We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay that's worth the trip...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

My family and I took a trip to Ocean City Maryland and had a great time.... Yes it was off season and it wasn't that summer time hustle so we had time to take a nice walk on the boardwalk...my son went shell shopping on the beach and also the family took a nice splash in the pool...... This hotel overall was a really nice place to stay and if the the outside pools were open my 7yr old would have given it two thumbs up.... We will definitely stay here again during the summer just to get a feel for the beach.... So good job to the staff at this hotel everyone was so nice and pleasant this is what makes a guest like me want to return....

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yosee_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located on the boardwalk with ocean front rooms providing an excellent view of the beach area and ocean. In contrast to some other area hotels there is ample secure parking at this hotel. We enjoyed having a few drinks at the hotel lounge and also our dinner at the hotel grill. Servers in both areas were friendly and courteous. Our only complaint is that the Maryland crab cakes we ordered for dinner, although good, were a bit too salty, but too much salt is a common complaint not only with this restaurant but others as well. We were pleased with our visit and will likely return the next time we stay in Ocean city.

Room Tip: Ask for restaurant discount coupons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripjbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel really is very well put together. It is in a great location, has a nice outdoor pool area and hot tub, indoor pool, fresh fruit available, a small kitchen and lots of other amenities to make your stay enjoyable.

We used Priority Club Rewards points for our stay, but the price that they charge for this hotel is just crazy. It's not that it is out of line with other beach hotels in the area, its just that for what they charge you think you would be staying at the Ritz Carlton and not a Holiday Inn. Beach front hotels in Ocean City are just very expensive.

I didn't give this 5 stars for two reasons. First of all we are priority club platinum members. We always are treated very well as platinum members. We were not given anything special as a Platimum member. Not even a Thank you for staying with us. We were only given a side view room where normally we would get a room upgrade. We did speak to the manager and he said that the hotel was completely booked. However, while we were initally disappointed in the side view room, we actually like the view. We were on the 8th floor and could see the inlet and watch the fishing boats come in. We could see the boarwalk rides, the ocean and the bay. So there was actually a lot of view. Much more than just the ocean front view.

At other Holiday Inns as a platinum member, you generally get a welcome gift like a bottle of water, a bag of cookies etc. Just a small item. There was nothing at this hotel. I even asked the manager about it and he said they just don't do it. They treat all guests equally. So it is what it is. I won't mark them down too much for that but dont expect anything for being a platinum member.

The other issue that I have with the hotel for the price is the tiredness of the room. The coach looked old and dated and the kitchen was as well. It wasn't a big deal but again for the price, it should be top of the line.

However everything else about the hotel is great. They have a washer and dryer to use on each floor which was a nice touch, even though for a short stay we didnt use them. They even let you keep your car there the day you check out and provide a courtesy room for showering and changing after you enjoy the beach and pools. So you are welcome to stay for the day you check out and this is a very nice feature.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yoshi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I really liked this property. It is right on the boardwalk and not far from the ocean.

We used the two outside pools and both were clean and nice. We also ate breakfast every day in the restaurant and it was delicious; kids also eat free. Also, this hotel has guest laundry facilities and they are free to use, a serious plus in my book.

For our room, we had a one which faced the south which wasn't the greatest in terms of view but that is my only complaint.

I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Reserve a room which faces the ocean. You'll enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigGus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I'm giving 2 stars based on having holes in my sheets, chipped tile in kitchen, dirty grout, out of date tub in the bathroom that is pretty disgusting, and 1 of the tv's in the fitness room didn't work. I think this hotel could invest in updating the decor and updated the furniture. The couch in our room was disgusting and you might need to delice after sitting on it. The pillows were also heavily worn and need to be replaced. If you look at my other reviews of hotels I'm pretty lenient and have given rave reviews to mostly Marriott's. This hotel has issues that ownership needs to address.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bricktamland7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Bricktamland7,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate our location. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment the room condition. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I sincerely hope you stay with us again in the future so we can show you just how exceptional we can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are traveling just as an individual book this location, no worries.

If you are booking with a group of rooms or for a special event that requires any additional level of service get additional reassurance that you're group will be handled an make sure to get specifics.

We booked this location for our wedding weekend and despite making arrangements for a block of rooms when check in happened the only way we didn't end up all over the hotel is because I happened to be checking in with another member of the group checking and I had to indicate that our "block" expectation was to be together, this was clearly indicated to both the 1. Person who arranged the block and 2. every person who booked indicated our party was the party to be associated with for the booking.

I can understand that during the high season things might get lost in the shuffle but this was in October. At a rate of $169 a night before taxes I expect better service from the front desk than that!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Lynne C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service at check in prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we get very seriously and we have shared your comments with the staff. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

we came in from a long drive exhausted awaiting our gorgeous suite everything seemed normal until we got to our room and saw a couple in the room they assigned to us!!!! besides being traumatized, when calling the front desk from the room the response: come down asap and take all your things out asap(in a very demanding tone) the result: a horrible hotel stay. upon reaching out to the gm to speak about Rosko the front desk attendant, all they gave was 1 free night!
I don't suggest this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eli s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear eli s,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the room confusion and for the poor customer service from our front desk. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City

Address: 1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $96 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all-suite hotel located directly on the beach & boardwalk. Over-sized suites with separate living room, bedroom, and kitchens including residential size dishwasher, range, refrigerator, microwave, and tons of cabinet space filled with dishes, utensils, and cookware. Private balconies overlooking the ocean feature a dining table and chairs for four person. Elegant, large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs in every room. Elevated outdoor pool and expansive deck overlooking the beach. Four story atrium with indoor pool, open-air restaurant, fitness center, and game room. Meeting facilities. Guest laundry on every floor, free HBO & Disney channel, complimentary newspaper, coffee and fruit. Video tape players & computer data ports in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotels And Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ocean City Maryland
Holiday Inn Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing