We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love the Flamingo!!”
Review of Flamingo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #55 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We Love the Flamingo!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2007

My family and I have stayed at the Flamingo for years and have always enjoyed our stay there. The staff is very courteous and friendly, and you can't beat the price. I have four boys, ages 3 to 13, who can get a little noisy at times, but we never heard any complaints while staying at this kid-friendly hotel. I have recommended the Flamingo to friends, who also enjoyed the accommodations and thanked me for the recommendation. My only complaint is that the bathroom is kind of on the small side and could use a little renovation, but it was kept very clean by the staff. The rooms are spacious and you're within walking distance of the boardwalk. I particularly thought that the housekeepers were very helpful, and the best part is that they remember us every year we came (they always remark on how big the boys are getting!)

  • Liked — The great price and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — The size of the bathroom
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cortee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    78
    47
    25
    21
See reviews for
88
60
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Once again we had another great stay. 6/30-07/07. We got there early like we do every year and we were able to check in before check in time. The maids who know us were friendly as always and had our rooms ready in no time. The weather was fabulous. This hotel goes above and beyond. If you need anything they are right there. We had a little action one of the nights we were there domestic violence and underage drinking. The security guard did a great job in handling the situations and had those rooms evicted in no time. The efficiencies that we always get were clean as usual and the staff is great. I don't think that there is anything that would improve this hotel. Maybe continental breakfast and that is it. This is an affordable clean motel. We will be back next year renting 4 rooms. Had a great time.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank babs550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

Me and my husband stayed at the Flamingo Thursday, June 14 - Sunday, June 17. We stayed in Tower 2 and had a side view of the ocean. It was recommended by friends of ours. The room and bathroom was very clean! We found absolutely no surprises in the room. The maid came everyday and was very nice! The pools, both indoor and outdoor were always clean. With the exception of one night, we usually had the indoor pool to ourselves. We never had to worry about parking. It was ALWAYS more than enough spaces available. The boardwalk is only 3 blocks away. There is a go-cart track, water park, and amusement park literally across the street. No, loud teens or loud noise during our stay at the Flamingo and it was Senior Week(for high school graduates.). I highly recommend the Flamingo and would definitely stay again when we come back to OC! It is indeed the best value for your money in OC!!!!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank StiletosAre4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Because it was impossible to maintain consistent water temperature in the bathroom shower, my husband and I will never stay at this property again. Both of us experienced several shocking blasts of hot and cold water during each shower. Cold blasts are barely tolerable, scalding hot water is not. Our only decent shower was on Monday after most guests had already left.

The entire bathroom could use a thorough cleaning. The textured bottom of the harvest gold bathtub has dark stains and the floor tile grout looks like it hasn't been thoroughly cleaned for decades. I hope the brown rubber tub mat is the original color and not stained from years of use.

In the bedroom area, the drapery, carpet and bedspreads look fairly new and the furniture is in reasonably good condition. The walls, however, look shabby with peeling wallpaper and no pictures. The cheap mattresses, which look relatively new, were extremely uncomfortable and not at all good for a bad back.

Lastly, it wasn't worth paying extra for an ocean-view room when our view of the ocean was across a parking lot and restricted to the space between two other buildings.

We'll stick with AAA 3-Diamond rated properties in the future.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nva_wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

philadelphia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

My two daughters and I stayed here March,2007. I have to say this hotel wasn't the Ritz but was exceptional for the money. Location was great, pool was awesome. The room was average probably could use new carpeting, but it is a shore property. The bathroom was huge, kudos for this as it seems other hotels neglect bathroom size. All over I was very impressed and would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crusher21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley,Pennsyltucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2007

My husband and daughter stayed here in August of 2006 for the first time.

We paid alittle extra for the ocean view and it was well worth it even though the SeaCove building is right infront of you.

The motel is set in pink as its namesake and there are little details of flamingos from the paintings on the walls of a very nice and very clean indoor pool area that I may add has separate mens and womens changing room areas which is a plus if you're not quite checked in and waiting around to get into your room.
To the hotel stationary next to a fully operational phone,there are small touches of the pink bird everywhere.


The clerks at the desk were short and curt during our stay, but then again, everyone has their 'off' sort of days and all you can do is shrug that sort of thing off.

The cleaning staff were absolutely wonderful,they kept the rooms spotless and whenever you needed clean towels they were supplied.

The room was a nice sized, the bathroom was leaky and needed updating and the towels were alittle too small.
But we were supplied with clean fresh ones when we needed some.
So be sure if you're the type whom like big cozy towels, bring your own from home.

The refrigerator was well running,the TV worked fine and I really get a kick out of the 'Tourist Station" the AC had a cool and warm components if it gets alittle chilly in the room at night.

I loved the private balconies where you could sit out at night with a nice tasty alcoholic beverage and listen to the waves and watch the sand cleaning machines sweep over the beach.

Elevators were a nice addition,they come in handy from dragging heavy luggage up and down floors or you were simply too tired to hike steps from walking the boardwalk all day.
The Luggage carts helped too.

Outdoor pool was nice and clean lots of chairs and we noticed there was a pool guy constantly checking the ph levels which is a good sign.

The beach is a meer few steps away and we could see how full the beach was during the day and the added bonus was watching the dolphins and porpoises frolicking in the waves.

If you don't mind walking, the beginning of the boardwalk is only a few blocks up and you can grab a Boardwalk Tram for the rest of the trip up the boardwalk for a few bucks-I think 2.75 during the weekday and 3.00 for the weekend.

Lots of places nearby to eat, but look out for Higgins Crabhouse across the street,they're expensive and don't really surpass in the cleanliness factor.
The Pirates Den makes great breakfasts.


I will more then likely visit the Flamingo again in my future travels of Ocean City MD.

Also,I may add I thought it was very awesome that we got a Christmas greeting postcard from the Flamingo after we had stayed there this year for Christmas.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank Hey_Vanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scranton pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2007

I have been going to OC for the past 12 years and have actually stayed here twice. For travelers who dont want to spend a fortune on a decent room, this is a great place to stay. Room was a little old, but was spacious and had nice beach view from balcony. Had both an indoor and outdoor pool which was also a plus. We traveled with another couple and requested rooms next to each other not on first floor and were accomodated with no problem. Location of hotel was also convenient to boradwalk without all of the noise you get when you stay on it. Overall, this hotel is a great value for the price minded traveler.

  • Liked — Good value, indoor/outdoor pools
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank creempuff0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
5.0 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#38 of 103 in Ocean City
248 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#33 of 103 in Ocean City
402 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#24 of 103 in Ocean City
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#61 of 103 in Ocean City
273 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#30 of 103 in Ocean City
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Property: Flamingo Motel
Address: 3100 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo Motel offers affordable lodging in Ocean City, MD. We have 3 Ocean View Buildings that includes standard rooms as well as kitchenettes and suites. We also have an indoor and outdoor pool. All our rooms have a microwave and a small fridge, free wifi, and a 32 inch flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Motel Ocean City Md
Flamingo Ocean City
Flamingo Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing