We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel & Spa(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princess Royale Resort(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$69
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$287
$211
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Boardwalk(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$58
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$218
$170
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveler rating
353
264
130
80
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
264
130
80
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiving boardwaverly castlecoconuts bar and grillthe cottagesbeach servicebreakfast buffetbeach barocean frontlive entertainmenthuge poolfirst floorceiling fanfull kitchenconvention centeroff seasoncoffee makeroceanfront room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 883 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Rooms are OK but its reasonable, great atmosphere. 5-6 2 for 1 happy hour every day. Right on the beach and great location. Staff is fantastic. Southwest salad is a must with the fresh orange crush. Serve on the beach is an added bonus. Great entertainment every day. More for adults but the kids had fun too

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momof4children
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear “momof4children”
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments. I’m glad you enjoyed The Castle’s direct beachfront location, the great food at Coconuts, and our daily live music. We are unique in being able to serve food on our beachfront and I’m glad you and your family enjoyed that convenience during your stay. We have completely remodeled many of our rooms and continue to strive to provide modern, clean, comfortable and affordable accommodations, all the while providing guests with friendly service in all departments during your stay. We hope you’ll spend your next vacation at The Castle in the Sand Hotel.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My daughter and I were there for four days in June to celebrate her 22nd birthday. We were on the 4th floor in North, and found our room to be surprisingly spacious and very clean. Each and every one of the staff, from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the restaurant and bar people were helpful, accommodating and friendly. We had an issue with a faucet in the bathroom, which was promptly repaired. Convenient location, older property, but well maintained with friendly staff. Reasonably priced, no issues at all; even though we were there during "senior week" we had no problems with noise or rowdiness. Great place. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellers21075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Travellers21075,
I am so glad to read that you and your daughter had a great birthday celebration at The Castle in the Sand Hotel. It is always good to read that we have been successful in providing valuable room accommodations and friendly customer service. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments. I hope you’ll return to The Castle again on your next vacation.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have been coming to Ocean City for many years for the Baltimore Ravens Roosts convention. I always stay at Castle in the Sand. The staff is wonderful. Patricia always takes great care of us. Jeff at the bar, Bob the General Manager, "Baltimore Joe", just to name a few. Coconuts has the best happy hour and great food. Live music and if you are lucky you will catch D.J. Marcus. Comfy beds. No complaints about Castle in the Sand. I have added an extra trip in October!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Kirk M,
Thank you for your kind comments about The Castle property and staff. I’m glad you enjoyed the convention as well as our newly renovated accommodations and all that Coconuts’ Beach Bar & Grill has to offer. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to seeing you again in October.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at Castle in the Sand from Fri to Monday for Memorial Day. We had a Castle North room; very clean for a beach hotel. The room had LARGE windows with a view of the pool, parking, other cottages, even the beach across the street. My only complaint is that we didn't have a balcony; pretty much every hotel in OC has a balcony. I recommend a room with a balcony especially if it overlooks the coconuts bar and restaurant. I was jealous of the other patrons enjoying the view of the live band and people watching from their balconies. Be forewarned Coconuts has 2 fo 1 drinks from 5-6pm, get there early because it gets crazy packed. It's def the place to be. Castle is walking distance to the infamous Seacrets, and few other bars.

A few tips:
take the stairs as the elevators are extremely slow
Walk if u can, parking is free at Castle but extemely hard to find parking in the lot after 11pm. Besides you shouldnt be drinking and driving anyway.
Try the shotski!!
There is a mini-fridge in the room, take advantage of it!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room facing coconuts!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deepher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear “Deepher”
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our housekeeping staff strives to maintain an exceptional level of cleanliness. It seems as though you stayed in one of our Castle North Penthouse suites, on the bayside of the building. If you prefer a balcony, you might stay in one of our Castle North Suites, or Castle South Suites, should you return to The Castle. These rooms were completely renovated for the season. Waverley Castle also offers a private balcony on Floors 2-4. The Castle does have an enviable location to Seacrets, the Convention Center, Jolly Rogers, and many of Ocean City’s popular “hot spots”. We hope you return to The Castle again soon.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Staying in a Castle North Suite with an ocean-front balcony is an annual treat I give myself every late May or Early June, and it is heavenly. The suites are roomy, clean and inviting, with a full-size fridge, a toaster and some counter space in the kitchenette. This year, the new kitchen / dining table, updated furniture, carpeting and fixtures were an added pleasant surprise. Castle in the Sand has a lot to offer it guests.

We always enjoy ourselves at the Coconuts restaurant and bar, too. The music (bands) on the weekend are outstanding; the restaurant service is exceptional, with friendly, efficient staff. This year I ordered something which wasn't on the menu, but they were able to put it together for me, with a smile.

Of course, the beach is always beautiful and the sand dunes are a lovely and serene sight from the balcony in the evening. Castle in the Sand offers food, fun, rest and relaxation; a heavenly combination.

Room Tip: Castle North Suites have the space and amenities I require.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForVaritek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleadmin, Owner at Castle in the Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear “ForVaritek”
Thank you for your continued patronage and your compliments of all that The Castle and Coconuts have to offer. Our North Suites were fully renovated for this season and I appreciate your comments about our upgrades. These units have always been very popular with our guests and are sure to continue to be a desirable accommodation since the renovations have been completed. At Coconuts, we strive to provide our guests with exceptional food and service and it’s good to know that you enjoyed the entertainment as well. We hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Adam L. Showell, Sr., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews