We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Older but quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Plaza Hotel
Ranked #40 of 107 Hotels in Ocean City
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Older but quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

After reading recent reviews I was concerned about the reservations I had made here. Yes it is an older hotel. But it has a great location on the boards, We had an oceanfront room in the hotel, which was updated. It was clean, beds were ok to sleep on, I prefer pillowtop, but they weren't overly firm that you woke up with a bad back. Nice to sit out on the porch in the rockers with a drink from the bar and watch the surf roll in. Reasonable price compared to other hotels on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    104
    76
    53
    55
See reviews for
190
96
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Let me begin by saying, wow does this place have style!! The porch has rocking chairs facing straight at the Atlantic ocean. The lobby is immaculately clean and has just about the most fascinating decor I have ever seen. It brings me back in time with its old antique-esque style and eveything goes so well together!

The staff is wonderful!!! There is this friendly, down to earth lady that helps to clean to room who is so funny, spunky and lovely!

Bedroom: it reminded me of a bed and breakfast! The bed was so comfy, the room cozy and there was even a flat screen tv.

The location is perfect!!!!!!! Walking distance to the best part of the boardwalk!!!

This place succeeded my expectations. I am so coming back next year!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaaycie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, with another couple and split the cost. Very rustic hotel, which we liked. Customer service not friendly like at other hotels, as far as greeting and saying hello. Complained when we asked for a few more towels and never cleaned the room although we asked them to. Last day we were there, other couple left before check out, so therefore the hotel staff came to our door and asked us to leave, 2 hours before check out time. We don't plan on staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

salisbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

husband and i stayed here, and the room is outdated and could use some cleaning, and fixing. other then this, it was ok, but small. but the view of the ocean was great. its right on the boardwalk.the front desk girl alison was very nice and the secuity guy was really super. we would stay here again,as it is a room and it suited our purpose.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I'd just like to say that although I didn't stay at the hotel because of an issue with the booking agency I cnacelled.
But was impressed how quickly my deposit was refunded and that a written leeter was mailed that showed the deposit was returned.

With such courtesy service to a customer who didn't stay, I would think one that does stay would be pleased with the hotel staff when staying at the hotel.

After my expierence with using an online booking agency I think going forward I will use them as a reference but Call the Hotel directly to negoiate the rate offered online as using a " middle man" becomes a real headache when you are misled on the price by them changing the date on you when you book. Sorry I can't name the booking agency as still in negotiation.

Room Tip: Deal with the Hotel directly, AVOID using an online booking agency, Just use the online booking s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wkmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great if you just need a place to sleep and want to walk off the porch onto the beach. This was our second time staying. I knew what it was and that's all we needed. We had an oceanfront room and it's definitely worth to pay extra to have that window that overlooks the beach. This is not a luxury hotel. There are no amenities to speak of. No fridge, no pool. However great location and decent rates. Staff are fairly nice, rooms are small, some more outdated than others and walls are thin. I think your satisfaction will really depend on what your expectations are.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Location was solid. Not too far from the "hot spots" but far enough away to have some space/quiet

Everything else was bad, if not worse than bad.

Lobby was outdated/musty/dirty. Floors in room were uneven, covered by old and worn carpet. VERY small bathroom, shower had loads of mildew/mold in every crack. Wallpaper had significant peeling in multiple spots.

Walls were THIN, we had a X07 room, which shared a wall with the stairs. The noise from the stairs was VERY prominent. Also heard neighbors, and hall noise very clearly.

Would not recommend at any price. Wish a refund was coming our way, doubtfu;

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffm9979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#17 of 107 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#30 of 107 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 107 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#54 of 107 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Plaza Hotel

Property: Beach Plaza Hotel
Address: 1301 Atlantic Ave, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-7348
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza oceanfront hotel is located at 13th Street on the famous Ocean City, MD Boardwalk. The hotel’s beachfront location is ideal for family beach vacations, weekend getaways or your next golf vacation. Beach Plaza guests are just a short stroll down the boardwalk to numerous restaurants, nightclubs, amusement rides and shopping.The Beach Plaza Hotel offers a variety of accommodations to meet your needs, from oceanfront guest rooms, efficiencies and 1-bedroom apartments to spacious 3-bedroom apartments that can accommodate up to eight guests. Hotel amenities include free parking, on-site bike rental, comfortable rocking chairs on the spacious porch overlooking the boardwalk and convenient beach rentals for your chair, umbrella and boogie board desires.Enjoy our warm Eastern Shore hospitality, spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodations - all just steps from spectacular Atlantic beaches and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phillips Beach Plaza
Phillips Beach Plaza Ocean City
Phillips Beach Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing