We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two thumbs up” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beach Plaza Hotel
Ranked #38 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Two thumbs up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Conveniently located for all you vacation needs. Food and outlet shopping galore! Great nightlife for all, amusement parks, casino, miniature golf something for the young and the not so young. My family had a great time..looming to repeat next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front has the most amazing views of the horizon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyP0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Jenny-
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay at the Beach Plaza Hotel. Our beach front location makes our hotel ideal for family vacations. Hope you got to enjoy our rocking chairs on the front porch as people watching on the boardwalk is always great entertainment.
Looking forward to your return next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    128
    94
    61
    62
See reviews for
229
126
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in an efficiency apartment in mid-September, while my aunt and mother stayed in a room in the hotel proper. The staff was very helpful, and the veranda filled with rocking chairs was charming--great for people watching during the day and canoodling at night. We literally walked out our door, crossed the boardwalk and were on the beach. We woke each morning to the sun rising over the ocean outside our window--beautiful! The hotel is at the "quiet end" of the boardwalk, but the tram stops right outside, so it's very easy to get to the "fun" end. The staff lent us a space heater for our room, AND the use of a wheelchair when it became clear that my mom would need more than her cane to see the sites. My mother and aunt thought that their room was absolutely charming.

A few cons: The fridge in our kitchenette was awful. Because of the small space, you can't actually open the door to either the fridge or freezer while standing in front of it. Really inconvenient, and it could have been cleaner, too. The toilet paper holder in our bathroom was also poorly-located. It's between the toilet and the shower, and it was really difficult to keep the shower curtain from soaking the entire roll of toilet paper. Kelly's, the cafe located in the hotel, was less-than-stellar. On the morning we tried it for breakfast we could not order mimosas because the 'girl who has the key to the bar had not shown up yet', and although the waitress was pleasant, service was slow (even though there were only two tables). Lastly, my aunt was disappointed that their 'Ocean View' room only entitled them to a little sliver of a view of the ocean.

The only other thing I want to mention is that I would make sure when booking that you ask very specific questions about where your room is located. We had never been to Ocean City, Maryland before, so we didn't realize that a lot of the hotels there are more like sprawling annexes. For example, if you book an "apartment room" at the Beach Haven, it's actually located about 2 1/2 blocks from the boardwalk.

We would absolutely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for specifics in terms of room location when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Jill-
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Beach Plaza Hotel. Your family was able to experience both our traditional hotel rooms as well as our efficiency apartments. The first floor of the efficiency units were totally renovated this past winter and we are hoping to renovated the second floor this coming winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICTORIA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Perfect place. Right on Boardwalk, walking distance to town, plenty of parking. Efficiencies are the best. 1st Floor are updated and 2nd Floor is due to be updated this year. Great staff!!! Wife and I stayed the first year at bike week and this was our 4th year and with all our friends we almost booked the place.

Love it and can't wait to go back next year!!!!

Room Tip: Efficiencies - called BoCon are the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERIC F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Eric-
So glad both your group and you enjoyed your stay at the Beach Plaza Hotel during Bike Week. So many guests enjoy our efficiency apartments and its courtyard. We are hoping you can bring more of your friends for next year's Bike Week and occupy the entire BoCon complex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
152 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Beach Plaza Hotel in Ocean City Maryland.......great place to stay. We have gone here every year for the past 10 years. Right on the boardwalk. Just walk out the door and you are on the beach. It is towards the end of the busy area of the boardwalk so it is quiet if that is what you like, but within walking distance of all the shops and rides. There is a tram car that runs if you would prefer not walking. It is an older hotel, but very well kept up. The staff is great and does all they can to make your stay a good one. They have a large front porch with rockers....nice to sit in the early morning and just watch the ocean....or in the afternoon to be out of the direct sun.
There is a restaurant right off the lobby.......a little pricey but good food. There is a small cafe in the basement..... not owned by the hotel, but you can get a quick breakfast there. Free wi-fi and cable t.v. no refrigerator in the room. They also have efficiency apts. connected right next to them if you have kids and need more than just a room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Sue K-
Thank you so much for submitting your review of your recent stay at the Beach Plaza Hotel. The entire staff is delighted that you had a great experience. Our beach front location and our front porch with its rocking chairs make for an enjoyable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I took my fiancee here as kind of a post-engagement trip (proposed at a scenic location on the way there.)

Staff was friendly and had no problems at all with the people there. The part about it that stinks is the facility in general. It needs some updating pretty badly, the outside looks very nice, but the inside is nothing to brag about. It's a good place to stay if you can tolerate some minor inconveniences.

Our room did not have enough 3-prong outlets, so to make coffee, the coffee maker had to be on the floor. (Don't they still sell those adapters?) The room smelled like old ocean, more strange then bothersome, you get used to it fast - probably why the staff doesn't notice it.

Elevator looks like it's from the 70's and goes about as quickly. Rooms in general are OK, bathrooms are small and require updating, carpet is old and worn, but not holes. Bedding was clean and in good shape.

Doors and door locks are old actual key locks, that have to be slammed shut. I did not feel secure because I'm used to the magnetic locks, but there was no tangible security concern, not shady characters or anything, perfectly safe it seemed - aside from just having old locks.

Lobby was old school, but had character, restaurant did not have full hours, around there it's apparently popular to close between lunch and dinner.

Ocean view room was a great view and really cool, which is what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you're not getting an ocean view room, then just get a hotel one or two streets further back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Jason-
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. Delighted to hear that our staff was helpful during your time in Ocean City. We acknowledge our age and are constantly trying to update our facilities. The age of our building limits how much electrical loads a room can carry, but we certainly will check to make sure our outlets can accommodate 3 prong plugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Bike Week and loved the hotel when we first arrived. Yes, it's an older hotel, as many are in OC, but the beds, pillows, blankets and toiletries were much nicer than what you'd receive in most other hotels. We loved the classy feel to the lobby and that they had a piano and Italian restaurant on site. We originally wanted to return on another weekend to spend more time at the hotel because we liked it to much....but then after checking out we realized we forgot a jacket in the room. After calling the hotel to inform them, and turning around to retrieve it, when we arrived we were told we 'must have forgotten we packed it' and nothing was done. We are very disappointed, can no longer trust the hotel staff, and don't plan on staying overnight here ever again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeIsBored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
So sorry to hear that your enjoyable weekend at the Beach Plaza was spoiled by a missing jacket. Our executive housekeeper inspected your room and did not find your jacket. I know our staff did not remove it and am hopeful you packed in your suitcase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Mold infested, sheets dirty, carpets smelled of urine and mold! Kitchen filthy and outdated! Outside water hose valve ran constantly and told maintenance they did nothing. Group of over 20 partied upstairs all night!!!! Had no sleep the entire time. Hotel staff did nothing. Group threw garbage off into yard and our area. Partied so hard knocked heavy mirror off wall!! Tried sleeping with windows open because off awful smell of urine and mold and partying was so loud even with windows close. This happened our entire vacation management did nothing!!!! Our sheets had stains on them!!!! Avoid this place at all costs!! They wouldn't even give us money back! What if that mirror would have hit us in our sleep because of the idiot's upstairs. Will report this place to proper hotel organizations. We are all sick from staying there from the mold and going to dr. Asap!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gloryhole4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It is unfortunate that you selected to be in Ocean City during Bike Fest which is always a very noisy time. Based on your description of your experience, it appears you were in our newly renovated efficiency units and it is almost impossible for those units to be in the condition you stated. Also there is no record at the front desk of receiving your complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#42 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#81 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Plaza Hotel

Property: Beach Plaza Hotel
Address: 1301 Atlantic Ave, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-7348
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza oceanfront hotel is located at 13th Street on the famous Ocean City, MD Boardwalk. The hotel’s beachfront location is ideal for family beach vacations, weekend getaways or your next golf vacation. Beach Plaza guests are just a short stroll down the boardwalk to numerous restaurants, nightclubs, amusement rides and shopping.The Beach Plaza Hotel offers a variety of accommodations to meet your needs, from oceanfront guest rooms, efficiencies and 1-bedroom apartments to spacious 3-bedroom apartments that can accommodate up to eight guests. Hotel amenities include free parking, on-site bike rental, comfortable rocking chairs on the spacious porch overlooking the boardwalk and convenient beach rentals for your chair, umbrella and boogie board desires.Enjoy our warm Eastern Shore hospitality, spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodations - all just steps from spectacular Atlantic beaches and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phillips Beach Plaza
Phillips Beach Plaza Ocean City
Phillips Beach Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing