We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Empress Still Has It !”
Review of Empress Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Empress Motel
Ranked #61 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Cumberland, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Empress Still Has It !”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My wife and her mom has stayed at the Empress for 25+ yrs, the last time being in 2006. Her mom passed away in May 2007 and she hadn't been back since. Her cousin Bob made our resrevations for Aug 21>Aug 25 this year and the Empress still has the cleanliness, the charm and just enough ammenities to make a vacation at O.C. memorable and enjoyable. The staff is friendly, the rooms and pool are very clean and the ammenities (frig,,t.v. and microwave are all you need although we did take a coffee pot for morning coffee. Within 50ft of the beach we will stay at the Empress as long as she stands and recommend her to everyone..Thanks for a nice vacation, Tom & Barb Lyons, Cumberland, MD

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    39
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
46
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel hasn't changed much since I was a kid. The people are friendly, the place is clean, and its right off the boardwalk. Don't come here expecting the Ritz or any other large hotel chain. This has been run by the same group of people since I was little. The only change I've seen is the wifi I'm working off of now and the flat panels in the rooms! They keep the families in and the riff Raff out, just the way my wife and I like it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckrich1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My husband and I were looking to find a nice hotel at a decent price and we found it at the Empress. I had called some of the hotels we've stayed at before, only to find the prices ridiculous. I decided to check reviews on tripadvisor. The Empress had very good reviews so I decided to give it a try and I'm very glad that I did. It is in fact, one of the older motels, and we actually like them better than the new, huge chain hotels. The staff was extremely pleasant, the room was spotless, the pool was sparkling and the location was just terrific. And for almost $100 per night LESS than the hotel one block over, how can anyone not like that? This hotel suited our needs and we most definitely will return again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KL1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Ocean City has gotten very expensive as far as motels. I have stayed at quite a few places here and the Empress has been the best all around. The rooms are not fancy but are very clean. Nice flat screen tv's as well as microwave and small fridge. The bathrooms are small but are very clean and also have blowdryers on the wall. I felt very comfortable staying here. It was a quiet,peaceful stay.
The only thing I think would make the motel a better place is if the pool stayed open longer. It closes at 7:00 pm every evening.

Room Tip: The hotel has 3 floors and no elevator so if you have problems with steps you may want to as k for 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bartles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

News flash to other travelers: the two and three story motels that you see from 30th street on down? They were built in the 50's and 60's. Most of them are family owned and not part of some huge chain that can afford to remodel every 5 years. So, if you're not OK with smaller, older-looking accommodations, don't stay at these places!
Rant over. We had a nice 4-night stay at the Empress. Prices were reasonable for the peak season. I went with my husband and his parents. It was a bit tight with 4 adults, but perfectly manageable. The TV was new LCD and got all of the usual cable channels. The bathroom was clean. The beds were fine. They are full, not queen sized. Housekeeping came everyday. Maintenance was also on-grounds everyday. The staff was very helpful. We couldn't find our car keys right before we were set to check-out. The staff helped us tear apart the room to search for the keys and let us keep our car there past check-out.
The only thing I didn't really like about the Empress was the low water pressure in the shower. I think they may be using low-flow shower heads. Overall, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leonje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Just got back lastnight from a wonderful trip to OC, staying at this quaint and quiet motel is just what I needed. From the staff in the office to the housecleaners and the gentleman that kept busy cleaning the pool and all of the chairs every morning.Somebody had swept thhe patio outside of every room. I was so impressed!
You can tell they all take pride in their work to ensure us to have a great time.!
I have been to many upperscale places in oc only to find they were dirty, they stunk and it just did not seem for all the money they wanted it was worth it. So, it was on the boardwalk, who cares for twice as much money and dirty, it's not my thing.
I will certainly be back again, I loved everything about it. Hope to make reservations next year there♥

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, pa
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The motel is modest but clean. I've stayed here a few times and each time i found the rooms clean and well cared-for. This is not an upscale hotel but a decent place to stay while in Ocean City. The location is great. There are no streets to cross to get to the beach and the boardwalk. Although the property is a bit old, it is kept up nicely. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: there are no coffee makers in the rooms but you can bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#20 of 103 in Ocean City
921 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#72 of 103 in Ocean City
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#36 of 103 in Ocean City
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#58 of 103 in Ocean City
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sands Motel
Crystal Sands Motel
#57 of 103 in Ocean City
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunes Court
Dunes Court
#49 of 103 in Ocean City
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Motel

Property: Empress Motel
Address: 20th Street and Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Motel is a fabulous place for a family vacation. Choose from a standard room, fully equipped efficiencies or apartments. Each standard room includes a air conditioning/heat, refrigerator, microwave, flat screen TV, and daily maid service. Relax on Ocean City's white sandy beach and let the ocean wash over your feet. Stroll the Boardwalk or take a refreshing swim in our sparkling pools. Sample one of Ocean City's nearby golf courses. We are convenient to all of the most exciting attractions in Ocean City, Maryland. Discover and enjoy Ocean City, Maryland at the Empress Motel. We are your family's place at the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Empress Motel Ocean City
Empress Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing