We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dump”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dump”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The lobby look good that the only thing . The wall paper was coming off in the room, the head board fall down while in bed,the door handle was rusted, the t.v need to be upgrade,the indoor pool wasclean

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HOLDER97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable opinion with us. I am very sorry to hear about the condition of your room. This is certainly not the normal standard of the hotel and I am disappointed in myself and our team that we have failed you. The situation with the headboard and wallpaper is completely unacceptable and I have already addressed these issues with our team to assure that these things do not happen again. We are in the process of upgrading all of our televisions in the guest rooms, and do have them available on several floors of the hotel.

Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss this matter further, because we would love the opportunity to prove to you why we are considered Ocean City’s premier hotel & spa. We are committed to providing you with the best service and cleanest rooms in Ocean City, and I hope you will not let this isolated situation deter you from returning. Once again, thank you for your comments, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    1,031
    522
    265
    191
See reviews for
1,278
941
61
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel during a cheer competition. We upgraded to the refinished rooms and while truly not fully refinished, other aspects of the hotel made up for this, espeicially the oceanfront view! The front desk staff was nice and the hotel lobby and stores located therein were very convenient. It was a nice surprise to have boardwalk shops readily accessible. Would definitely revist this hotel for a long weekend get away in season. It is probably even nicer when you have access to the outdoor pool, which was closed for the season during our recent stay.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room on the upper levels (I believe floors 8 and up are the oceanfront rooms). T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheermom704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your weekend with us and the spectacular views from our rooms during the recent cheer competition! We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed the staff, lobby stores, and our convenient location on the boardwalk!

We would love for you to visit again during your next visit to the Ocean City area. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Grand Hotel and Spa in Ocean City Maryland has great views of the ocean, and is convenient to most attractions in Ocean City. Upon first entering the main lobby, i was impressed with the decor and styling's. Upon further observations, the hotel loses some of it's impressiveness. Things like dented doors, loose wallpaper, worn carpet and an obvious tissue hanging out of the soda tray in a vending machine (which was there for our entire stay) were what we saw. Our room on the 6th floor had a great view and added to the rooms appeal. The room was spacious with two double beds, a desk, small table and a dresser. The room also had a small kitchenette, coffee maker, microwave and sink. A large party of the kitchenette was made up of upper and lower cabinets which contained nothing. Quite a lot of misused space really. Our room had the same peeling wallpaper alonjg the seams, dirt or stains on the ceiling, and a very dirty looking sliding door to the balcony. In the bathroom there was some sort of stain on the toilet seat that would not clean off. There was no ventilation in the bath either. One of the two beds had a sway in the middle similar to what you would see on an old horse. On the last day, the toilet stopped up.

Room Tip: Investigate other hotels in the area. There are plenty to choose from. The Grand Hotel and Spa was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. While I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed the location of the Grand Hotel & Spa and the great views our rooms offer, I am disappointed to hear about the lack of cleanliness you experienced during your stay. I have already made the Director of Housekeeping and our Director of Engineering aware of all of the issues you mentioned pertaining to the condition of your room and this will be used as an additional tool to train our staff.

Although we have failed you once, I hope you will allow us the opportunity to win back your trust and prove our commitment to providing superior service and a memorable experience by choosing to stay with us again in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss this matter further. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your business is truly appreciated and I am confident your next stay with us will be a much more pleasant one!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Front desk staff is rude and not use to the seasoned traveler. I paid for my first nights stay 35 days in advance and still no room after 300 pm. Treated like a piece of cattle I am sitting in a bathroom in a plastic chair so my daughter can get ready for an event at 430. These folks don't have a clue about seasoned travelers expectations. I will not stay in a non branded hotel again Notified Amex of dissatisfaction

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpondfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I’m very sorry that your room was not available for check in at 2:30pm when you arrived at the hotel, but as you stated, we guarantee all rooms by 4:00pm. During the off season, it is more likely that rooms will be ready earlier than 4:00pm, but the hotel was sold out the previous night for the cheerleading competition that was in Ocean City, so there were no clean rooms when you arrived. The housekeepers have only a few hours between the check out and check in times to clean all arriving rooms, and it is certainly not our intention to keep our guests waiting until the 4:00pm check in time. Because your room was not ready when you arrived, the staff did offer you the changing rooms for your convenience so your daughter could have a place to get ready for her event while waiting for your room to be cleaned. Once again, I truly apologize for the inconvenience during your check in, and we hope this isolated incident will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Fenwick Island, Delaware
Level Contributor
206 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel & Spa on the Saturday before Easter. The Hotel was crowded for a March weekend. It is conveniently located to restaurants, bars and the boardwalk.

The room was spacious and clean, with two comfortable queen beds, a small table and chairs.

It had a mini-kitchen, with a microwave, refrigerator, and a coffee pot. The balcony had a nice ocean view.

There was a lounge on the ground floor, which we visited during the afternoon. In the evening, there was live music.

The facilities include a pool and a small gym.

We had a nice stay at the Grand, especially with the off-season rates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoopscoach-dmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Easter weekend and were able to take advantage of the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Grand Hotel & Spa!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our most recent visit (#4) was as wonderful as each time before. This hotel will not disappoint. You can walk out the door onto the boardwalk and stick your feet right in the sand or pamper yourself in the spa. My favorite parts are the Jacuzzi tub for 2 in the bedroom, the wonderful ocean view AND the 24 hour coffee & ice cream cafe on the ground level.

Best part - the price is right - you can't beat this price for the quality anywhere in O.C.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: The rooms on the south end have the view of the ocean, the strip and the bay. It is beautiful at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happiness62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear your fourth stay with the Grand Hotel & Spa was as great as the times before. We are so happy you enjoyed the amenities we offer and the spectacular view from our 12th floor Jacuzzi rooms!

We appreciate your loyalty to the Grand Hotel & Spa and look forward to having you back again soon!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD Eastern Shore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed here before - people nice - location good - amenities great - but it is NOT a pet friendly property - I just called to be sure and they said no they are not.Which is too bad - would definately go there with my little dog if he was allowed.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Baxter21638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank your for taking the time to post about the Grand Hotel & Spa. You are correct; we are currently not accepting pets at the hotel. However, we have recently started accepting them here during the off season. Typically, this period is only from November – March, depending on the availability in the hotel. Due to our high occupancy and higher rates during the summer months we do not accept pets during the summer season. Because we are testing the waters on this we are only accepting small dogs, and only on the second floor of the hotel.

We certainly hope to see you and your dog next fall or winter! We would love to welcome you both to the hotel.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-3534
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing