We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ducks closing party and Hurricane Sandy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talbot Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Inn
Ranked #61 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
198 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Ducks closing party and Hurricane Sandy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here starting Friday Oct 26th and departed Sunday Oct 28th. We picked the Talbot in because it was MR Ducks season closing party. The room rate was offseason so it was only $55 per night. Rooms are clean with a nice view of the bay. We love MR Ducks and visit several times a year. Staff was friendly, nothing really to complain about. Rooms are ok but again is was $55 per night to well worth it. This was the weekend of the hurricane. The rain held out until Sunday I think. Even without the rain the bay and ocean started rising and the streets by Talbot start to flood. At 4am Sunday morning be headed out of OC. By 8am the streets all around Talbot started flooding. Friends of ours stayed as well and left at 8am. I live OC, I use to live there and still visit friends often. A lot of time I drive down just to visit them. So the Hurricane hit home and I felt terrible for the town. It wasn’t as bad as it come have been, so in a way we’re lucky. Anyway we can’t wait for the opening party at Ducks. See you soon!

Room Tip: Book the building on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyinburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
17
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewistown Pa.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have been coming to the Talbot for about six years, at least once per year, twice when we can. We come here for a number reasons, close proximity to everything O.C. is the biggest reason. You can be here a week and completely forget you have a vehicle in the parking lot!! Kicking back with a good book, enjoying your morning coffee and doing a little partying is another. There are two buildings to choose from on this property, each with a different perspective. The Streetside facing north is much newer, larger and quieter if thats what you prefer. The bayside (our 1st choice) is an older, slightly smaller group of second and third floor ONLY units that face the bay. The balconies of these rooms are literally within reach of the water, and also look direrctly down on Mr. Ducks bar and grille. Which will not be very quiet on the weekend because of the quality live entertainment that brings in alot of locals. The sunsets from these units is amazing to say the least. All the bayside rooms are well equipped kitchenettes with a small bathroom, full tub, two full beds and a balcony. They are by no means fancy so to speak but most do have flat panel tv's and are kept very clean and tidy. We have stayed in the streetside rooms on one occasion but felt a little bored without the view and entertainment. These rooms are basically the same, a little larger overall and ours had a sofabed. There is no elevator in either building so be prepared to hoof it up some steps. The staff here is very, very helpfull, expeienced and courteous. Overall this is a great place to stay if you like alot of activity or love to people watch, not the creepy kind!!

Room Tip: Book early, this place fills up quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clangonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you want to stay in the Inlet area the Talbot Inn is the place to stay. Two short blocks and you are at the beach, boardwalk, and rides. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable for 4 (sleeps 6). You can see the ocean from the 2nd and 3rd floors and you are on the water on the bay side. Very pretty. Plus it is neat to see the boats go through the draw bridge. You have the OC Rocket, the Pirate Boat, and MR Ducks right there. You are close to the DeLazy Lizzard which is a neat place for kids to play and eat. The Talbot inn will be my first choice every year we go. Only con to Talbot there is no pool. See you in September 2013!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong on any floor. There is no elevator so if you do not like to do the steps, pick th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lori h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stay there every year for Sunfest and love it. The staff is great!!! The best part is it is right upstairs from M R Ducks which has the best bartenders in Ocean City. It may not be the most high class place down the ocean but the views, staff, and location make up for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinbadsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freemansburg pa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stay here every year for bike week,never a disappointment. Easy on and off of the 50 bridge and minutes walking distance from all the boardwalk hot spots. In room stove,microwave,fridge makes it great for breakfast in the room

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kreme28pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Talbot Inn is close to the rides and a few very good restaurants (and just across the bridge from our favorite restaurant in OC, Shark On The Harbor). As you can see from the photo attached, it is newer construction by Ocean City standards, but the price point, for the fantastic location, is very affordable.

The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, the tv is LCD HD. Rooms have fridge, microwave, hairdryer, coffee maker and the little conditioner bottles. Kids did not get black feet from walking barefoot on the carpeting, which was comfy and newish.

It's a ten minute walk to rides, games, boardwalk and the widest part of Ocean City's very clean beach. Excursions leave from the dock right outside the hotel.

The sunset photo attached was taken from our hotel balcony 8/8/2012.

The reasons I can't give Talbot Inn five-out-of-five:

1. There is not enough parking. If you are lucky to get a parking space the walk to the rooms is very short, but otherwise you have to let their (free) valet park your car for you, and they keep the key until you need it or they can find a spot.

2. There was a hole in the bathroom ceiling right over the shower. A big hole. about eight inches by twelve inches, we could see the insulation and rafters.

3. The smoke detector was hanging from the ceiling by the wires, as if it went off and someone hit it with a broom. How can they not fix this before check-in?

4. No daily changes of bedsheets.

All in all, we were very pleased with our stay and will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IntrepidFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitol Heights, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Me and my husband will be the word of mouth spokes person for the talbort inn in ocean city maryland . The room was all of it, it was clean , neat, very confortalbe and the clerk that took my resveration was also awesome is name was TRIPP, he was cool, right on point with all information, very knowledgeable about the area and the history of O.C. I am telling all my friends where to stay. TALBOT INN. I love the kitchen it was just right not to big, not to small just enough dishes. I HAD A BALL. Will return back soon

Room Tip: Mine was 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#84 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#16 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shoreham Hotel
Shoreham Hotel
#77 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#82 of 108 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#66 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Inn

Property: Talbot Inn
Address: 311 Talbot St, Talbot Street Pier, Ocean City, MD 21842-4149
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talbot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing