We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay at the Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Calvert County, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Castle”
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Upon first arriving at the hotel, I was commenting to my friend that we'd hope for the best, as I didn't know anyone who had stayed at this hotel before. I booked the reservation through Expedia based soley on price. What a pleasant surprise when we opened the door to our room and saw a spacious, clean, well decorate room. We had 2 full beds, a comfortable pull-out couch, 2 sets of drawers, a TV with cable VCR and DVD. There were also 2 comfortable arm chairs as well as 4 other chairs that could be used with the spacious table, which is drop leaf style. When closed it can be used as an eat at "bar", when opened it can comfortably seat 6-8 people. The kitchenette was fully equipped, and easy to use. The hotel even supplied a dish cloth and towel as well as a small bottle of dish soap! The bathroom was clean and comfortable. All of this included a private ocean front balcony with a set of cafe chairs and table. The staff was friendly and helpful. They even have DVDs that can be borrowed at no charge. The weekend breakfast buffet was fabulous! I would stay at the Castle in the Sand Hotel again and hope that you will give it a try!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank MarylandSunSeeker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    255
    124
    74
    51
See reviews for
397
183
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
garden state, nj
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We stayed here for 4 days during the end of summer, Labor Day weekend. The hotel was ok, not much to go gaga about, though I think they need to start thinking to UPDATE !!(noticed they had really old table lamps and appliances) Excellent service though, can't say enough of their staff. We came in while there was a storm, our window was leaking (we had an oceanfront room) and since they were fully booked due to the holiday and cannot transfer us to another room, they made all the effort to make us comfortable and were very attending to our needs. Great location, and easy access to the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nhej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

This property is one-of-a-kind, it consists of several buildings none higher than 5 floors and several townhouse/cottages. The property covers an entire block but because of the low density the beachfront is never crowded and parking is easy on a gate controlled lot. The enormous pool is on the West side so it receives afternoon sun. They probably have the last diving board in Ocean City. The pool is at least 25 yards long, I've seen adults swimming laps in the morning. During the summer season there is an open-air grill/bar called Coconuts. At lunchtime it is easy to walk up from the beach and simply sit down and enjoy sandwiches and burgers at Coconuts. They even offer beach-side service of drinks and food. On a lower floor in one of the buildings there is an all-you-can-eat breakfast and dinner. We have not eaten there so I cannot attest to the food, but it is convenient.

We stayed in a North Building unit with an oceanfront view. The size of the unit was very large consisting of a bedroom with two beds, full kitchen, bathroom, and living room with a sleep sofa. These are not plush accomodations but everything is clean and in working order. There are drying racks that can be used on the balcony to dry towels and bathing suits. The bedroom has a ceiling fan operated by remote control. There are two TV sets with numerous cable channels.

The location is terrific. You are within easy walking distance of many restaurants, The Fractured Prune donut shop is wonderful. The Mad Hatter across the street serves terrific sandwiches, homemade soup, and subs at a reasonable price. There are several surf shops nearby, Doc, at Ocean Atlantic is particularly personable and knowledgeable about the local surfing scene.

Castle-in-the-Sand is owned and operated by a family. Members of the family are onsite every day. They truly care about customer service and if you have a problem or concern, it is adressed quickly. A window blind was broken in our room and someone was there is less than 10 minutes. All the staff are friendly and professional. During the summer, Lady Sunshine runs a childrens' activity program in the afternoons and it's great. They have Pirate Day and lots of arts and crafts as well as magic demonstrations and juggling lessons.

  • Liked — Family-run hotel, low density
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — The third floor in the North Building has a great view from the oceanfront units
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank acchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

Great time - enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms. Housekeeping staff was friendly. Kids activities were fun!
Enjoyed Coconuts Bar and Grill!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank shoreocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2006

A wonderfully well-run place to stay. We stayed in an ocean-front efficiency. It was very large; the mini-kitchen was equipped with a coffee maker, dishes, a stove, microwave and a nice sized mini-refrigerator. All of the staff were helpful and friendly, the environment very clean, and all of the details that make a stay enjoyable were thought of by them. For instance: the shower/foot shower for beach exit had mats so that washed off sand stayed off; there was a problem with the pool bathroom and the guard on duty had the tools and was willing to attend to the problem mmediately ; we arrived early and they called us when our room was ready.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Castle, and highly recommend it to others.

Helpful?
12 Thank nabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

June 2006

I was pleasantly surprised with the Castle In the Sand Hotel. I try to stay in the "big" name hotels where ever I go any place but choose this small hotel because it was right on the beach (they have a bay side too) and it was very affordable - under $300 a night which for the view we had - was awesome.

I made the reservation on line - but called with a few requests - and they honored all of them , i.e. no smoking, second floor, ocean side, small efficiency room, extra pillows, etc. It was very inviting from the moment I pulled up to the lobby. Very nice "castle like" decor - about 10 blocks off the boardwalk which is the perfect location. WE did not want to stay on the boardwalk due to noise but we also wanted to be close enough to the action. The trolley runs up and down the main strip and for $2.00 you can ride all day back and forth! Lots of great restaurants too and many within walking distance.

I was impressed the the cleanliness of the grounds, the rooms, the hallways, etc. The people working there were pleasant and there always seemed to be someone sweeping, or cleaning, or working to keep the place looking nice.

They also had 2 restaurants - an outside one with music and a bar..food very good right on the beach. the kids were in the sand a few feet away playing volley ball and we wer having lunch watching them. And then they have a restaurant with buffet breakfast and buffet dinner. Very reasonable too. Food very good.

There were kids activities each day, a wonderful pool, and everything was just a short walk - from the pool to the restaurant, to the beach, back to the room, etc..

They also have a secure parking lot.

It was also very quiet at night and the efficiency - however small - was perfect to make the kids something quick to eat, coffee in the morning, popcorn for them at night, etc. We had a lovely balcony which overlooked the ocean!

I absolutely would stay there again - and look forward to it.

Helpful?
20 Thank Theresa05985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 4, 2006

We stayed at the Castle in the Sand Waverly Castle the last week of June. I was very happy with how clean the room was, the maid came daily and cleaned the rooms and they were constantly cleaning/mopping the halls and stairwells to get rid of the sand people brought up from the beach. Much different than other beach hotels I stayed at. The section of the hotel we stayed at was very quiet, and it was not high up (only 5 floors) so there was not a long wait for the elevator and it was easy to take the steps.

There was plenty of parking, which they gave you a gate pass to get into the lot so they did not have other people not staying there filling up all the spots. The beach was pretty and there was limited beach partying going on at night. The pool was nice too, and my kids enjoyed it.

The only thing I wish was different was the size of the refrigerator, I would have prefered a full size one instead of the "under the counter" one, because it was impossible to keep icecream cold. I like to cook to help save money, and it was hard with such a small fridge. (But this stated when I reserved the room, so it was not a fault of the hotel.).

We enjoyed our stay and the kids were sad that we had to come back home!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#26 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Property: Castle in the Sand Hotel
Address: 3701 Atlantic Ave, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842-3338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle in the Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing