We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the chance! The Grand is still the grand lady on the boardwalk.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Take the chance! The Grand is still the grand lady on the boardwalk.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

At this very moment I'm in my king jacuzzi room in a snuggly hotel-provided robe, watching the sun rise over the Atlantic, and life is good. With some trepidation we booked 2 nights here during the off season for a peaceful retreat, and we're not disappointed. Not saying the reviews aren't true-- the smoke smell hit us as we opened the door, the jacuzzi is a squeeze for 2, and the carpet ripples like the ocean, but it's minor. The room is huge (all the more puzzling that I can't sit in a nice chair to read my book, but must opt for this desk chair), it's spotless, the employees are sweet, and our view is outstanding. The easy access beach and boardwalk are directly below me. The building exudes spaciousness and encourages relaxation. And wi-fi works in the room! No dreaded fire alarm roused us during the night, but we did fearfully decline to use the provided candles around our tub to prevent $250 from being tacked on to our room charge! I'm guessing that helps keep the trouble away, because the staff informs us that alarms now are few and far between. Our disappointments? The pool is too cold for swimming (a major reason we booked here, sadly) and even the hotel restaurant is closed. We expected the strip to be largely shuttered until June, but the ads promised a restaurant on site. Since we called here directly, we should've been warned we'd need to drive around to find an open place to dine. It's nice, though, to have a 24 hour coffee shop in the lobby.
Would we come back? Yes, if after pricing similar locations we found that the price was competitive. WIth its boardwalk access, outdoor pool and various dining and entertainment options during the open season, it appears to have it all.

Room Tip: Call hotel directly for best ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fulghie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Wow..."The Grand Lady of the Boardwalk", can I hire you to do my marketing :-) Thank you so much for the kind words, I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Like many businesses today, money is tight for buying new big ticket items like furniture and new carpet; but for what we lack in bells and whistles, we make up for with our wonderful views, great location, huge rooms, comfy beds, awesome housekeeping team and great service.

I have made notes from your review and we will be discussing them at our next executive meeting. Thank you again; we look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    1,022
    516
    263
    191
See reviews for
1,262
934
60
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Pleasant, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Booked this hotel through Orbitz, mostly because of the location. We wanted ocean front and close to the boardwalk. The original price was 80.00 per night including tax, imagine our surprise when the final bill was received and the price was actually 65.00 including tax! The front desk staff was friendly and responsive the few times we interacted. We were disappointed that the kitchenette had absolutely nothing in the cabinets. No plates, cups, eating utensils, or toaster. The room definitely needs a couch or sitting chairs. Carpet was a little lumpy and our first full day there we had to inquire about housekeeping since by 3:30pm our room was still not "made" up. When we returned at 8:00pm the room was done, but much to our surprise one comforter was thrown on the floor next to the bed. No big deal since I generally don't use the comforter anyway, but a little comical to say the least.
The coffee/bagel shop downstairs is open 24 hrs. and the coffee was always fresh. My 14 year old daughter and I visited the spa, but didn't have the time to use the services. The listed prices were reasonable and the receptionist was friendly. Parking was on site and convenient. Balcony could use a good cleaning but functional. Four available elevators made our trek to the 9th floor fast.
WiFi only worked in the lobby which was fine. There is a computer with internet access in the lobby for quests to use.
Very good location, right on the boardwalk, close to many restaurants, mini golf, shopping. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamnbrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I would also like to thank you for letting us know that you had a "Good" stay, and while "Good" is a positive review, it's not "Great" and that is where we want to be.

We will review your comments at our next housekeeping meeting so that we can rectify the deficiencies you experienced. I am very proud of my housekeeping team; the Grand is one of the cleanest hotels in Ocean City, and comments like yours only help us to to get better and better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurmont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

I Understand that fire alarms are there to protect us but we have stayed here for the past six or seven years and have been evacuated every year. Some years more than once. For me its an inconvience and annoying. For my kids its scarey. My seven year old is scared to go back. Last year he couldnt sleep and grinded his teeth all night long. The fire alarm went off of course and then the rest of our vacation he wanted to go home! It was a nightmare. Its a shame because we like everything else about this hotel. Nice hotel with a major fire alarm problem!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dlfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. It is disappointing when the alarm goes off during your stay; but you are right, the fire alarms are a necessary evil. The vast majority of our false alarms are caused by guests who burn foods in the microwave ovens. I am happy to say that we have had a significant decrease in the number of alarms since we have posted notifications in our elevators. We will continue to educate our guests on the importance of not leaving cooking food unattended. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed in a 12th floor Jacuzzi room for 2 nights in March. My husband & I loved the room, it was very clean. We had the signature service room with turn down service which was very nice. Great view, Bath & Body Works soap, shampoo, etc., great view of the beach & boardwalk. Wanted to stay in the off season to see if it would be worth it to stay here during the summer & we will definitely be back. The room has mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot, sink in that area & lots of cabinets if you need them. Large counter top in the bathroom which was nice, table with 2 chairs in room & lounge chairs with small table on balcony. We had drinks at the lounge in the bottom of the hotel one night & the drinks were good also played pool there. Enjoyed the gourmet coffee from the shop downstairs also. Nice clean indoor pool area which also has music playing which I really liked. Not sure why so many bad reviews here, we really enjoyed our stay & found the property to be very clean & staff very friendly. Thanks for a great stay, hope to be back soon :o)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacaysRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

We just recently stayed at The Grand in the middle of march! We went for a weekend and had a great time! The rooms were excellent with cleanliness! Our room was right on the water and the view was great! We stayed on the 11th floor and had no problems getting to the room. The parking was right next to the hotel and very convenient. The rooms were very large and also very private, we could not hear anyone around us! The room was equipped with a kitchen that had a microwave, mini fridge, and a sink as well! Also there was plenty cabinet space available too! The location of the hotel was perfect, there are plenty and i mean plenty of restaurants near the hotel as well as mini-golfing and the amusement park too. During the weekend we traveled to Assateague Island. The island was only a short 15 minute drive from the hotel and I definately recommend it! The ponies were everywhere and the beach was perfect! I loved everything about this hotel and I would stay there a million more times. The front desk was very friendly and willing to help and give recommendations for places to eat and places to have fun! There is nothing that I can complain about the hotel! I'd recommend this hotel to families with children as the board walk is right in front of the hotel. I'd recommend it to couples as well as we had gotten a bottle of champagne and roses on the bed! The Grand Hotel definitely lives up to its name!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginafrye22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you for your very nice comments. We are very proud of our excellent housekeeping team; they all make us proud everyday :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

When visiting the grand with my spouse, I had a fantastic time. The decor was very inviting, and the rooms were spacious. The rooms have kitchenettes, including a fridge, microwave and sink, which proved very convenient. We had a beachside room, which provided a picturesque view of the ocean. The hotel amenities include a pool, an exercise room, a game room, a spa, restaurants, 24-hour cafe, and a conveniently located ATM. The staff was very accommodating and courteous with all of our requests. The stay was very enjoyable, and we look forward to returning to the Grand.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DatroPavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We too look forward to you returning to the Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary in Ocean City Md., and had a grand time at the “Grand Hotel”. At first we weren’t sure about a January getaway to the shore, but we were enticed by the great getaway package and the amenities the hotel had to offer. We were very pleased to find how beautiful the hotel was and that they had everything we needed, from a gourmet coffee shop in the lobby for mourning latte’s, to a great lounge with live music at night. In between there was the indoor pool and sauna with a second floor view of the Bay, and a pizza shop for lunch with a view of the ocean. What more could you ask for? Even the room had everything we needed, complete with a kitchenette, refrigerator and microwave. The room was very clean and service was great. We really wanted to have massages at their spa, because the price was very reasonable and they offered ½ hour sections for two but alas our beautiful room, with personal Jacuzzi was so tantalizing we sent a lot of our time there. Who says you can’t have fun after 40 years of marriage. Over all we would rate our trip to the “Grand Hotel” as “Excellent” and I can’t wait to go back. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great getaway location. Check out their package deals.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rvtripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisGrandManager, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
WOW! We are delighted to hear that you have had such an enjoyable time with us. Our salon was just renovated and we are booking massages like crazy! Thank you for the kind comments and we hope to see you for your next anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#10 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-3534
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing