We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "go to" spot in Ocean City”
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Odenton, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
553 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Our "go to" spot in Ocean City”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is our only choice for an OC getaway. The staff is SO accommodating. The garage makes parking a breeze. The jacuzzi room makes for a perfect romantic evening (even comes with candles). Every room has a view of that gorgeous ocean that we all love. The coffee shop has been redecorated & looks beautiful. It is so convenient having the coffee shop, pizza shop, ice cream shop, & bar right in the hotel. Have I mentioned the indoor pool? I definitely recommend the Grand to anyone who wants to have a great time in a beautiful spot while staying in a great hotel!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi rooms are a great deal for those who want to soak away the cares of the work week,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to give us a fantastic review! We take great pride in our staff here at the hotel, and I will be sure to pass along the praise. I am very glad that you took full advantage of all our great amenities our hotel has to offer. The heated indoor pool is very convenient and relaxing, especially at this chilly time of year! Again, on behalf of myself and the entire team of The Grand Hotel & Spa in Ocean City, thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing such a great review, and we welcome you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    1,196
    601
    297
    219
See reviews for
1,577
1,052
68
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Grand for a long weekend getaway. I was a bit wary with the tone of some reviews but my mind was put at ease shorty after we arrived. The staff and check in were fast and friendly. The room was as it should be for a beach front hotel. Parking is free and easy and the boardwalk runs direclty in front of the hotel.We left the sliding door open to hear the roar of the waves al night long.
The front desk staff gave us a late check out ( no extra charge )
Overall a very nice hotel for the $ I would recomend it to my friends....

William & Colleen
New York

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fglawihio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Amazing review, thank you so much for such lovely feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were satisfied with all aspects of your stay. We work hard to ensure your complete satisfaction, and look forward to doing so again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in early September. Beautiful view and large room. Beds were hard as a rock. Balconies are shared, which was kind of weird. Twice we came back to the room at or after 4:00 pm, and the room had not been serviced yet. On our last evening there, when we try to use the TV (which was very outdated), we found it no longer worked. Apply check out the next morning I advised the desk staff of this. Four days later I was called by someone at the hotel who accused us of breaking the TV and expecting us to pay for it. I was outraged! I told when the TV last worked, and when we found a broken. Again she tried to accuse me of breaking the TV and wanting me to pay for it. At that point I told her to check with housekeeping as we did not break the TV. I never heard a word back on this issue. Fortunately, I received any mail from the hotel asking for my feedback shortly thereafter. The feedback was given, the desk manager investigated the incident, and advised me that they had found out how the TV was broken. Do you think I'll stay there again? Never again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi again Tammy, firstly, I would like to say thank you for taking the time to write the review and that we do value all feedback from our guests both, positive and negative, as this is the only way to ensure we continue to grow and develop as a property. As stated in my previous email conversation with you, we are deeply sorry someone accused you of breaking the TV without further investigating the situation first. The TV screen was actually smashed somehow and we have yet to determine how this happened, but we did realize it was not from you or the other guests in your room. I do hope that you treat this incident as an exception. Although you have mentioned that you would not return to the Grand Hotel & Spa, I do hope you reconsider and allow us the opportunity to show you our normally high standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our first trip to OC. Staying on the 11th floor (middle) allows you to sit on the balcony, have a cup of coffee and experience the most beautiful sunrises.The hotel is on the boardwalk, but far enough from the "main" part of the boardwalk to experience calm. It's the equivalent of a few blocks walk to get to the "heart" of the boardwalk. This location is very quiet (at least in October). The staff at the hotel was very nice and accommodating. The rooms are dated, and not as clean as I'd like, but having the ability to go to sleep and wake up to the sounds of crashing waves and sea gulls was fabulous. (There are sliding glass doors to the balcony that we left open all night.) It sits directly on the boardwalk, and is literally steps and you're in the sand.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th, but any room (on any floor) from "6 - 15" you will have a spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Isn't it amazing being able to take some time out and enjoy our beautiful city? For those of us who live here we sometimes take it for granted. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the amazing parts of Ocean City that are just steps from our door, and we are so pleased about that. We are delighted that you found our location to be perfect and we are in the planning process for renovations so when you return we hope you will find your accommodations to be perfect as well. Thank you so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Hotel & Spa for a conference this past weekend and what a nightmare. Stayed here last year and since then things have went from bad to worse. Our room was on the 2nd floor beachfront, the room was dirty, wallpaper and baseboard peeling off the wall, black mold under the wallpaper (a health hazard) bath too small, no wifi service. We had to move to another room after complaining 3 days about this, only after a found a caring staff member to help me, April Mapp, she is by far the best asset this hotel has. During the conference breakfast was served to us and it was late and cold. The staff did not clean the conference room or take out the trash from one day to the next. Oh and last but not least, air vent on 2nd floor blowing into hall was full of bird feathers and every time you walked by they blew out into your face. Disgusting, dirty hotel, what a shame!

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 2nd floor oceanfront especially if you have a breathing problem due to the mold a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us, Miss Small. I apologize that you had to experience these inconveniences while you were here. When you came to the Front Desk to make us aware of the issues Nina, our Revenue Manager, gave you complimentary breakfast vouchers for the inconvenience and then we immediately moved you to a different room that was up to our normal high standards. I will most definitely recognize April for a job well done and we thank you for your kind words regarding her. She is absolutely a valued employee. Once again, I am sorry your stay was not satisfactory, but we hope to see you next year again for the convention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is about 14 or 15 years old. The location is great. It is on the boardwalk, near shopping and food. The staff was very nice. The maids were polite, the front desk was nice to work with as well.

The room we stayed in 219 needed some upgrades. The wall paper was peeling off the wall in several areas. The wall paper had been patched several times. Under some of the missing wall paper was mold. The dressers were missing handles. The bed was chipped up in several places. There was a large area where a chair or love seat was supposed to be but was missing. My wife did not like the fact that our "Ocean View" was obstructed by a roof top area.

The hotel was clean for the most part. The hotel hallways and lobby was clean. The floors of the room never seemed clean. They always had sand or debri on the floors. Also, our room was not cleaned until 5pm our second night. That was a little ridiculous.

Room Tip: The second floor was nice because the pool and game room were close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piasan-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the staff, location, and hospitality. I am sorry that the cleanliness and lack of renovations were not up to these standards as well. We are aware that we are in need of renovations and we plan on making necessary changes during our off-season when it is not so busy. Although our goal is for each guest to have a wonderful stay we are always thankful for the opportunity to understand how we may improve, so we appreciate your honesty, and we hope you give us the chance to serve you next year as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

this trip was so far one of the best of all. it was my second time here (and soon to be my third) and it is very amazing here.one of my favorite parts of this hotel is how their are nice little shops in the hotel and a very nice pool/ pools and my rom was just so nice with a great view from the balcony of the beach. hopefully ill have the same experience next year as i go to the same hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyler n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
What a nice review! I am sure your review will give TripAdvisor readers a lot of information and tips about our hotel, and we thank you for that. We are very happy you had such an amazing experience, and we look forward to accommodating you next year as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 103 in Ocean City
2,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
865 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-3534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing