We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been staying there for six years, and never had a problem”
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Been staying there for six years, and never had a problem”
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I've been reading a lot of reviews on this site, that said the Grand Hotel was horrible, and to steer clear of it, but I've been staying there for six years, and never once had a problem with it.
The rooms are nice, the hotel seems clean and the staff is friendly. There are two pools, which is good since neither pool is ever too crowded.
I will admit the rooms are a bit dark (nothing that can't be fixed with a flip of a few switches), and the balcony isn't too private, however, it's a great location and the balcony has ample room to sit any sandy beach toys.
The absolute best thing about the Grand is the parking garage, which has quite a lot of space, and is perfect, since finding parking in Ocean City, without having to walk a few blocks and crossing the busy highway isn't exactly easy.
Sure, the Grand isn't anything overly special, but it's a great hotel for its price. I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Net212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
Thank you for your nice comments. I have been managing the Grand Hotel for over a year and a half now, and one of the best things I've found is the amazing number of guests who have been coming here for years. Many of them since they were children when they would visit the Stowaway Motel which used to stand in this location. Thank you for your continued patronage, we look forward to hosting you and your family for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    1,144
    574
    286
    210
See reviews for
1,461
1,030
67
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

The Grand Hotel was great ! Rooms are clean, Beds are comfortable. Front Dest were friendly and very helpfull.

Will stay again

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
We're very happy you enjoyed your stay! We pride ourselves in great customer service and the BEST housekeeping department in OC!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

2 night stay in January - cold beach weather - but a good deal for a top floor, king sized bed, jaccuzzi bath, beachfront room. I would not pay the summer rate for this room. Many reviewers state the hotel is running down, and it seems to be. Small things in my room could be fixed, some areas of the hotel smell (an old hotel smell - maybe old smoke smell as well). Yet, for a winter get away, the price is write and the room is still more than adequate.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roonwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daybreakartist
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

why is there not an email address on your Grand Hotel website? We stayed for 3 hours last night, and it was the worst stay we have had in OC . We go every year to celebrate "our christmas" with a jaccuzzi room in Ocean City and to see the lights.. There were no lights at the inlet , and the room was horrible. Do you really think two Adults can fit in the jaccuzzi you have there? It would MAYBE fit two 8 year olds... all crammed up and no where to put your shoulderblades when in the tub.. who wants feet in eachothers face? what a joke! And you advertise PEPPERMINT MOCHA all over the place, but no peppermint at the shop.. what gives? nonetheless, its false advertising to say its a jaccuzzi when its a WHIRLPOOL.. HUGE difference. We hated every second and left after we ate the delivery pizza and decided this year was a bust.. thanks for ruining christmas, and taking our money. We will stick to Princess Bayside.. thanks!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daybreakartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2009
We are very sorry that your room was not what you had anticipated. We do advertise our tubs as two person because they are designed for two people with backrests at each end of the tub. If you visit our website and review our accommodations you will see a very prominent photo of the tub. It is never our intention to mislead our valuable guests. Our management team is here seven days a week and we encourage our guests to let us know if we did not live up to their expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We have stayed at the Grand Hotel in Ocean City several times our a numerous annual trips to OCMD. The Grand is basically your average hotel within the area. It is nice and it is clean. The hotel is also in a great location on the quiet end of the boardwalk. This area is nice as it isn't as busy nor loud versus the lower end of the boardwalk with all the games and stores. The beds are comfortable and there is somewhat of a view from any of the rooms. There is also a parking garage which is nice to hopefully keep your car safe from the elements and others. The staff are nice but not unforgetable. It can be a bit pricey in the high season but is a steal in the winter time when you just need a quiet break. To put it in frank terms. This hotel is nice and comfortable. It will meet and exceed your basic needs for a room but if you are looking for something more upscale than I would recommend looking at the hilton or renting a private condo.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungBuckTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryville, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2009

This place was great! My husband and I stayed here at the end of September on a mid-week madness special. It was worth the drive! Our room had a great view, we got a dinner coupon worth $60. The coffee shop was open all night, which was perfect for us night owls. The girls at the front desk were so much fun. They let us know about all the spots locals go to have fun. We can not wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The Grand has great, spacious rooms with a microwave & a small refrigerator… but BRING YOUR OWN UTENSILS & DISHES since they are not provided.. Don’t burn microwave popcorn, or it is a $250.00 fine if you set off the fire alarm. (a sign warned us about that, so we were careful) The parking garage is only 7 ft high at the Grand and our motorcycle trailor is higher than that, but we got a great parking spot in the outside parking lot ! The checkin went smoothly & the manager was very accomodating in getting our party of 6 on the same floor. The Grand is very close to Fishtails , which is a great hangout during Delmarva Bike Week. After spending time there, we would walk back to the Grand & watch the bikers drive by while on the 2nd floor pool deck overlooking the street. My only complaint is that our bed was too hard for my taste (I'm used to my foam mattress at home) I. had to use extra pillows for cushioning
. Room .717 had a great view of the 90th st Bridge (which looked beautiful at night with the lights shining from the bridge) & a good view of the beach.
We had a great time at the Grand.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarleygirlCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2009
The Grand Hotel loves bike week too! We are glad that you chose our hotel during Delmarva Bike Week and we appreciate your feedback.
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#7 of 103 in Ocean City
2,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
859 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
855 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-3534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing