We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation”
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Vacation”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My family and I just returned from Ocean City yesterday. This was our first trip to Ocean City and we stayed at the Grand based on a recommendation from a family friends. I must say, the Grand did not disappoint.

I must admit, I was very nervous to stay in a hotel, verses a beach house with my children. However, We were impressed from the moment we arrived. The man at the check in was very friendly and helpful. Our room was exactly what we had requested, direct ocean view. The room was very clean and housekeeping was very helpful and kind. We had a small kitchen area in our room (microwave, sink, refrigerator, counter area, cabinets, coffee maker) which was fantastic with two children.

We had a nice sized balcony with a fantastic view. Our only complaint is that the balcony’s are not private and you are only provided two plastic chairs. Four chairs would have been nice and maybe a table for morning coffee. Privacy was an issue, as we had a "neighbor" who enjoyed smoking on their balcony despite the fact that we were on a "no smoking" floor. Plus, it is vacation...privacy is nice. Perhaps privacy screens could be added at some point.

I am a bit surprised with some of the complaints that others have posted. It was "Senior Week" this past week, which we found out a few days before our arrival. Despite this, the hotel was very quiet and the beaches and boardwalk were not crowded or noisy.

My children loved the hotel's outdoor pool, especially for night swimming. It would be nice if the pool overlooked the ocean, verses the parking lot. It is a nice and clean pool. There is also a pool bar open during the day hours, but not at night.

The hotel has a pizza shop hat is beach front, a few surf shops, ice cream shop and a 24 hour cafe. They were a little pricey and only accepted cash, however, the convenience was well worth it. The icecream shop was not impressive, it was warm inside and the employees were not as friendly as all the other shops associated iwth the hotel. But, my kids were very happy with their icecream selections.

Overall, we were VERY pleased with the Grand Hotel and plan to return for next year's family vacation. You cannot beat the price and location.

Room Tip: request DIRECT Ocean Front View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thanks very much for your thoughtful and thorough review. I too prefer a private / semi private balcony and we are in the process of getting pricing for the project.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future!

Yours in hospitality -
Patrick Staib
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    1,052
    530
    267
    193
See reviews for
1,298
959
65
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Never in my life have I experienced such rude and ignorant service but any member in the hospitality industry - especially by the front desk Manager - Nina. The hotel booked my reservation for the wrong date, refused to give me a refund, and made my group pay full price for an extra night. The staff at this hotel cannot be trusted and are borderline scam artists. They are rude and do not understand any aspect of the hospitality industry. Also, if you are looking to stay at a hotel close to Seacrets - this is not it. I will never stay at this hotel again and I urge you to do the same.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KriMariNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
At the time all of our reservations are made, the entire room booking description, arrival date, number of rooms and departure date is read back to the person making the reservation. A confirmation e-mail is also sent as further back-up.

I'm sorry that your reservation was not what you had intended, but the Grand Hotel makes every effort at the time of booking, and later with an e-mail confirmation letter, to clearly state back to our guests the reservation information that is provided to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We booked an oceanfront view on Travelocity and we reached there they gave us a room with a city view and partial ocean side view. Though the hotel is clean, right on the boadwalk the staff Receptionist named Nina did not give us the room that we were promised by Travelocity and Travelocity could not do anything about it.
They gave us a lame excuse of no rooms available, but we saw there were so many rooms available during our stay. Good indoor pool, out pool, mins to the beach but if you are booking a view dont be surprised.
We have stayed here couple of times, but we will not stay here again. We saw many issues like this at the reception. Travelocity gurantee screwed up big time....

Room Tip: DONT get the rooms based on views.................
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank likedabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Our family returned to the Grand Hotel after staying at the Hilton and the Holiday Inn the past two years. As in the past, the Grand Hotel was overrun with high school seniors. The excellent boardwalk location and reasonable rates, along with the hotel's insistence that they cannot refuse to rent rooms to teenagers like most of the other hotels do, makes it a popular choice with teenagers. As such, it is party central.

Since our last stay, the luxurious dark green carpeting in the rooms has been replaced with ceramic tile. It made the rooms seem less cozy and increased the noise level from the room upstairs and the room with an adjoining door next door. We could hear every word they said as well as their TV. Large portions of the wall paper were peeling off of the walls. We stayed on the second floor for the first time and you could not see the boardwalk at all due to the first floor roof jutting outward and the view of the beach and ocean was through the fence surrounding the roof. Our TV reception was horrible (imagine the era of TVs with rabbit ear antennas...but without the rabbit ear antennas.) Called to have someone check the TV but no one ever did. Had Showtime for parts of two days, but no Showtime the rest of the week. Wireless internet access was only available about half of the time. Never saw any security personnel.

On the positive side, in addition to the location and price, the maid service was excellent, the rooms were clean and they added video arcade machines, a pool table, a bean bag toss game and an oversized chess set to the empty area between the indoor and outdoor pools (although as I suggested to them in the past, the location was perfect for a hot tub or tubs).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PghZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
I'm sorry that your stay with us wasn't everything that you expected; senior week can be a challenge. We do the best we can to put a buffer between our seniors and our families and couples. It appears you booked one of our Grandview rooms for your stay, these rooms are among our most affordable, and consequently, are the most popular among graduating seniors. Most of these rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel and the second floor is the only floor in the hotel where the rooms have ceramic tile. There is carpet in all of our other rooms.

As far as accepting seniors,it would be unlawful for us to do otherwise. Several years ago there was a class-action lawsuit filed against multiple Ocean City hotels. The charge: denying 18 year old adults room and board. The lawsuit was settled out of court, however it did result in new and clarified laws regarding the rental of hotel rooms to legal adults 18 years of age and older. The determination made it perfectly clear that hotels and motels must make rooms available to them.

I am happy that you were pleased with the comfort and cleanliness of your room, and I invite you to call me personally so that you are placed in a perfect room for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

It was a wonderful hotel. The staff was very friendly and pointed out several sites and restaurants to try. My kids are young and we loved that the beach was 50 feet from the hotel. The Grand Hotel is right on the boardwalk, the family end of the boardwalk. The outdoor pool was fantastic. We spent alot of evening there. And the indoor pool gave us an option if it was threatening rain. We stayed on the 10th floor. It was a little more money, but so worth it for the view. I can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidanem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and I definitely agree with you on the upper floors...the views are just awesome!!

We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheswick,Pa.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Nice hotel right on the boardwalk. We had a room on the top floor and could see everything.
BVnLJ

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVnLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
We're glad you enjoyed staying with us...very nice pictures!

Come back and see us again soon -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Our recent stay at The Grand Hotel in Ocean City, MD was good but not exceptional. The big plus was that the room was ocean front. In fact, all of the rooms are ocean front so if this is something that it important to you, than this is the place. The price was definitely reasonable for an ocean front stay. However, the ad on their website did promise free Wi-Fi and that was pretty much non existent unless of course you wanted to spend your time in the lobby. The rooms were decent but it would have been nice if they had at the very least a larger refrigerator. The food choice at the Terrace Restaurant was breakfast only and it was only an option Thurs-Sun which was a bit strange. The lounge, pool bar and exercise room were fairly nice and easily accessible. The front desk staff were rather uninformed which wasn't helpful when spending a vacation in a tourist city. Overall, the experience at The Grand was good but when we go back next time, I think we'll give another hotel a try.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dilbertrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
I am so embarrassed about the internet. We just upgraded our wifi and we have been working out the bugs with access point location. We were in the process of adding additional high output access points today when my IT guy indicated that our firewall had melted down, consequently our entire system has been down.

The firewall has been replaced and we are still adding additional access points. We realize how vital a high quality internet signal is in today's world and we are doing everything we can to bring our system up to acceptable levels.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-3534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing