We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job, but nothing you'd brag about”
Review of Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Plaza Hotel
Ranked #38 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I took my fiancee here as kind of a post-engagement trip (proposed at a scenic location on the way there.)

Staff was friendly and had no problems at all with the people there. The part about it that stinks is the facility in general. It needs some updating pretty badly, the outside looks very nice, but the inside is nothing to brag about. It's a good place to stay if you can tolerate some minor inconveniences.

Our room did not have enough 3-prong outlets, so to make coffee, the coffee maker had to be on the floor. (Don't they still sell those adapters?) The room smelled like old ocean, more strange then bothersome, you get used to it fast - probably why the staff doesn't notice it.

Elevator looks like it's from the 70's and goes about as quickly. Rooms in general are OK, bathrooms are small and require updating, carpet is old and worn, but not holes. Bedding was clean and in good shape.

Doors and door locks are old actual key locks, that have to be slammed shut. I did not feel secure because I'm used to the magnetic locks, but there was no tangible security concern, not shady characters or anything, perfectly safe it seemed - aside from just having old locks.

Lobby was old school, but had character, restaurant did not have full hours, around there it's apparently popular to close between lunch and dinner.

Ocean view room was a great view and really cool, which is what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you're not getting an ocean view room, then just get a hotel one or two streets further back...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Jason-
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. Delighted to hear that our staff was helpful during your time in Ocean City. We acknowledge our age and are constantly trying to update our facilities. The age of our building limits how much electrical loads a room can carry, but we certainly will check to make sure our outlets can accommodate 3 prong plugs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Beach Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 542 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Bike Week and loved the hotel when we first arrived. Yes, it's an older hotel, as many are in OC, but the beds, pillows, blankets and toiletries were much nicer than what you'd receive in most other hotels. We loved the classy feel to the lobby and that they had a piano and Italian restaurant on site. We originally wanted to return on another weekend to spend more time at the hotel because we liked it to much....but then after checking out we realized we forgot a jacket in the room. After calling the hotel to inform them, and turning around to retrieve it, when we arrived we were told we 'must have forgotten we packed it' and nothing was done. We are very disappointed, can no longer trust the hotel staff, and don't plan on staying overnight here ever again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeIsBored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

So sorry to hear that your enjoyable weekend at the Beach Plaza was spoiled by a missing jacket. Our executive housekeeper inspected your room and did not find your jacket. I know our staff did not remove it and am hopeful you packed in your suitcase.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Mold infested, sheets dirty, carpets smelled of urine and mold! Kitchen filthy and outdated! Outside water hose valve ran constantly and told maintenance they did nothing. Group of over 20 partied upstairs all night!!!! Had no sleep the entire time. Hotel staff did nothing. Group threw garbage off into yard and our area. Partied so hard knocked heavy mirror off wall!! Tried sleeping with windows open because off awful smell of urine and mold and partying was so loud even with windows close. This happened our entire vacation management did nothing!!!! Our sheets had stains on them!!!! Avoid this place at all costs!! They wouldn't even give us money back! What if that mirror would have hit us in our sleep because of the idiot's upstairs. Will report this place to proper hotel organizations. We are all sick from staying there from the mold and going to dr. Asap!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gloryhole4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

It is unfortunate that you selected to be in Ocean City during Bike Fest which is always a very noisy time. Based on your description of your experience, it appears you were in our newly renovated efficiency units and it is almost impossible for those units to be in the condition you stated. Also there is no record at the front desk of receiving your complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Although the building is old the atmosphere is top class. We stayed in one of the efficiency units and were impressed with the layout and cleanliness. The location provided easy access to the beach. The staff was always pleasant and appreciative of your business.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinleecinlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review of your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. We are so delighted your enjoyed your visit and that our staff provided outstanding service. Our recently renovated efficiency units are fantastic and our beachfront location can't be beat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have travelled though out the U.S.A. many times over the last 23 years & have stayed in many hotels through out the world, but I have to say this was an experience I never wish to repeat. We stayed in this hotel for 1 night in August. The initial impression was ok, with rocking chairs on the veranda giving it that "oldy , worldy " feel. However, that was the best bit. In summary, the hotel is stuck in a time warp & is in severe need of major refurbishment throughout. We had 2 adjoining rooms, with a connecting door, which you couldn't use if you were watching TV as the power cable stretched across the doorway at about ankle height & to walk through would have been a little dangerous to say the least !
We had the misfortune to have our rooms on the 1st floor with a view onto a flat roof , where the air conditioning units for I assume the lobby/ restaurant were located. These units were so loud, we needed to sleep with tissue in our ears & our heads under the pillows. Totally unacceptable, how people stay in these rooms overnight is beyond me !. When lying in bed, your eyes are drawn to polystyrene ( Styrofoam ) ceiling tiles & coving.,very, very dated & also, probably a fire hazard . The whole room was tired & shabby & the bathroom was no better with very dated décor. Toiletries & coffee were ok. Check out was quite slow. Now a few of you who read this will say," Why didn't you check Tripadvisor first"...well we did when we booked at the beginning of the year, & the reviews, although mixed, were on the whole favourable. Over the last 6 months or so , the level of negative reviews has increased, possibly indicating the hotel is trading on its location to the detriment of its infrastructure.

Room Tip: If you do choose to stay in this hotel ( & you have been warned not to!) do not accept a room th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

D F-
From the description of your room it sounds as if you were in a standard/no-view room. We offer two other room types both of which offer a view of the Atlantic Ocean. I am not sure what our occupancy was during your visit, but it is quite conceivable the standard room may have been all that was available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Location is perfect, steps to the beach,front porch with rocking chairs. We stayed next to the hotel in an efficiency. Had 2 similar issues as other posters. There was a large group that basically took over the efficiency balcony, front lawn and small court yard. They constantly blocked the stairways, took all the chairs to one side of the lawn, were loud and inconsiderate to other guests. The staff should walk over there once and a while to make sure this doesn't happen. The rooms were very outdated as well as the patio furniture. Stains and rips in the cushions. There was so much sand near the outdoor shower it did no good to rinse your feet off. It should be cleaned daily. The sand was so old it was green. Cig buts all over the place. We also left a brand new camp chair outside our door for 20 min while we brought other things to the room it was stolen. Our room was towards the back so there was no way it was a passerby. It was the staff. Other than location not much else good to say. Very disappointed

Room Tip: All efficiency rooms are steps from the view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

So sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced during your recent stay at the Beach Plaza. We will investigate what group you encountered that occupied all the chairs. I was in the BoCon courtyard when you reported your chair missing and to claim it was an employee is wrong. Rather difficult to hide something that large.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited the hotel because I had seen it on an earlier visit to O.C. It looked like it was in a great location and the big porch with rocking chairs right in the boardwalk was great for coffee and people watching in the morning before walking right out and spending the day on the big wide beach. Great restaurants right on site and all around. The tram takes you up and down the fun boardwalk. The rooms were very nice and the price was great for oceanfront! The best was the staff Debbie was the absolute best and we will be back often!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachplazfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin E, Front Office Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Beach Plaza Fan-
So glad to hear your recent stay was enjoyable. Debbie is a treasure at the front desk and a real asset. We look forward to return next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#8 of 104 in Ocean City
843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#55 of 104 in Ocean City
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#21 of 104 in Ocean City
989 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#16 of 104 in Ocean City
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1301 Atlantic Ave, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-7348
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $63 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza oceanfront hotel is located at 13th Street on the famous Ocean City, MD Boardwalk. The hotel’s beachfront location is ideal for family beach vacations, weekend getaways or your next golf vacation. Beach Plaza guests are just a short stroll down the boardwalk to numerous restaurants, nightclubs, amusement rides and shopping.The Beach Plaza Hotel offers a variety of accommodations to meet your needs, from oceanfront guest rooms, efficiencies and 1-bedroom apartments to spacious 3-bedroom apartments that can accommodate up to eight guests. Hotel amenities include free parking, on-site bike rental, comfortable rocking chairs on the spacious porch overlooking the boardwalk and convenient beach rentals for your chair, umbrella and boogie board desires.Enjoy our warm Eastern Shore hospitality, spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodations - all just steps from spectacular Atlantic beaches and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phillips Beach Plaza
Phillips Beach Plaza Ocean City
Phillips Beach Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing