We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, centrally located hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice, centrally located hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly, location was great, and the rooms were quiet and comfortable. It was a nice, family oriented hotel. The is an indoor pool and an onsite restaurant, which were nice when we were too tired to go out and about. It is not the fanciest place I have ever stayed, but it is a beach hotel, geared towards families. We
would stay there again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank angelcat216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    414
    163
    57
    46
See reviews for
469
465
32
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Don't expect to be impressed. The beds were hard and pillows were lumpy. This place is great if you're a college student looking to go out on the boardwalk and get hammered and just need a place to lay your head but I would not recommend it for the business traveler or the couple looking for nice accommodations. The staff was friendly and the lobby is nice but that's where it ends. I noticed a $1.50 daily charge on my bill, which I contested, for the use of the in-room security safe. To me, this is like having an additional charge for use of the bed or a per flush charge for the toiler. Give me a break.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TexJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our stay was wonderful. The room was nice, the staff was very polite and so helpful. They called me when my room was ready since we got there early. They even helped us with anything we needed. The restaurant in the hotel was delicious and service was amazing. I was happy all around with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qabrbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family and I stayed here in October 2013 for a long week-end and we had a fantastic time. The rooms are real nice especially since they re-did them. Microwave, refrigerator in each room we had boardwalk view which was just gorgeous. Bathroom was somewhat spacious, only one sink. Nice size TV.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bandomom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Got oceanfront room on 6th floor with great view of the ocean. Located on 12th street, in the middle of the boardwalk. Nice walk to the end of the boardwalk and amusement park. Has plenty of parking in its multistory parking garage. Check-in quick and convenient. Used the indoor pool which was very clean, nice hot tub. Room clean, comfortable with microwave and fridge. AC worked nicely. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaydey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#10 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Address: 1109 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#13 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 90 room hotel located in the middle of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. We are in close proximity of any amenity you could want. Walk right out our front door to the beautiful Ocean City beach! You’re not just a guest with us, your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Ocean City Md
Howard Johnson Ocean City
Ocean City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing