better deal. The plus room was nice but was not as "renovated" or "new" like they described it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xoceebeexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

As always, had a great time and great service! Love this hotel - it truly means OC to us!!!!! Couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. It looks like you're at the beach - not some stuffy place that could be anywhere. The staff here are without a doubt the best anywhere!!!!

Room Tip: East side the best view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This affordable motel is nice. Rooms are good sized and it is nice being so close to the beach. The rooms were clean. We would stay again and the price was just right. The cafe downstairs is great bonus too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kfitz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Based on the reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked this hotel for a little getaway eight the family. It was our first time to Ocean City and I think we found the perfect spot.

While the hotel shows signs of wear, the pros way outweigh that con. Rooms are spacious and very clean, staff was great and location was perfect with plenty of on site parking.

The rooms are efficiencies in that the have an apartment-sized kitchenette with stove, refrigerator, microwave and toaster. Also included are pots and pans, plates and silverware, dish soap and cloths.

And if you are afraid of running out of hot water, fear not. Not only is there plenty of it, be careful not to scald! Water pressure was also great in shower. But be sure to use the outdoor shower to rinse off sand after beach.

You are about 100 steps from the boardwalk and beach, but not the busy end. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, including Malia's downstairs of the hotel, which was ideal for breakfast. However, if you want something more familiar, Dunkin' Donuts is just a block away.

Also within close walking distance is a mini golf park and a CVS, so you really have access to a lot nearby.

The arcade and amusement rides are a good walking distance away, but we drove down and found ample parking just off the boardwalk.

All in all we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keeper0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston,NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in Room 510. Entry door area and kitchen are narrow. No divider in room. It's great for 2 people, not a family. It needs a smaller frying pan that fits stove coil. Room 510 has the best view of the ocean, a direct view from both the balcony and a window in the room. I think 110,210,310,410 would be the same. Hotel staff was very nice. Our maid, Alice, was great! If I decide to put up with the Delaware traffic, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel was in a great location next to the ocean. We had a view from our room. The service was fast and everyone was very nice...the pool was super clean and had a separate area to socialize...the room was large and had a divider for privacy which came in handy with three children. Everyone loved the balcony... and we found the kitchen and utensils extremely helpful for meals....would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.2 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#14 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#12 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spinnaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spinnaker

Property: The Spinnaker
Address: 18th Street & Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-0519
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spinnaker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spinnaker has all full efficiency units that sleep to six people per unit. Each unit includes two double beds a pull out sleep sofa double bed, private balcony, fully equipped kitchenette, full bath and private balcony. All units are NON Smoking. All rooms have free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Spinnaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker Motel Ocean City
Spinnaker Ocean City Md
Spinnaker Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing