We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LOCATION FOR BEACH LOVERS, BUT .......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
TAKEATRIP1
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION FOR BEACH LOVERS, BUT .......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

We arrived slightly early and had no problem checking in. When we got to the room we were a little disappointed at how the room looked compared to the pictures. The pictures must have been taken when the units were brand new. After reading the hotel rules about noise disturbances not being tolerated at all, I was surprised to be kept up half the night, nightly by screaming, partying kids staying at the hotel. Although we felt mislead by the online pictures, and let down by the hotel not enforcing their rules to make for a peaceful stay, the view and location helped us enjoy the stay. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. There was one lady who seemed to be miserable, but luckily I didn;t have to deal with her. If you are a healthy eater it might be hard to find places to dine in ocean city. There is a great new place across the street called the Toucan. They have some healthier options and will modify your order to suit your dietary preference. Take care!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAKEATRIP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    255
    122
    74
    51
See reviews for
397
180
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North East, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

I was very disappointed upon arrival at this hotel. The room did not look much like the online picture. It was dark, dingey, and dated. There were drop-ceiling panels dangling precariously in the bathroom. There was hardly any natural light, so it felt like a cave. The a/c unit is only in the very front of the room, so the bedrooms in the back were stuffy. The couch and beds are not the most comfortable. And we could hear every little noise in the rooms beside, above, and below us. On the plus side, the pool was nice and so was the view. When I mentioned my complaints to the front desk manager, he didn't have a thing to say. I expected a little more for what we paid.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hslong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

We just spent three nights in Ocean City at Castle in the sand. We checked in late (around 11:30 pm) with absolutely no issues. We we got into our room, we were delighted to discover that we had an unobstructed ocean view, which was very nice. The rooms are fair sized and very clean but definitely not luxurious; but with the ocean view I gave them a 4/5. There is a nice outdoor pool and bar that has live music during the afternoons. For the amount we paid, this hotel was an amazing deal. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iestokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

My family and I have stayed at the Castles each year for the past 10 years. We stay in the efficiency apartment with an oceanview. The rooms are clean and the kitchenette has everything you need. The pool is great--olympic size--always super clean. The best part is the outdoor cafe with bar and live entertainment. The Castles also offers waitress service on the beach! It is by far the best value in Ocean City--why go pay 500+ per night when you have a great hotel at a reasonable price?

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

I stayed at Castle in the Sand as a little vacation to myself. I had a room in the 'castle' part of the hotel which had a nice open upobstructed view of the ocean. This was very nice and I enjoyed the respite.
However, I was very concerned about where the placement of the little kitchenette was.
As being on a top floor with no way out in case of fire, the oven is right by the front door.
If a fire was started in the unit by the oven there would be no way out. This bothered me.
I would think the fire marshals would not permit this.
Yes, the decor is getting old and rugs are worn thin, doors are warped and air conditioners are noisy; but it still allows one to relax and enjoy. Just be very careful when cooking.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deedeeFairfaxVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

We stayed in one of the guest house apartments in Sept. The decor was very out dated and could have defiantly used some updating. Grounds and facilities were well maintained for the most part, just old. The outdoor restaurant / bar were very good and had a fun atmosphere. The pool was large, but cold. The breakfast buffet was not very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pictures that the website posts for the hotel are a little deceiving, it makes it out to be grander than it actually was. Good place to stay overall if you don't require the most modern facilities.

  • Liked — outdorr bar
  • Disliked — out of date
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank me3tg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2008

My family have been coming to the castle for the last three years and we always leave looking forward to the next year to rebook ....The staff is great , with any problems quickly taken care of... the accomendations (although the decor may be a little outdated)... are charming....it's definitely a good location - home away from home...i highly recommend it

  • Liked — charming- easy accessible- good price
  • Disliked — many rides close aftr sept
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,896 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Property: Castle in the Sand Hotel
Address: 3701 Atlantic Ave, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842-3338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle in the Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing