We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falling Star”
Review of Talbot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Inn
Ranked #69 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Falling Star”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stay Away!
I never write reviews because I am just so busy. However, I just had to chime in about my experience. We have gone to this location every year for the past four years with our children. We used to love this place but as the title says, this place has crashed and burned. Summer 2012 was a nightmare. We are no prima donna's but management was apathetic to every concern.
1) Our door lock did not work and the security latch was broken which is a big concern because of the children. Picture attached.
-One rainy day we were watching TV and some drunk guy just wandered into our room (mid day). He was very apologetic but .....that is a hint of the norm around this place now.
2) Our refrigerator was cool and not cold and had mold/mildew randomly around the fridge. Picture attached
3) There appeared to be a blood stain on one bed, cant confirm but there was definitely a stain. Picture attached
4) Every night, every single night there was drama, streaming and fighting. The police came because there was a burglary and assault.

Long before the police came, we called the office and they responded "what do you want me to do about it". Pretty much the same response on other nights. These were not minor disturbances. Every single night, there was constant loud conversation from a multitude of people out on the balconies.....until the random shouting matches. The patrons on the floor changed so its not even like there was consistently one responsible party. One day, there was 9 guys in the room next to us.

So basically, if your a teen or twenty something and want to party all night, this is the place for you. Otherwise, avoid the nightmare. Every item was brought up to management and we were met with apathy at every instance. I know this place isn't the Ritz but it is now officially hit bottom.

It been a year so I have forgotten some of the horrible items worth mentioning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TripLover991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrducksOc_Md, General Manager at Talbot Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Sorry for your stay with us was a nightmare. We have since gotten a new supplier for our linen service. You didn't mention of telling the office about the door lock because we do take security serious and would not have left it that way had we been told about it. Our Housekeeping personal are human and they do make mistakes just like everyone else. With that said we have some pretty awesome housekeepers this year and are on top of cleaning. With your statement of calling the office and being told "what do you want me to do about it", we are constantly training employees and our Policy is to help all guest no matter what. We would go to the room that is being rude to other guest and ask them to quiet down or the Police will be called. Our Street side rooms accommodate only 6 people, not 9 and they would have been asked to leave, had you talked to our office. We hope you may come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    7
    8
    9
See reviews for
19
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

You get what you pay for and more.The price is very good .The room is fine and clean. The location is not the best but if you are looking for a room to stay for one night on the road , it is perfect.Not for family extended vacation.

Room Tip: away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aviron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Came to OCMD with my 12 year old daughter and friend. The room was a perfect size and VERY clean. We were bayside, so we had the deck bar beneath us. It does have noise until late hours, and we had to explain some colorful language at times. But the beautiful view makes up for the inconvenience of the noise. The price is great and the location is excellent
Do yourself a favor, find some piece of mind and come stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cl63d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here starting Friday Oct 26th and departed Sunday Oct 28th. We picked the Talbot in because it was MR Ducks season closing party. The room rate was offseason so it was only $55 per night. Rooms are clean with a nice view of the bay. We love MR Ducks and visit several times a year. Staff was friendly, nothing really to complain about. Rooms are ok but again is was $55 per night to well worth it. This was the weekend of the hurricane. The rain held out until Sunday I think. Even without the rain the bay and ocean started rising and the streets by Talbot start to flood. At 4am Sunday morning be headed out of OC. By 8am the streets all around Talbot started flooding. Friends of ours stayed as well and left at 8am. I live OC, I use to live there and still visit friends often. A lot of time I drive down just to visit them. So the Hurricane hit home and I felt terrible for the town. It wasn’t as bad as it come have been, so in a way we’re lucky. Anyway we can’t wait for the opening party at Ducks. See you soon!

Room Tip: Book the building on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyinburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown Pa.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have been coming to the Talbot for about six years, at least once per year, twice when we can. We come here for a number reasons, close proximity to everything O.C. is the biggest reason. You can be here a week and completely forget you have a vehicle in the parking lot!! Kicking back with a good book, enjoying your morning coffee and doing a little partying is another. There are two buildings to choose from on this property, each with a different perspective. The Streetside facing north is much newer, larger and quieter if thats what you prefer. The bayside (our 1st choice) is an older, slightly smaller group of second and third floor ONLY units that face the bay. The balconies of these rooms are literally within reach of the water, and also look direrctly down on Mr. Ducks bar and grille. Which will not be very quiet on the weekend because of the quality live entertainment that brings in alot of locals. The sunsets from these units is amazing to say the least. All the bayside rooms are well equipped kitchenettes with a small bathroom, full tub, two full beds and a balcony. They are by no means fancy so to speak but most do have flat panel tv's and are kept very clean and tidy. We have stayed in the streetside rooms on one occasion but felt a little bored without the view and entertainment. These rooms are basically the same, a little larger overall and ours had a sofabed. There is no elevator in either building so be prepared to hoof it up some steps. The staff here is very, very helpfull, expeienced and courteous. Overall this is a great place to stay if you like alot of activity or love to people watch, not the creepy kind!!

Room Tip: Book early, this place fills up quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clangonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you want to stay in the Inlet area the Talbot Inn is the place to stay. Two short blocks and you are at the beach, boardwalk, and rides. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable for 4 (sleeps 6). You can see the ocean from the 2nd and 3rd floors and you are on the water on the bay side. Very pretty. Plus it is neat to see the boats go through the draw bridge. You have the OC Rocket, the Pirate Boat, and MR Ducks right there. You are close to the DeLazy Lizzard which is a neat place for kids to play and eat. The Talbot inn will be my first choice every year we go. Only con to Talbot there is no pool. See you in September 2013!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong on any floor. There is no elevator so if you do not like to do the steps, pick th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lori h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stay there every year for Sunfest and love it. The staff is great!!! The best part is it is right upstairs from M R Ducks which has the best bartenders in Ocean City. It may not be the most high class place down the ocean but the views, staff, and location make up for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinbadsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#70 of 103 in Ocean City
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#59 of 103 in Ocean City
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lankford Hotel
Lankford Hotel
#14 of 103 in Ocean City
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Inn

Property: Talbot Inn
Address: 311 Talbot St, Talbot Street Pier, Ocean City, MD 21842-4149
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Talbot Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talbot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing