We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful as always. The room is located on Oceanfront, 7th floor which allows a full view of the Boardwalk. Exceptionally good to watch Fireworks demonstration on the 4th.of July. Television viewing is somewhat awkward, but can be satisfied by arranging seating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Terra G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
3  Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We decided to take a short spontaneous getaway and picked OC as our destination. I tend to be picky about hotels, especially beach hotels as I've found that the quality of them always seem to be so-so. We made our decision just a few days before we were leaving so I got right on to searching for something decent but not too pricey. After spending an entire day using Groupon, LivingSocial, Travelocity, Expedia, and good old Google; I had all but given up on the search. We couldn't seem to find what worked for us for a 2 day inexpensive excursion. The next day I started fresh and as luck would have it, Howard Johnson was having a "Spring Sale" and offered 20% off their hotels. I read up on all the reviews for an ocean front or ocean view king size room on 12th ave in OC, MD. The pictures looked decent and the only negative reviews seemed to come from snobby people who didn't like the noise their neighbors were making....because that's the hotels fault, right? I also read that people thought the bathroom was too small. I know I'm only 5' tall....but the bathroom wasn't made for midgets. We both found it very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The decor was great and it looked like they had just redone the bathroom with brand new tile and homey towel racks. The shower head was strong and the water was hot! We were also worried about reviews from people saying that the ocean view didn't allow them a view of the ocean....we were on the 7th floor, which I believe is the top and the view was amazing. Yes you had to turn your head to the right slightly.....but you could clearly see the ocean from the balcony and I even got some awesome sunrise shots. The balconies are also closed off from your neighbors. You can hear them, but you can't see them which was great for privacy. We were looking at a hotel in front of us and noticed that they didn't have a divider and they also didn't have any matching chairs. It looked cheap and made us feel that much happier we picked HJ. Another plus was that the rooms are perched on top of a great restaurant which slows down at night, so you're not looking out onto people buying ice cream every ten seconds or a noisy bar that's opened until 2 am. You can also walk straight out of the hotel and onto the boardwalk. That proximity could sell anyone. The parking garage was super convenient and we didn't feel hassled to jump in the car and drive up the road to grab a bite. Everything was very easily accessible. The hotels location is prime, BTW. If you're into relaxing, great dining or for partying, this hotel has it all. Lastly, and probably most importantly...the staff here is superb. We were pretty sure one employee never left and even got a chuckle at her napping on the couch in the lobby when we came down to get some gatorades in the middle of the night. There was always someone there to welcome you with a warm smile whether you were leaving for the day or coming back late at night. The restaurant staff was also very polite, informative and we gave compliments to the chef because the food was excellent. Unfortunately for us, our trip was cut short due to a family emergency but we've already made plans to come back and stay at this specific hotel. Make sure you pick 12th street and not the other one. Our stay here was fantastic and we will DEFINITELY be back!

Room Tip: 7th floor ocean view balconies are true to advertised...great views of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyS313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 104 in Ocean City
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
887 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.4 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Address: 1109 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-7347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#13 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $65 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 90 room hotel located in the middle of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. We are in close proximity of any amenity you could want. Walk right out our front door to the beautiful Ocean City beach! You’re not just a guest with us, your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Ocean City Md
Howard Johnson Ocean City
Ocean City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing