We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few good ones”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Parking is plenty. Elevators are fast. Pools are nice. Food at restaurantis good. Rooms are great. Clean and spacious. Large balconies. Right on boardwalk. Nice...well worth it compaired to others in the area. We moved from sub par Quality Inn next door to here. Man what a difference.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

Let me start off and say that I travel a lot for business and pleasure, so for me it's all about customer service and convenience. I have been staying at this property before kids and now with kids for approx 5 years. The staff is very accommodating about your needs, wants and making your stay the most memorable. Even though I am a platinum elite with IHG that really doesn't matter because the first year we weren't platinum and still received the best service. Here are some experiences over the last 5 years that makes this property and staff excel. We ask for early check in and they work to make it happen. We ask to be on the kids pool deck and they make it happen. We wanted to stay an extra night they make it happen. We had issues with our room once and they fixed it or they moved us. We had an issue once with our sofa bed and they literally swapped it out that night at 10pm. We've asked for the same room year after year and no issues. Remember that kids eat free. Great location on the beach and boardwalk. Need to let some guest that are staying at another property visit with you at the pool for the day, just be honest and ask them for extra wrist bands for the day and no issues. Of course the kids pool is just flat out awesome especially if you have a room on the pool deck. Now, the reason this property is so awesome because it starts at the door when your greeted and unloaded by Mitch and his team of doormen. Then when you get to the front desk you may experience this great service from Manager Brian or Joe "Daddy" himself. Anyone that you get are great. Once checked in and settled in your room and the kids are having a great time at the pool, you may be ordering a refreshing drink from the awesome pool waitress staff Chandler, Jess, Jessie and the rest of the girls are great. To top it off while relaxing there are no worries because they also have a great life guard staff as well, what I find is most amazing, they pay such close attention because they pair you and your kids up and keep track of who belongs to who. I can't say enough how much we love this property and staff. It works for us and we love that it has become a family tradition.

Room Tip: Every room is a family suite. If you have kids that will love the kids pool, request a kids pool dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mgordon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Pros: my 3 and 5 yr old Loved the heated kids pool and slide.
-The ocean view was nice, stayed on 11th floor
-asked front desk for bed rail and they provided
-we were able to check in early
-complimentary fresh fruit in lobby

Cons: paid $599 a night for 4th of July weekend.
-room was old, dated and worn
-entrance from parking smelled like vomit and urine. So bad that I said something to the front desk. Nothing was done.
-pools weren't cleaned -there was a cork floating in kids pool. Strange bubbles/film in hot tub.
-pools weren't monitored and beach goers used pool too.
-coffee maker didn't work
-jacuzzi tub didn't work
-gross bathrooms by pool, floor was never cleaned
- no separate pool for little kids

Overall, my kids had a blast with the kids pool and slide. That is the reason I picked this hotel. Good location but there are a bunch of hotels on boardwalk. I would check out the Quality Inn next door.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjcatalano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear jjcatalano,

Thank you for writing a detailed review following your recent stay. We appreciate you choosing our hotel, and we are very glad that your kids enjoyed the pool area. On the other hand, it is regrettable that the hot tub area and overall cleanliness was a letdown. We apologize for the shortcomings you have experienced. Please know that all comments are acted upon, as we rely on you, our valued guests, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We hope that if your travels brings you back to our area, you would give us another opportunity to provide the excellent accommodations you were expecting.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Let's start with the pros: The property is ideally located oceanfront, steps from the boardwalk and beach access. The staff was friendly, especially Susan in the restaurant for breakfast and our room was relatively clean. The view from our ocean view room was fantastic and having two outdoor pools, one that was kid oriented and one that was more adult oriented was great! The cons: We paid $10 extra/night for what was described as breakfast for two adults.We assumed this would be for a buffet or continental breakfast of some sorts. When we checked in we were provided with a $20 "certificate" for each morning of our stay to be used towards breakfast which was confusing. The restaurant was located in the indoor pool area, which was stifling hot when combined with the open kitchen. The bathrooms need major updating! The tub was a whirlpool tub that didn't work and was about 2.5 feet deep making the shower REALLY difficult to get in and out of. Neither of the outdoor pools were monitored to ensure only hotel guests were using them. They gave us wristbands to wear at the pool and not once did I see anyone ask for them to show we were paying guests. I did; however, see numerous people throughout our four day stay wander off the boardwalk and use the pools. This really ticks me off considering we were paying a premium (over $500/night) to stay here and use the amenities. Additionally we would see people line up just prior to the pools opening and taking up 4 or 5 lounge chairs with towels and then leaving to go to the beach not to return until later in the afternoon. Again we paid top dollar to stay here and really expected more.

Room Tip: Higher floor oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear shanb33,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback about our hotel. It is pleasing to know that you liked our location and friendly staff. However, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the bathroom facility. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We were turned away from the Marriott even though we had reservations! I explained our situation to Marylou at Holiday Inn and she have us an ocean view suite for $100 less than Marriott. Everyone was kind and sympathetic to our situation. The pools were awesome and the location perfect. Family, couples or seniors would love it here. Balcony was huge and the bar tenders full of dining suggestions and drink specials. We will be back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raggetyan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The good parts- great ocean front view, location of the hotel and the nice balcony.
The not so good parts- upon arrival our room was not ready since it was before 3 PM and the front desk asked for our number and said they would text us when the room was ready, they never texted us. When we first checked into the room the card key did not work and after three trips up and down to the front desk they sent a maintenance man up to the room who took ten minutes and fixed the door and the lock. Once we went into the room there was crushed crackers and crumbs all over the floor. When asked they did come clean it up. There were no pillow cases on the pillows for the pull out sofa and we went down to the front desk to get some and they said call housekeeping which we did, 20 minutes later they still had not come to the room with the pillow cases so we called again, the front desk came up with them. For over $400 a night I would of expected better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaureninDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear LaureninDC,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience with us. I am truly delighted you found our ocean view great and pleased our location suited you well. However, I apologize if the level of service received and cleanliness did not meet your standards. Rest assured that we take all comments seriously so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Again, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

we had a great time at this hotel love the property the two pools on the boardwalk it was very nice clean we were very welcomed! i would recommend this hotel to all! the fitness room is also very nice for a hotel!

Room Tip: balcony ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,455 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 104 in Ocean City
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City

Address: 1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $75 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all-suite hotel located directly on the beach & boardwalk. Over-sized suites with separate living room, bedroom, and kitchens including residential size dishwasher, range, refrigerator, microwave, and tons of cabinet space filled with dishes, utensils, and cookware. Private balconies overlooking the ocean feature a dining table and chairs for four person. Elegant, large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs in every room. Elevated outdoor pool and expansive deck overlooking the beach. Four story atrium with indoor pool, open-air restaurant, fitness center, and game room. Meeting facilities. Guest laundry on every floor, free HBO & Disney channel, complimentary newspaper, coffee and fruit. Video tape players & computer data ports in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotels And Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ocean City Maryland
Holiday Inn Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing