We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifth stay at the Spinnaker”
Review of The Spinnaker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spinnaker
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fifth stay at the Spinnaker”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

After 30 years of going to Ocean City for summer vacations we have settled on the Spinnaker as our favorite motel. Pros: Great location (on the Boardwalk at 18th street- easy walk to the Boardwalk activities but still at a quiet area), cleanliness, large rooms (2 doubles, sofabed & kitchenette), oceanview balconies, reasonable price, walking distance to good restaurants. Cons: small beds, small bathroom, some rooms permit smoking (we had a no-smoking room but the guests at the adjoining room smoked on the balcony beside us). We spent Labor Day weekend at the Spinnaker for our 5th stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a better oceanview from the balcony. Eastern end is further from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bedford123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    171
    42
    6
    10
See reviews for
220
101
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our stay at the Spinnaker was for 4 nights that were included in a Martz bus excursion to Ocean City. We absolutely loved our stay here! It is very clean, close to the beach and boardwalk, and was perfect for us. The room is large, the air conditioner is cool and quiet, the beds are the most comfortable we have ever had in a hotel, and we loved having the kitchenette with the large refrigerator and microwave. We were on the 4th floor in an end unit, and our view from the balcony was great -- could see the ocean and beach perfectly! Both housekeeping and maintenance do a wonderful job. In fact, when we first arrived, the overhead light in our bathroom was very dim. We called the front desk and maintenance replaced the bulb right away. This was our first time staying at the Spinnaker, and we will definitely be back. In fact, as soon as we can sign up again for the Martz bus excursion for next year, we're doing it! Thanks to everyone at the Spinnaker for making this a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms 320, 420, and 520 (north building) seem to be best for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachgirl8256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Was my first vac. in oc, felt very confertable & safe staying at Spinnaker,nice clean rooms,staff very nice,I like that the pool is on 2nd level,not street level.Close to beach & boardwalk,def be back next summer,can't wait . :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAREN993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family were guest at the Spinnaker from Aug 23rd thru the 29th. We had 4 rooms on the second floor which we thought were great. We had good view of the ocean and the sights below as we were not too high. When I booked the room I was told the 4th and 5th floor were remodeled but they cost more so I declined. Never mind. I was quite pleased with the rooms. They were large and the beds were so comfy!! Each bed had 4 pillows which you hardly see. Maid service was good. Our maid was Monica who did an okay job cleaning the room. I find she did a better job once she knew us but hey that's just me. The hotel staff at front desk were great. Gave us good directions to local spots. Staff did a great job clesning the hotel grounds and pool. The only complaint I would have is no ice machines so you have to buy some but it is great to have a kitchen so the families with us with children could cook. We all went to the Walmart and stocked our room with all sorts of goodies. This way you can save with breakfast and eat 2 or even 1 meal out. The cafe on site served very good breakfast even though service was slow. We had a ball and I will stay at the this hotel again. We enjoyed the large balconies which had 2 chairs and a table. We sat out at night talking and people watched. This hotel is steps from the beach and boardwalk. The pool has a really large sitting area with tables and umbrellas. I wish they would make the pool a little larger as it is rather small but still a nice clean pool. No one can go wrong with this great spot so try it!!! I like staying at really nice hotels and the Spinnaker filled the bill. Nice clean and great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt,NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My first time in OC. Usually stay in Wildwood. The hotel was nice and clean and a very good location. Price was reasonable for a beach location. View of the ocean is limited from the room. I have to say this hotel has one of the most comfortable beds I ever slept in at a beach hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room. Ours was smoking, but smelled ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I searched for weeks to find a hotel in Ocean City. Finding Spinnaker Motel was well worth the search. This place is great! The price is reasonable and the rooms are spacious and very clean. The location is only 1/2 block from the boardwalk and is far enough up so that it is not overly crowded on the beach. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating, allowing us to leave our cell phone number so they could call us when our room was ready. Last, but by no means least, is Alice, our housekeeper. She was helpful, pleasant and turned a good day into a great one with her charming personality and daily greeting. We will definitely be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PATraverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Let me start off with how great ocean city is. Beautiful beaches...good food...great boardwalk. This was my second time visiting ocean city.After doing hrs of research on most of the hotels in OC, I found this one for a very reasonable price and the reviews were all positive. The room was very clean. I liked the fact that i could cook. The beach was very close to the hotel. The pool was also very nice. I have nothing bad to say about the hotel...the staff was very friendly. Im already looking forward to going back next year and plan to stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#7 of 103 in Ocean City
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spinnaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spinnaker

Property: The Spinnaker
Address: 18th Street & Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-0519
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spinnaker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spinnaker has all full efficiency units that sleep to six people per unit. Each unit includes two double beds a pull out sleep sofa double bed, private balcony, fully equipped kitchenette, full bath and private balcony. All units are NON Smoking. All rooms have free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Spinnaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker Motel Ocean City
Spinnaker Ocean City Md
Spinnaker Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing