We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is run down, we booked an ocean front room for our 28th annv. Was very disappointed it was not clean, the placed looked worn down, beds were horrible, will not stay there again. Was expecting something a little more highend.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I am disappointed to hear you will never return to our property and I am sorry that we have failed you. However I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are a very busy oceanfront property and like any other oceanfront property we do experience the normal “wear and tear”. However our team works very hard in an attempt to maintain the property and we are always working on improving the overall experience for our guests. Every year we are constantly working towards maintaining and improving the hotel, but unfortunately we cannot accomplish all of these projects at one time. Just this year for example a large investment was made to replace two floors’ sliding glass doors. New flat screen LCD TVs were also recently purchased which are featured in our Direct Oceanfront Signature Service and King Jacuzzi rooms.

Once again I apologize that we have let you down and I can only hope that you will allow us another opportunity to prove why we are Ocean City's premier hotel on the boardwalk. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this matter further.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    884
    459
    245
    172
See reviews for
1,169
766
50
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, md
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I booked a 2 night stay for a relaxing weekend. Supposedly recent storms flooded our 12th flr room so we got another room that was not to our liking. The lady at the front desk did offer us a 15% discount but didnt say the suites were available later. They offered us the suite for one night only after I asked again.

I dont appreciate them not calling me in advance so I could have booked another suite at another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I am very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction with your recent experience here at the Grand Hotel and Spa. It is our goal to provide every guest with a memorable stay and superior service. I apologize that we have let you down.

I understand and empathize with you on how frustrating it was to be informed the day of your arrival that we did not have the King Jacuzzi room available that you booked. Unfortunately, certain situations do arise that are at times out of our control. As you stated, our 12th floor rooms were significantly damaged during a recent storm. We do attempt to remedy these situations in a timely manner and make every effort to not cause an inconvenience to any of our guests in the process. However, I would like to apologize because this is not always possible under extreme circumstances.

We would love the opportunity to win back your trust and prove our commitment to your satisfaction. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss this matter further. I guarantee that your next experience with the Grand Hotel and Spa will be a more pleasant one. Thank you for your time and business.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

tis was our second stay at the Grand. We love it! The hotel is clean and quiet, the staff friendly and helpful. The coffee shop on the ground floor is open 24 hours and has pastries and sandwiches all day. The location is convenient to walking on the boardwalk and near many restaurants.
we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: ASk for a room on 6th floor or above for a fantastic ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comments regarding your most recent stay at the Grand Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the staff, coffee shop, and our convenient location on the boardwalk! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean City!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I hate the sand. I hate the water, the sun, the screaming kids having fun. I am the same person in a fast food restaurant ordering a cheeseburger without the cheese and can I please have less mayo. Stopped in to visit friends. Please people, enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goboroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Although you hate the sand, the water, and the sun, we absolutely love it! We are glad you were able to enjoy the time you spent with your friends here at the Grand Hotel & Spa. We hope to see you again the future.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon,pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed for two nights valentines weekend. Clean rooms,friendly and helpful staff. fancy folded towels. Very quiet couldn't hear any noise from our neighbors room. Loved it there !! conveniently located to boardwalk. bathroom was clean and free from hair , which some bathrooms is a problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your most recent stay and our staff. We take pride in having the cleanest rooms and friendliest staff in Ocean City! We hope to see you soon during your next visit to the Ocean City, MD area.

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willards, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a such a great stay at The Grand Hotel a few weeks ago Im heading back this weekend!!! Everyone was so friendly and helpful could not ask for better customer service!! Thanx again for a wonderful oceanfront stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay and our staff! We pride ourselves on having the best staff to assist you with any needs you may have during your stay. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Grand Hotel & Spa!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here and I have been happy both times. First stay was an ocean view room which had a nice ocean view. Second time was a direct ocean view....AMAZING view!!! Only complaint is the sound of the elevator cranking from our room....its an Ok trade off foe the view. Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AprilWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your most recent stay with us! We are so glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed the incredible views from our ocean front rooms! We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Grand Hotel & Spa!

Best regards,
Michelle Gentry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,765 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#30 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-3534
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing