We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Ocean City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed at the Carousel this past week, and I must say, I do not understand the bad reviews. Our family has vacationed here for the last 5 years and every year it gets better and better. There is so much to do for all ages. The oceanfront rooms have a great view and are spacious and clean. There are staff members constantly walking around and cleaning up the grounds and common areas. You get free beach chairs to use, they have movie night on the beach and each night we enjoyed the ice show. No one in our family is ever bored. This is the only hotel we will stay at in Ocean City.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It is families like yours that help make the Carousel Ocean City’s favorite family hotel. We are so glad you took advantage of the amenities that we offer and we appreciate you recognizing our hard working staff, We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Spent this past weekend (Aug. 1-4) at the Carousel Resort Hotel with my husband, daughter and granddaughter. We booked late, so our options in Ocean City were limited. We enjoyed the family atmosphere of the resort, thought the beach area good, found the restaurant very attractive and the food fine, liked the ice show a lot, etc. However, the room was second-rate. Our bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom ceiling was falling down, there was no safe to put our valuables (useful in a resort hotel), the bedding and towels were cheesy. We realize that the hotel is older, but management needs to correct these things.

Room Tip: Find out if the rooms have been renovated recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DGPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and everything it has to offer. It sounds like you took advantage of many of the value added features that we offer. We are disappointed that your room was not satisfactory. Had we been aware of any issues, we would have promptly corrected them. We are one of the older hotels in town and we have renovated most of our rooms and are continuing to make improvements each year. Please call our reservations department the next time you are booking with us and we will ensure that you are placed in a room that has been totally renovated. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Our room the first nite was awful. The air conditioner was filled with mold and debris, the bathroom door wouldnt stay shut, the toilet wouldnt work unless u opened the back and messed with it. The walls were dirty. It was sweltering hot and they didnt have another room for us to move to. Next day they didnt want to refund us anything or let us check out, but offered to clean another room for us. ( I thought they were already supposed to be clean??) The only thing decent were the drinks...and I needed them to forget I was staying at a nasty hotel. Totally not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julesasites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

While we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, your review has omitted some facts about your stay. Yes we were sold out and as soon as you told us you were unsatisfied with your room, we made every effort to change your room. As soon as we had another room open up, we moved you to that room and credited your account $50.00. You booked through Booking.com and you booked a Standard room. We upgraded your stay to a Bayview room at no additional charge where you stayed for 2 more nights. We apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory but we did make every effort to correct any problems. We do hope that the next time you stay in Ocean City, that your accommodations exceed expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our first time staying at The Carousel, but not our last! What a great place for all you need for a great vacation! Our room was great - very spacious and inviting. We have a handicapped child and there was enough room for his wheelchair. We had a two bedroom suite. Great sleep for mom and dad AND the kids! The staff were very polite, pleasant and we didn't have one complaint. Housekeeping went out of their way to help us with our son which was greatly appreciated! If you don't mind being around lots of people then you will love this place because it is BUSY! It is truly a resort- all you could want in one place. Walk out the door into the beach bar with lots of people having fun eating and relaxing and then its just a few shorts steps to the beach. They even had a beach wheelchair for our son! At night one boy could go to the gym or pool while the other went to the arcade or skated on the rink. Or if you don't want the beach that day hang out at the pool or the grassy area sipping drinks! We even watched a movie on the beach. See you next year!

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious and comfortable. Kitchenettes are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about our property. It’s families like yours that we strive to provide great vacations for. We are so happy you took advantage of all of the great amenities that we provide for our guests. We know we are certainly not one of the newest hotels in town so it makes us feel great when we hear that our guests took advantage of all of the extra value things that we offer. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

My wife and I were somewhat skeptical of this hotel because it seemed like the reviews were either 5 star or 1 star. Well, we just returned from a 3 night stay with our two sons and we had a blast. The hotel is Clean, the staff, down to the waitresses and bartenders and very friendly and super professional. We had absolutely no issues. I did see reviews about the elevators being difficult. The only time we had problems with the elevators were around 11:00 -12:00 because of checkout. Other than that they are pretty fast. The doors may close a little too fast, but other than that they were fine. This hotel has so much to do for kids and adults alike. its so conveinent with the restautants, bars, pools, lounge areas, etc. It has something for everyone. You really don't have to leave the hotel for anything. We would definetly stay again. Thanks Carousel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us. We strive to provide a clean, relaxing and fun atmosphere for all of the families that come to visit. We are so glad you took advantage of all of our amenities and value added activities that so many other hotels in Ocean City cannot offer. We look forward to your next visit with us and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Carousel Resort has wonderful accommodations and facilities to meet everyone's needs. We absolutely loved our visit, especially our grandchildren. There was so much for them to do and they were particularly taken with the ice skating....what a blast! The staff was very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the meals we ate there as well. I particularly found the patio especially refreshing and relaxing and would have loved to have spent more time there on my own, but that's difficult to do with 6 and 7 year old grandsons! We love Ocean City and making memories with our grandchildren as we did with our sons. Those memories are made even more special when the accommodations are so very nice. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We strive to provide a fun and value added vacation for families visiting Ocean City. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of all that we offer, that you feel our staff was friendly and helpful and most importantly, that you were able to relax and enjoy your vacation. Thank you once again, and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We took our 5 year old grandson for two nights to Carousel Resort. He loved it! There is a Pirate Ship, Moon Bounce and other fun things to do for kids. On the other hand, the property gets a lot of wear and tear! Needs attention. The pools are crowded and not clean. We did find the food to be good at the restaurants. Kids eat breakfast free! There is also an inside ice skating rink and a show every night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mltsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We are so pleased that your grandson enjoyed his stay and all of the fun things we offer for kids. We are sorry that you thought the pools were not clean and we will go over your comments with our Recreation Department to keep improving the property. We are the biggest and the busiest hotel in Ocean City and there is a lot of wear and tear, however we appreciate your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
884 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#75 of 104 in Ocean City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#22 of 104 in Ocean City
879 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $62 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing