We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay at Ocean City, MD”
Review of The Spinnaker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Spinnaker
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location was perfect, Staff was outstanding, room was very clean and up to date. beds are very comfortable. Malias Cafe is the place to eat great foods and good prices.
I will stay here again and recommend this place to everyone i know.

Room Tip: Have fun with the elevator !\
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 433 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

After all the reviews I thought it would be cleaner which was the most important thing to us.
As soon as we walked in you could smell overwhelming air freshener as if to cover up the musty smell. In the kitchen area there was dried banana on the wall and candy under the dresser from the last guests, mold on the curtains and overall it had a run down feeling.

The bathroom was very,very small and the beds were doubles not queens so also small.

The whole place needs some TLC.

Lastly, we asked for a non-smoking room and the room next to ours was also non-smoking but when we sat out on our balcony the neighbors who are only a few feet away were smoking and it was coming our way and could be smelled in our room.

The only positive was the location.

Room Tip: Higher floor and ask about the mold and non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CMC-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Spinnaker is a good motel, just know what to expect when you book there. We stayed in the north building, by 19th Ave. We had 2 double beds and a sleeper sofa. The whole room itself is not big but it is adequate for our family of 5 and it is very clean. They seem to have renovated the tub/shower but not the rest of the bathroom. They don't provide bathroom necessities except for some hand soaps so you should bring (or buy) it. The kitchen has a full refrigerator, electric stove, microwave oven, coffeemaker, toaster and an assortment of eating and cooking utensils.

As others have already mentioned, this motel is just a few steps away from the boardwalk but I can't describe it as "oceanfront". Our building's balcony face north while the other building face south. Yes, you can see the beach from the balcony but nothing beats a real oceanfront room where you awake to an Atlantic sunrise. It is close to everything yet far enough from the busiest area of the boardwalk. The beach itself is good and the outdoor pool is excellent for kids.

The biggest negative thing I observed is the smell of piss in the balcony. I dont know if it is coming from the adjacent balconies but they should have their cleaning crew inspect and clean balconies as well.

Overall, we had a nice stay at Spinnaker and the staff was very helpful. We will probably try other hotels the next time we come to Ocean City, but if the view is not too important and you can use an adequate kitchen during your stay, then I would recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the southern building and bring your own toiletries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank akosikenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We didn’t have enormous expectations, but a few improvements for their guests would be nice. There are also kudos due.

Kitchen- While small, it does have what they say it has- pots and pan (2 sauce pans, 1 pot, 1 skillet- covers for all of these), a flipper, two serving utensils (larger fork & larger spoon), dining utensils for four. Bowls, cup, plates, serving dish, and mugs for four, toaster, coffee maker, ice cube trays, and microwave. We have stayed before in efficiencies with full refrigerators and in terms of “full” size, this is smallest in the spectrum. On the other hand, the cabinet space was ample for one week.
It would be nice to have had: A pan for the oven, a colander, a mixing/serving bowl, another cooking utensil the size of the flipper (maybe a large spoon or spatula). There was no saran wrap, wax paper, foil, paper towels, which many other efficiencies provide in small amounts so you have them when you arrive so you don't have to go right to the store, so that would have been nice, too… But they did provide about 3 oz. of Palmolive. It pays to be prepared, so we planned ahead and brought all of these little ‘extras’ plus paper goods (who wants to do dishes after every meal on vacation), a sponge, napkins, etc.- do yourself a favor and plan ahead, too.

View- This was disappointing. Our "Ocean View" only pertained to when we stood on our balcony, half hanging over the railing, to look at the ocean. We were in the North building (and can’t speak to the views from South building). The true 'view' we got was other motels and the street. Guests should be notified of this when they make their reservations, as we weren’t. There is also a huge rental building in front of the motel, so while it is not a block AWAY the beach, it’s not ‘boardwalk front’- do not expect a direct view of the ocean from the motel (again, at least North side), or from the parking lot/pool/deck area. Also recommend to stay at least 4th floor but better yet the 5th, and maybe whatever view you do get will be better.

Pool- It’s small, but warm and clean. Our kids swam after dinner and they thought it was great that the pool had lights on at night. There are ample chairs, lounges with head rests, and tables on their deck, and the umbrellas are big and do a good job shading the sun. A lot of pools have a wading or ‘toddler’ area for young children, this one does not. The deck was very clean and at night was bright and safe.

Housekeeping- Shalinda was the best! Our room was beautifully put back together for us every afternoon when we returned from the beach, and she checked in with us regularly to see if we needed extras of anything, and when we did she brought everything quickly and with a smile. In fact, we came in contact with many other housekeepers in passing and they were all very, very friendly. We asked for an iron the first night and they were very attentive and immediately brought us a small board and iron. The beds were comfortable and clean, the pillows were also adequate comfort... Oh, and an actual bottom sheet for the bed, which most places don't provide- it was a nice surprise, so we weren't dealing with a migrating flat sheet on the bottom of the bed every night!

Motel upkeep- The ownership needs to keep up on the condition of the building: Unfortunately, there was black mold on every wall, in varying amounts, in the room and bathroom. On the entry door to our room there was basically a chunk of the corner of it missing- peculiar as to why they wouldn’t replace that? The toilet paper holder and tissue paper holders were sandy and rusty and the wall behind the door in the bathroom had a big ding in it (that could easily be covered by a protector on the wall) where someone was careless. The balcony door was a pain to lock, but we got used to it after a couple of tries. A person or two on here said the bathroom was small- it was definitely a very tight squeeze, but it was obviously cleaned well daily. The elevator we nicknamed the ‘Elevator of Death’ because you have enough time to sprint like a track star onto it before it shuts on you; but we have sense of humor, and we learned after our first trip to continue to press the ‘Door Open’ button (easy enough) and move pronto! The area on the floor between the sink/cabinet and the stove/oven was extremely dirty- it would not be something that one person could move on their own, or even daily at that, so we don’t fault Shalinda- but someone with muscle should help the housekeeping staff, they work hard enough and they shouldn’t be expected to move it on their own- in the least, they should be helped so when families are checking out it can be adequately cleaned before the next family checks in- it's reasonable to expect someone else's cooking gunk to be cleaned before new guests come in.... Again, the housekeepers should have help moving those heavy stoves.

Anita and Leroy (I think is his name) were great; There is a third woman that whether you call or walk in the office can be a little snippy, but she is still helpful. Overall the staff all made us comfortable.

Biggest Pros: The location- being that you do not have to cross the street and are ‘beach block’… And it is far enough away from the loud pier not to be bothered by it, yet short enough distance to make it an easy walk down and back and see the shops and eateries; It was a very quiet motel; It did provide the conveniences that it claims on its website; The price was fair for what it offered; Housekeeping did a nice job. Ample parking; And the day you check out they let you stay in the lot and enjoy the beach one last time without having to find parking on the street.

Cons: We did expect for being rated #4 on Tripadvisor, that the motel owner’s attention to its upkeep would be better (mold, rust, door condition, sliding glass door lock, ding in bathroom wall from door handle, lack of attention paid to the floor between cabinet and heavy stove/oven).

Overall: We loved Ocean City and our stay at the Spinnaker made our introductory trip to the beach town comfortable. We will probably try it one more time before deciding whether to try a different hotel or motel, but will ask for the South building next time and a room that definitely does not have any of the same shortcomings. I don’t think they claim to offer much more than they do, so the price seemed fair and honest for a family of five for one week (just over $200 a night) based on what their website claims. I would recommend to a reasonable family with reasonable expectations, that they give the Spinnaker a try (there are some people on here that look like they were expecting The Ritz!)

Room Tip: 4th or 5th Floors, try South building for better chance of seeing the ocean from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SDNabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

First thing I will say is overall our stay was pleasant, house keeping was professional and front desk was customer friendly. One point that I cant get across enough is its not on the boardwalk or a beach front motel, it is on the ocean side of the street but not beachfront, there is a huge building in front of Spinnaker that is on the boardwalk beach. Rate was 200 night mon-fri which we stayed (about average down there in June). 4th time in OC, would consider staying there again but will probably try other places. Best thing about the room was the balcony which afforded you a distance view of the ocean (nice at dusk) Worst thing was bathroom, too small. Other than that everything was decent to good, like I said overall satisfied.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I, along with our 2 children ages 7 and 9 stayed at the Spinnaker July 1-5, 2013. Upon check-in we were greeted with smiling faces that remained throughout our stay. We were in room 409. It had a beautiful view of the ocean and boardwalk. The room itself has an adequate kitchen with many comforts of home. It was easy to keep a family of 4 happy for breakfast and lunch. Alice was our housekeeper and she did an amazing job! So good in fact that our children's feet/socks were not dirty at all. The room had 2 double beds and a comfy couch. The pool was warm, but a little small if you are more of a pool person. We spent the majority of our time at the beach. Beside the pool was a large sun deck with loungers and tables/chairs. We ate breakfast at the cafe below one morning, and it was wonderful as well.

In conclusion this establishment is a gem. We have stayed in other Ocean City hotels, but this one gives an ocean view, full kitchen (no dishwasher) with utensils/plates/etc., extremely clean, super friendly staff, and budget friendly. Don't overlook this hotel! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: South facing building gives and ocean and boardwalk view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank familyfun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The women at the front desk were very friendly. The room was very clean, new carpet, new bed sheets. Bathroom was clean, nice shower with HOT water. Balcony was ok with great sideview of beach. Only a few steps and you are on the boardwalk and beach. Parking lot had plenty of room. Great place, 100% coming back!

Room Tip: We asked for the first floor and they gave us it no problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,753 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,446 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#5 of 104 in Ocean City
882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 104 in Ocean City
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spinnaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spinnaker

Address: 18th Street & Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-0519
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $108 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spinnaker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spinnaker has all full efficiency units that sleep to six people per unit. Each unit includes two double beds a pull out sleep sofa double bed, private balcony, fully equipped kitchenette, full bath and private balcony. All units are NON Smoking. All rooms have free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Spinnaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker Motel Ocean City
Spinnaker Ocean City Md
Spinnaker Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing