We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What More Could You Ask For - It's Grand”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
staten island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What More Could You Ask For - It's Grand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Once again The Grand was perfect!!! Year after year we go to Ocean City and year after year we are never disappointed. This year the Grand added a new feature to the outdoor pool - full chair covers (which I might add are extremely comfortable). Along with the pool staff, every person (Management, Front Desk, Housekeeping, etc.) you come in contact with goes above and beyond to make your stay a memorable one. Management and staff are always available to answer any questions or concerns you may have. There is no other place I would stay!!!!! THANK YOU GRAND - YOU REALLY ARE GRAND!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    1,031
    522
    265
    191
See reviews for
1,278
941
61
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We were not happy with our small but clean hotel room at a different location in Ocean City. This hotel had a room available so we wanted to check the room first before we switched and my husband checked the bed. Pulled off the sheets to find BED BUGS. We were Mortified. This hotel LOOKS very clean. The room looked very clean but bed bugs i was so disgusted we all ran out of that room so fast. I was Hysterical We did not want to start a panic at the front desk so i called the hotel to let them know . Bed Bugs in room # 826 This is an out rage for $259 per night. I cant Believe that Hotels do not check for this Problem. This Hotel Needs to Be Shut Down . SO GROSS.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank al b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
This review is ABSOLUTELY untrue. The hotels Executive Housekeeper, Assistant Executive Housekeeper and General Manager all went to this room after this guest made the accusation of bed bugs...there were NONE. Bed bugs leave very clear evidence of their existence and there was NO evidence of their presence.

As seen by the vast majority of our reviews, the management team at the Grand Hotel & Spa values our guests and the cleanliness of our property. Unfortunately, you did not wait for a manager to confirm your claim. Had you waited we would have been happy to go to the room with you and strip the beds, remove the head-board and pictures and look got evidence of beds bugs...you would have seen that there were none.

I'm sorry that you believed that you saw bed bugs, but you did not. I also apologize that we did not have the opportunity to clarify this before you left the hotel.

Sincere regards,
Patrick Staib
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

North Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We came to Ocean City to celebrate our sons 4th birthday. We are true beach lovers and have stayed at many places in OC. Our main concern was clean, comfortable place to stay that is close to the beach. The hotel was very clean, beds were pretty comfortable, and the view was so so.The rooms are huge but bathrooms very small. We had a grandview room (sort of on the side) but it is not private from your neighbors at all.
Probably the only complaint was the elavators. There were only 2 of the 4 working so it made for alot of rude behavior because everyone wanted to go and they werent willing to compromise. Typical! Overall a very nice trip. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cupcakesmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We've stayed that the Stowaway Grand a number of times and it's always been a great experience. Due to the shape of the hotel, every room gets at least a partial view of the ocean. Conveniently, there is a pizza place and ice cream place on the first floor, and of course, you are right at the beach. The staff are generally friendly and responsive. Parking is good and you can take a tram down to the inlet area. There isn't a lot of activity on this part of the boardwalk so it's quiet at night.

This last visit was not as good in terms of our room. The shoe moulding was peeling away from the walls and the floor was not vacuumed although there were small crumbs on the floor. The room just didn't feel clean; it was on the second floor. Otherwise, it was overall still a good experience.

The best part of being here this time around was the outdoor pool. The pool staff were friendly and made you feel pampered and welcome. Upon arrival, they provided us with our towel and a cover for the lounge chair (they set it up). They had some water games for the kids with prizes. For those lounging but not going into the pool, they came around with ice cold washcloths to help us cool off. I felt like I was in a 5-star hotel the way we were treated by the staff. Consequently, we spent more time at the pool than at the beach. Had it not been for this experience I would have given this property an overall rating of average.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarylandMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Grand Hotel, OC MD from 08/19/2011 to 08/22/2011. This hotel, although some reviews were unfavorable, was wonderful! The view from our 6th floor room was of both the ocean and the bayside. Beautiful! The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the ammenities left nothing to be desired. Both indoor and outdoor pool, game room, spa, and the beach was steps away! You could access every store and restaurant from the inside of the hotel so the one night it rained for a while was no problem. Our balcony was large and morning coffee, listening to the waves was very relaxing. Being right on the boardwalk in OC made our stay perfect. The lobby was large- no crowds to be avoided. For those who have had complaints, I think that you should consider the value of a place that puts you in the heart of everything and offers a great nights rest in rooms that are comfortable and clean. We walked around and looked at other hotels to see up close what we had seen online....we were glad we chose the Grand Hotel. No loud parties and very family friendly if traveling with kids. We will definately stay at The Grand again and hope to return with family next year. Thanks to everyone at The Grand for a weekend getaway worthwhile!

Room Tip: Room was dbl Queen, fridge, microwave and Coffemaker. Lots of room. All views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mimiv39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

The Grand Hotel (also called the Stowaway Grand Hotel) is a fantastic hotel by Ocean City standards. It is right on the Boardwalk and the beach. Every room is ocean front or view and has a beautiful view of the beach and boardwalk. There are beach shops and a pizza place and ice cream parlor on the ground floor which are accessible from the hotel or the boardwalk. The hotel also has a bay view restaurant which has a nice breakfast. There are inexpensive places to eat and attractions very close by and within walking distance. There is also a motor trolley service which will take you along the boardwalk for a reasonable price. The pool and pool bar have a good view of the bay and the town.

The rooms are spacious and clean. Every room has a huge balcony. There is always someone vacuuming the common areas so there is no sand all over the floors. The personnel is friendly and accommodating. They even called our room half way through our trip to make sure we were enjoying ourselves and to ask if there was anything they could do for us!!

My daughter accidentally left her digital camera when we checked out which housekeeping recovered and sent back to us. Honest and efficient!

Ocean City is not a luxury destination, but it is a nice place for a beach getaway. The Grand Hotel is one of the nicest accommodations you will find in Ocean City (and I have been to many.) This is our second year staying there and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 10th and 11th floor are a bit more expensive but worth it. The rooms are very large; t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barnone80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed this past week and I was a little disappointed in the hotel. I've been to Ocean City many times and have stayed at the Rodeway Oceanfront, Quality Inn Boardwalk and the Dunes Manor Hotel. I have always thought the Grand looked so nice so I decided to book it for a friend weekend getaway. I was disapponted in a few things - the ice machines are every other floor and we had to go to 5 different floors before we could fill our very small cooler to take onto the beach, the air conditioning kicked off and on which kept us awake, there is no ventilation in the bathroom such as a fan to remove steam after a shower - which I would think that would cause alot of mold in their walls but who knows...there was constant noise from people opening and closing their sliding glass doors above or beside us, noise from people closing hallway doors, people being loud on the patios - the patios are not private from on another, the elevators didn't work so well and you had to wait forever. I dealt with a person at the front desk who was very nice the first day and the rest of the time the staff wasn't so nice. For what we paid here, I was a little disappointed. Overall it was OK but I think that it looked so much better than what I experienced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-3534
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing