We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a Great Massage at the Spa!”
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My aunt visits Ocean City every year and this year I joined her. We stayed at the Grand Hotel and had a great time at the spa. We had massages by Karen and Sharon in their massage "room for two." You don't have to be a couple to get a massage with someone else. It was really fun. We will definitely go back next year. The spa was clean, the room was beautiful, and the massage therapists were really nice. The only thing I would warn you on is they get booked really fast so I would call ahead. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: Go on a higher floor in the middle view was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

I am so pleased that you had such a great time with the "Grand Girls" Karen and Sharon! We cherish them and know what a huge asset they are to our team! Please come back soon and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,021 - 3,027 of 3,597 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

The receptionist was friendly and polite, the room was clean (I checked for signs of bed bugs), the location was great as the hotel is on the boardwalk, the adjacent parking garage was convenient, and the outdoor pool was nice and cool. The breakfast was hot but it took about an hour after we ordered before we were served.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank for using TripAdvisor. We are sorry you had to wait long for your breakfast and we will take the necessary steps to ensure the issues above are addressed. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Ocean City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ocean City is a beautiful place but this hotel doesn't do it justice. Grand Hotel has rooms with a view but they should try cleaning the sliding doors once in a while because what's the point of having a room with a view when you can't even see through the glass? Their rooms are not up to date, you would expect a hotel that is right on the boardwalk and part of some of the shops on the boardwalk to be up to date so that it would provide some competition for the other hotels around the area, but that is not the case. When my family and I got to our room we found a number of things we were not satisfied with, aside from the dirty glass sliding doors. First, there was a dirty child's underwear in one of the dresser drawers, second the shower head had mold/mildew and wasn't cleaned properly. Third the iron wasn't working properly either nor cleaned, it was giving out sand along with the steam. Then when we checked in the fire alarm went off and everyone had to evacuate the hotel, and then on the second day around the same time the fire alarm went off again. I don't know if that's a normal thing, but it was annoying especially when it was a false alarm both times. And lastly they have a cafe on the floor we were on so we thought that would be great for when we would have breakfast. We went in and there were only three or so tables occupied so we didn't expect a long wait. They seated us (four of us) towards the back away from everyone else and then another party walked in and they were seated up front and when we looked they were being served their beverages first and our waiter was MIA, we were never asked what we wanted to drink so we waited like ten minutes and still no one came (and there were only four tables occupied now!) Maybe it was the color of our skin, I don't know but we were totally ignored so after waiting for half an hour we walked out. And of course no one even glanced at us (only the customers that were there) or asked us to stay or apologized.

I don't know who is running the hotel or that cafe but they are doing a poor job of keeping their customers happy and I would definitely not recommend anyone to stay there or even dine at their restaurant on the 6th floor. Such a disappointment because it is located right on the boardwalk and has the potential to actually be a great hotel if it was run properly.

P.S. : We ended up going to House of Pancakes and they were extremely busy but we were seated in like five minutes and were served our beverages in no time. The staff were so friendly and thorough! We didn't even have to wait long for our food (because we were starving) and it was delicious!!! We even went back the next day and will definitely go back whenever I'm in Ocean City again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

We are embarrassed to see you did not have a great stay here at the Grand Hotel. We are aware of amenities that need to be renovated and are pleased to say one of these is our sliding glass doors. We have already replaced them with brand new sliders on 6 floors and intend to finish the remaining 6 this year during our off-season. They have condensation in between the 2 window panes and it is impossible to remove. As for the cleanliness in your room, I have passed these comments along to our Director of Housekeeping and we plan on making severe changes soon. The fire alarms you experienced during your stay were not false alarms. They are always real alarms that are out of our control. Although it is inconvenient when guests have to evacuate the building, we are fortunate our fire alarm systems work properly in order to keep all our guests and employees safe. The restaurant on the 6th floor is not managed by the hotel, but I have passed your frustrations along so they do not make the same mistakes again. I hope when you return to Ocean City you will give us a second chance to earn your business and trust again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have stayed at several different hotels on the boardwalk trying to find one I liked. This was perfect! Check in was super fast, staff at desk was very friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking in the garage just across the alley, not blocks away. Room was clean and the view was incredible! First time ever seeing dolphins in the ocean! Pool areas were great as well as all the shops in the lobby. I loved that the beach wasn't crowded at this end of the boardwalk. It's also within walking distance of great restaurants and fun activities. I've paid the same price for other hotels that don't even compare to what this hotel has to offer. I will only be staying here from now on!! Thanks for an amazing vacation!

Room Tip: Pay the few dollars extra for signature direct ocean view. Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you so much for such a great review! We are delighted to read that the Grand Hotel & Spa is your first choice now in Ocean City and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location and plenty of parking which was nice. Great view of the ocean and really nice rooms. Staff was very friendly.The only downfall was the café downstairs only accepted cash which I almost never carry. Alot to do within the hotel. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammie259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and everything we have to offer! We are glad that your experience lived up to your expectations of the Grand Hotel & Spa and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in Ocean City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I can't WAIT to go back to OC next year for another little family trip & stay in this hotel again. Check In was quick & easy. Our room(10th floor, oceanfront, WORTH THE PRICE!) was nice, clean & cold when we got there. The view was AMAZING. The hotel is on 21st which is close to the end of the boardwalk. If you want to have the excitement at walking distance but still be able to leave your slide door open to hear the waves at night then this is your place! The parking garage was right next door to the hotel. Now if you're traveling with children that is seriously one of the most awesome parts of this hotel. No need to walk 30 miles with kids, luggage and towels to get from your car to the hotel. Though it's nice to know you can easily drive your car anywhere, you can leave it parked & not need it for your whole trip. Everything is walking distance. The pool hotel was awesome & their little bar was a nice touch (smoothies were literally to die for). Lobby had almost everything you'd need. The service was excellent. We left Saturday morning for breakfast & put a "service please" sign on the door. When we came back an hour later our room was spotless! Loved our maid Toni! Still sorry my daughter lost your envelope!


Overall loved the trip & will definitely be back again next year!

Room Tip: Ocean Front Rooms, 10th or 11th floor are definitely worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

The Grand Hotel & Spa has a company value where we succeed only when we meet and exceed the expectations of our customers, and it’s nice to know we’re doing so with guests like you! We couldn’t appreciate your kind comments more. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Have been staying at another hotel for 20+ years, decided we needed a change. First year at the Grand, and we loved it. The outdoor pool area is very nice, they supply lounge covers and towels, so no need to carry your towels to the pool area. Plenty of lounge chairs! The rooms are very nice and roomy, and kept clean. The restaurant on the 6th floor has delicious breakfast food. Hotel is located near the end of the boardwalk, so if you don't want to drive to the beginning of the boardwalk, just walk a few blocks to the ticket booth for the train, and it will take you to the beginning. A few stores outside of the hotel carry sweatshirts, tees, shoes, etc. Also has a ice cream shop that stays open late, and a 24 hr. coffee shop. Sitting on the boardwalk late at night people watching, then go right up to your room. Very convenient, and a beautiful view of the ocean. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllenTBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

We are thrilled that you will return to us on your next visit here in Ocean City! It is our goal to impress new and returning customers so you have a relaxing vacation, and we are so happy that you enjoyed yourself. Please have a nice rest of your summer and we will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-3534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $65 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing