We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on the boardwalk and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Check in was fast parking garage a plus you do not have to let your car on the street. Area is great can walk to everything on the boardwalk. Room was clean great housekeeping service . Rooms are updated with flat screen and bathroom. Coffee maker and refrig a nice plus for a beach hotel. Indoor pool was clean . Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snoopy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazamanager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hi there and THANK YOU very much for taking the time to place your review on TripAdvisor about us! It sounds like you had a really good time while you were here and enjoyed the hotel and that is what we aim for. Hope your travels home were safe and that you will come back and stay with us again when you are in Ocean City!!

Sincerely,
Mary Susan Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
plazamanager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
plazamanager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Howard Johnson Ocean Front Plaza in Ocean City, Maryland offers reasonable rates and 5-star customer service, as long as you stay at the 12th Street location.

We rolled into Ocean City at 9am, after an 8-hour drive. Exhausted and anxious to get out of the vehicle, we couldn't wait to arrive in the hotel parking lot and give the car a rest. With plans to grab a blanket and nap on the beach until hotel check-in, we were bummed when the rain drops started falling.

With limited options, we chose to lay the front seats back, cover up with a comfy sweatshirt, and call it a day.

Traveling for business isn't always as glamorous as you may think. Sleeping in the car on a warm summer day in August, was a walk-in-the-park compared to our trip to New Hampshire in the dead of winter. We wanted sunrise pictures on Hampton Beach but arrived a few hours too early. Imagine trying to nap in an uncomfortable jeep, surrounded by intensely cold ocean air.

With just a couple hours until check-in, we decided to make our way into the hotel and let them know we had arrived. As we entered the very small lobby and waited in line to speak with the front desk, we listened as customers complained about the dirty rooms and bad service.

When the front desk associate couldn't find our reservation, we were overjoyed! Apparently we had been sleeping in the wrong parking lot. We were on 24th Street, but our reservations were for the same hotel chain, only on 12th Street.

Comparing the difference between the Howard Johnson on 12th Street and the one on 24th Street is like going from Kansas to Oz! Everything from the large, open, light-filled lobby, to the welcoming smiles of everyone at the front desk was enough of a gift to let us know we had found the accommodations we always look for during our travels.

For more details on our hotel stay, along with our incredible 3-days in Ocean City, read Connextions Magazine Issue 9.

Many thanks to General Manager Mary Susan Jones and her staff for all the smiles and outstanding hospitality! and for the record, we never announced that we were traveling for business... the outstanding hospitality is honest!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnextionsMagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank jorgeandclaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
plazamanager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
plazamanager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,757 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,455 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.2 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 104 in Ocean City
1,043 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Address: 1109 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-7347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $97 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 90 room hotel located in the middle of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. We are in close proximity of any amenity you could want. Walk right out our front door to the beautiful Ocean City beach! You’re not just a guest with us, your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Ocean City Md
Howard Johnson Ocean City
Ocean City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing