We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

we have stayed here alot every time we were pleasesd with serviced and the staff a very nice place to stay will return next year .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Elouise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Hotel is fantastic in it's location, and cleanliness. The staff is great, the food is good.
If I have any negativity it would be the Parking Garage. My wife has bad kness and with no elevator in the garage it was a tough time retrieving her bike several times a day we had to park on the top floor, 5 flights of stairs killed her, so I had to get it a few times and my knees are bad too. They should have an elevator in the garage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had a good time the room was clean the locatin was just right for what I had to do the view was out of this world I could have not ask for a nicer stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Morris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I appreciate the staff Megan helping us out on a room after our reservation was canceled. She was very frendly and professional .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 79michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Ok so I stayed at this hotel last week. I have stayed here in the past but very short trips and had probably the best room in the hotel when I stayed previously. The whole experience this time was terrible. To start out, they double billed us and booked 2 rooms instead of 1 as we requested. The room was small, smelly, sticky carpets, dirty bathroom, mildew/mold ceilings, and wait did I say small!! The linens were hideous, curtains were dirty, balcony neglected, the maintenance was shotty! Blah! The indoor pool is a joke, they closed the outdoor one which actually wasn't bad before. The elevator is rickety, the breakfast at the restaurant was terrible, the front desk staff were actually nice, but when we checked in there was only one person and it took awhile. Basically, don't waste your money and go here. It is so overpriced and needs a complete overhaul. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. This hotel needs an update for sure. Can't really take a shower without worrying the water might leak out. Paid around $150 per night with free WiFi and Parking. Consider very good deal with so close to the boardwalk and shops.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chloebebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

beds were very hard, the location was perfect. we stayed in room 411 and the bathroom ceiling was leaking and also the phone was unhooked. the manager on duty was very nice and took care of our concerns. but when you are paying for 5 stars you shoud get five stars. the pool was very nice the bottom had some rough spots that hurt you feet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hbighamjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,756 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,455 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.2 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 104 in Ocean City
1,043 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Address: 1109 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-7347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $97 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 90 room hotel located in the middle of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. We are in close proximity of any amenity you could want. Walk right out our front door to the beautiful Ocean City beach! You’re not just a guest with us, your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Ocean City Md
Howard Johnson Ocean City
Ocean City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing