We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castle in the Sand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Balitmore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Castle in the Sand”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

I stayed at the "Castle in the Sand" and this place was a true disappointment. When I walked into my room it was smelly and dirty. The sheets were stained and torn. The ceilings have water stains and the windows leaked. The bathroom had mold in it and finally the maid service took over an hour to deliver towels.

Helpful?
2 Thank beachangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    255
    122
    74
    51
See reviews for
397
180
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

Awesome Condo for a great deal. Stayed for my birthday and if I could go back a moment in time I would go back and live that week over and over. The condo was better than expected, bigger than my appartment. Kitchen was well stocked. Condo was clean. They do however frown on grilling on the balcony some thing about fire codes. Will be back this year.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — traffic
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fun0nvacati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nazareth pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed here 10/5/07 to 10/8/07, we had a great time! I booked this hotel after seeing it on line. It l exceeded our expectations!. The room was spacious and clean. There was a restaurant on the premises and the food and service were excellent. The weather was unseasonably hot that weekend so we got to enjoy the beach which was right outside our room., great location. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to my friends, the staff was very personable and friendly. We will be sure to stay here again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank brenda90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2007

Everything is old and I must say it is time to clean the carpets! The bathroom and everything in it seemed to be at least 100 years old including the floral wallpaper! The TV was super old and the furniture needed to just be removed and replaced.
The window looked as though it would very much allow my son to just fall out. Doors and hallways were dark and it seemed like a good place to find trouble hiding at night.
Don't wais your money on this dump!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melace112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2007

We booked four days at CIS for a getaway and beach time with our two children, ages 6 and 8. I cannot say that the front desk did not treat us well. Our room was not ready and they called me on my cell phone when it was.

We had a suite on the first floor between the pool and the restaurant. Things got off to a very bad start the first evening when we found that the sheets left for the pull-out and the ones on our bed were visibly dirty/stained. While we did have two rooms and a kitchenette, it seemed like there was very little space to stretch out. Basically, there was room to walk around the bed and the open pull-out took up all of the living room space. The drying rack supplied for wet clothes took up the kitchen space. I should mention that the desk was more than eager to replace the dirty sheets but then we realized that the LOUD music from the bar blared right into the room our children slept in...through the bathroom and into our room which was already bombarded with noise through the VERY thin Florida windows (slats open and close) coming from the pool. You can pretty much count on music of one sort or another permeating your room from noon-10pm.

We returned to our room daily to find that it had been vacuumed and cleaned but don't expect your mother's "clean".

There was a lot of smoking in all public areas which proved bothersome. Maryland doesn't have the same "no-smoking" legislation that many states do. The restaurant had a very popular 2-for-1 Happy Hour but beware that ordering one drink means they will bring you two.

On some positive notes however, the two ladies who run the children's program in the afternoons were fabulous. Clearly, they themselves, keep many families returning to this hotel. The location is also unbeatable at 37th Street. You are ten blocks up from the end of the Boardwalk and between the two bridges.

  • Liked — Location, children's program
  • Disliked — dirty sheets. LOUD music and paper thin walls/windows.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank damous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

We had a room in the Waverly building.

PROs:
The room was a pretty good size, a little larger than usual.
Had a VCR/DVD player
Had a small refrigerator (had a stove,microwave too, but we did not use)
Good access to the beach
Bar waitress gives service on the beach.
Very nice pool and clean.

CONS:
The rooms definitely need updating. For the price, I expected a little more updated. We had a window in our room that was so old, the glass was pulled away from the molding. (a safety hazard with kids).
Carpet was dirty in our room.
Like others have stated, the outdoor lounge music is pretty loud. We were okay because our room was far enough away, but if we had a room close to the lounge, I would have asked to move.

I think if the hotel invested in some upgrades, it could be a very nice place.

  • Liked — easy access to beach
  • Disliked — price for an outdated room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank ddbalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2007

Great location steps from the beach, wonderful pool. Loud DJ music till 10pm made it difficult to even stay in our room, which was overlooking the restaurant area - fine if you want to party, too. The kicker was the stained sheets provided for the pull-out couch. Would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadtrip22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Property: Castle in the Sand Hotel
Address: 3701 Atlantic Ave, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842-3338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle in the Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing