We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair”
Review of Beach Bum Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Bum Motel
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It was a nice motel!!! was clean the people that work there were friendly!!! And was very close to the boardwalk and that was nice since I have a 4 yearold! I would stay here again!!!! we were in the newer rooms on first floor which was good (no stairs) the pool aera could of been better! it needs updated! and the back of the motel was wet from alot of rain which thay need to fix but all in all it was a good place to stay!!

Room Tip: there was no fitness center and no kids activities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolebraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 67 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

So it depends on what you're looking for. Lots of frills and extras? Not it. There's wifi, but not much else. Brand spanking new place? Nope...it shows it's wear in some places, but it's clean and well kept. Right on the beach? Nah...it's a short stroll, so woe to the person who hates walking. Peace and solitude? No way...people hang out on the picnic tables outside and chat. Great price? Ding-ding, you got it. My husband I felt it was a great value, and we'd stay again. It was close enough, comfy enough, casual enough, and just enough to allow us to have a good time.

Room Tip: The suite was worth the little extra on the price! It's nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icarrybaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room was ok service was ok . Only 2 blocks from beach. Pool was ok .i think it was way too much money for what you got but that's what you pay in a resort area.people were friendly and room was cleaned every day. Pool was clean and got plenty of towels . All in all it was clean and we would stay there again when we go back to ocean city Maryland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatboydoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Eh...it could be worse was the mantra for this hotel. The room was Ok. Broken and missing tiles in kitchen. Bathroom vent had years of built up grease and dust. 1 bed was comfortable the other not so much. Fridge was very clean. TV has 10-15 channels (no espn). The drapes were four individual panels that you need to position perfectly to keep light and people from seeing in. The efficiency had 5 random cups and two tea cups that made us laugh, not exactly well stocked nor would I be brave enough to use.

With all that said, it's why we joked eh...it could be worse. The primary issue was the deck area with picnic tables outside our room was a party area. Music, singing and loud conversation woke us up in the middle of the night it continued until almost 6am. The front desk closed at 3 and supposedly there is security but they only drive by. The police finally broke it up at sunrise.

Obviously in a beach town there will be drinking and partying, my biggest concern was there was no one on site to address. When I spoke to front desk they were unable to do anything without the manager. They were hesitant to call the mgr because they were off. They suggested that I email them. I did talk the clerk into emailing the mgr and had him call, but he did not leave a message. I also emailed.

The manager did respond within a hour and " allowed" me out of my reservation, which saved the fight with my credit card company. They also gave me 10% off the problem night which I thought was a little cheap.

I would not stay here again but if you want to party all night disturb other guests and have no fear of being stopped by mgt this is the place for you. Without the noise I would describe it as eh...it could be worse

Room Tip: A tip for a good room...hmmm photos are better than reality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just got back from staying at the Beach Bum Motel. We enjoyed our stay except for the very uncomfortable beds! If it weren't for that we would go back there again but that was the deal breaker for us. Other than that, everything else was great for the price....liked having a little kitchenette, there were no issues with parking, nice pool and only a couple of blocks from the beach. Can't beat it for the price - hope to hear they have made improvements to their beds and we would stay there again next year as we loved OC and are planning on going back next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your time for the comment. I apologize for your inconvenience regarding the bed. Most of our rooms had new carpets, TVs, furniture, and bedding since they were remodeled this year. Unfortunately due to a tight budget we could not remodel all our rooms. Our goal next year is to remodel all the remaining rooms. We should have new beddings in all if not most of our rooms for next year.

Thank you
Tribikya
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Positives: Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Maid service was very good. Fresh linens were delivered daily. Pool was clean.
Negatives: Beds were very uncomfortable. Only got a few channels on an old TV with poor picture quality. Parking in the rear lot is hit or miss.
We stayed in an efficiency by the pool, which we thought was an upgraded room. The stove and microwave were new, but unit needs upgraded. Specifically the beds. Would prob stay again because the staff was so great, but would book by phone instead of online.

Room Tip: ask for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodnar6407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your time for the comment. I apologize for your inconvenience regarding the bed. Most of our rooms had new carpets, TVs, furniture, and bedding since they were remodeled this year. Unfortunately due to a tight budget we could not remodel all our rooms. Our goal next year is to remodel all the remaining rooms. We should have new beddings in all if not most of our rooms for next year.
We have three different parking lots in the property assuring each room one free parking spot. Unfortunately the parking lot on the west of the pool is tight but the parking lot on the east of the pool has more space and vacant most of the times. Our staffs at the front desk should assist you with parking at any time.


Thank you
Tribikya
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A couple of friends and I stayed at beach bum for the week. All three of us loved the place. The pool was great and the rooms were huge. The first thing that came out of my mouth after entering the room was, "WOW"!!! The room was better than my expectation for the price that I payed. The entire Beach Bum staff were awesome. The housekeepers were wonderful, the people at the office were really nice, and the manager was a great guy. Our room was ready before the check-in time and he let us check-in early. He even walked with us to the room to make sure we liked it and that everything was ok. The entire week they made us feel that we were welcomed and comfortable. they were really nice people. I would highly recommend Beach Bum.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigCheese_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachBummet, Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. The entire Beach Bum team is very happy that you loved our place. We are looking forward see you again soon.

Thank You
Tribikya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.3 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,403 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#20 of 104 in Ocean City
338 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Princess Royale Resort
Princess Royale Resort
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,881 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bum Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bum Motel

Address: 203 9th St, Ocean City, MD 21842-3705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beach Bum Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing