We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed beyond belief!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the last 3 years and had a fabulous experience but this will be my last
Our first room was filthy. Dirt and grime in the kitchen. The refrigerator had a nasty odor and was spray painted white to hide all the rust stains. The air conditioning vent in the bedroom was not blowing air.
Called for the manager to view the room condition and HE was extremely apologetic and moved us immediately and our second room was ok but not worth the 529.00$ per night.
Pool area clean but cramped and I would have appreciated non-vulgar music from the pool bar .
Anyway next time the Hilton.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Lisa0413,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It’s great to hear that our location was convenient for your activities. We strive everyday to create special experiences to our guests and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay on this day. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had due to the condition of the room, air conditioning unit and kitchen amenities. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We will definitely utilize your valuable comments to improve our services for future guest. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

I made reservations 2-3 months early and asked for a certain type room and asked for 8th floor or higher. I did not want the extra noise, wanted to hear the ocean. Confirmed my reservation several weeks prior and again asked for the 8th floor or higher. When I got there I was told my room was on the 2nd floor (right above the pools) and that the room I reserved did not go as high as the 8th floor. WHY DID NO ONE TELL ME THE 1ST 2 TIMES I CALLED? After almost having a meltdown they did find me a 6th floor room for the first night (but I had to switch to a 4 floor the 2nd night and lost a half a day without a room) They had to store my bags. After I decided not to let that ruin my vacation I did enjoy this hotel. The rooms were great, the pools were wonderful. The staff was very helpful especially the bellman and both the restaurant s were really good too. Great location, great view. Price a little high even for all that good. I'd go back if I had the extra money and now I know what to ask for when I made a reservation hopefully I’d get what I asked for.

Room Tip: Would give it a higher value if the rooms were a little less expensive. The corner rooms are the be...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carusta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for about 5 days. This hotel is immaculate. The room was very spacious. The balcony was nice and overseeing the ocean and pools. Great view. Had 2 queen beds, a sofa sleeper, jacuzzi tub, nice spacious bathroom. Everyone at this hotel was soooo nice and helpful. I broke my glasses the morning of the next to last day and the front desk had the repair man bring me some tape and helped me with my glasses. Was a laundry room on each floor, soda and snacks.... There was plenty of parking for a regular guest but my wife is handicapped. There was only 4 handicap spots I saw and they were always taken. Did not mind at all dropping off my wife at the front of the hotel and then parking in the additional lot but this was the only negative to the trip. On the boardwalk, 17th street, Coral Reef Restaurant Cinnamon French Toast is wonderful. I did think it was a little pricy though.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are ocean front. We were on the second floor overseeing the pools and it wa...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just got back from two days at the hotel (using my rewards points). It was our first time at this hotel and in OC. I loved the view from our balcony (5th floor), the pools were perfect and loved that it was just steps away to the beach. We stayed on the beach in the morning, left our stuff on the beach, went to the pools and the pool bar in the afternoon and then went back to the beach. The hotel is within walking distance to many of the local restaurants. I was surprised to arrive and seeing that our room had a full kitchen and the nice sized bathroom. The room was very spacious for 4 people. My husband thought the room smelled a little musty and like cigarettes, but I didn't notice because I spent most of the time on the beautiful balcony. The pullout couch didn't look comfortable based on the mattress flatness to me, but my 13-year old son didn't mind it much. The staff were so friendly and even after we checked out, we stayed in the pool area and used the bathrooms before heading home for a 3-hr drive. The elevators get a little crazy during peak times. I don't know if they open the indoor pool -- it always seemed like the lights were off in it. Overall I thought the hotel was perfect. However, I was surprised to find out that the hotel price is in the $400-$500 range - which I think is overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Admittedly, I waited a little late in the season to try to book a hotel for the beach. I tried to book online and could not find available dates. I called the hotel and received extremely FRIENDLY and PROFESSIONAL service in finding dates that were available and reserving a room.

We stayed here in July with my 14-year-old daughter and her friend the same age.We stayed in a suite. It was nice to have the separate area to give them (and us) some privacy. Overall, it was a nice place to stay. A nice touch (especially at the beach) is the little laundry room at the end of the hall with washers and dryers. They came in handy in dealing with all of the usual sand overload. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jr4div2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

very very nice hotel. Pools are great, bar and restaurant are awesome. Only steps to the beach. Huge balcony overlooking the ocean. Suite had 2 queens & pull out sofa, 6 were extremely comfortable. Hotel is very up to date and housekeeping does an awesome job. If you cant enjoy yourself here just stay home.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigmook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We just got back tonight from another outstanding week stay here, this made it our 4th year in row of staying here in OCMD. Everything has always been excellent staying here and any minor issues that we have ever had have always been corrected quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 104 in Ocean City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City

Address: 1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $115 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all-suite hotel located directly on the beach & boardwalk. Over-sized suites with separate living room, bedroom, and kitchens including residential size dishwasher, range, refrigerator, microwave, and tons of cabinet space filled with dishes, utensils, and cookware. Private balconies overlooking the ocean feature a dining table and chairs for four person. Elegant, large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs in every room. Elevated outdoor pool and expansive deck overlooking the beach. Four story atrium with indoor pool, open-air restaurant, fitness center, and game room. Meeting facilities. Guest laundry on every floor, free HBO & Disney channel, complimentary newspaper, coffee and fruit. Video tape players & computer data ports in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotels And Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ocean City Maryland
Holiday Inn Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing