We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad bartender”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“bad bartender”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have been going to the carousel for the past 5 years. Our children love ocean city and love all that you could do in the carousel itself. Unfortunately we will not be going to the carousel hotel anymore. For the past 3 years my family and myself have been having issues with one particular bartender thats working there ever since we been going there. First off she does not smile she is not welcoming she doesn't make you feel welcome. Even if it is next to no one in the bar you have to track her down to ask for a drink or her down to order something from you she definitely does not want you there. 3 years ago in for the past two years after that we complain to management nothing's been done the last year we just left we decide we wont be going back because you're getting the same exact treatment that we've been getting from the bartender for the past 3 years

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for your continued business over the past 5 years, we are sorry to hear about your less than excellent experience this past summer. We have a few repeat bartenders whom come back on an annual basis but none that fit this description. We will be discussing this comment in our training for next summer to make sure no matter what, our staff offers the same Carousel rock-star service as we always have in the past.

We believe that the customer experience is the most important competitive edge of our business can provide. We understand your dis-satisfaction and hope that your overall experience was exceptional considering all the additional features our resort has to offer. Please give us another chance to earn your business for the continued 5 years, we truly value your opinion and will be working hard to improve our operations in every way possible. Thank you again for your valuable feedback, we look forward to having you as our guest again for another great Ocean City vacation.

Sincerely
Carousel Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    308
    223
    146
    198
See reviews for
713
148
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The place was nice. Good location in upper Ocean City but the indoor pool and ice skating rink where a great added bonus for the kids during the weekend. There were things for them to do in the evenings. Looking forward to summer to possibly book with them again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the wonderful review! November may be a slow time of year for OCMD but there is still so much to do. We pride ourselves on having the most amenities in Ocean City. During the summer months we offer a multitude of activities such as live entertainment, live ice shows, family photo night, theme nights, family activities, camp carousel, movies on the beach and so much more! We can't wait to make your next family vacation one to remember. Thanks again for choosing The Carousel!

Sincerely
The Carousel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in an oceanfront room in late July and it was great. We had a great view and I loved laying out on the grass lawn by the back patio. The outdoor live music made for a very relaxing, laid back environment. Wasn't so impressed with the seafood buffet and I think the Carousel would benefit by changing it up.

Room Tip: Oceanfront Rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Searcy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for making the Carousel your beachfront accommodations for your vacation! We have the largest oceanfront tropical lawn in the area and pride ourselves on the immense amenity package. We are sorry you felt as though our seafood buffet could use improving, we will definitely be looking over our menu's and revamping them according to our guests best interest. Thanks again for being our guest we can't wait to have you again in the future!

Sincerely
Carousel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Let me say first, that the Carousel Groups Sales department made the very difficult task of managing a large multi day reunion event SURPRISINGLY EASY. Their attention to detail was not only welcomed but really appreciated by everyone in our large group:

Our accommodations and event were both wonderful. Kim Heffner and her group sales team were spectacular! With over 150 classmates, all with different levels of expectations, every one of them left impressed. Many took the extra step to search me out and thank me for booking our reunion at the Carousel.

As for our stay; the oceanfront room views and sounds; were wonderful to wake up to. So many hotels and condo resorts in Ocean City are set back far the beach. At the Carousel you have direct and immediate beach access, restaurants on site and an ICE RINK! In Ocean CITY! Outrageous!

Although the resort has seen many summers, they have maintained the facility well. Our room was recently remodeled and was nice, clean and comfortable, but really- when you come to Ocean City it’s always about the beach and the views- and if that’s what you want: THEN THIS IS THE PLACE to stay.

Room Tip: When available-- reserve an ocean front room-- thats what you are at the beach for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floorme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review and thank you for choosing the Carousel as your 40th Class Reunion. Our sales team excels in making event planning for your group easy. As you mentioned, our hotel has seen many summers and made many family vacation memories along the way. We will continue to work hard to better serve our valued customers much like yourself. We specialize in group planning and we bend over backwards to make sure your experience is the best it can be. Stay tuned for all the great upgrades we are making for 2014!

Sincerely
The Carousel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Finest amenities in OCMD. Clean, spacious, well appointed rooms. Great staff! Lot's to do! From shopping, to the indoor cafe, to ice skating, to private/safe beach access... the Carousel has something for everyone!!!!

Room Tip: While the Carousel is a GREAT place to stay anytime of year, the Christmas season is especially nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCMDBeachBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear OCMD Beach Boy, thanks for the great review and thank you for choosing the Carousel this Fall as your off season getaway. We are really excited about the Winterfest of Lights going on right now and the Holiday season as a whole. Thanks again for the kind words, we look forward to having you again as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My family has been coming to the Carousel in Ocean City, MD for years. It is a great place for families. We have always stayed in one of the condo's and have been very pleased; the oceanfront view from our balcony is beautiful. The kids love the ice skating rink; the indoor and outdoor pools, and movies on the beach. My granddaughter always takes advantage of the tennis court. They have a restaurant, bar, icecream and coffee center inside and an outside grill and bar with music. We enjoy the outside grill and bar. The hotel is convenient to shops, grocery store, good restaurants...everything. The staff is always helpful and courteous. It is just a fun place to stay. We always look forward to returning each summer for our beach vacation.

Room Tip: If you are renting a condo stay on 10th or higher floor. The view is so much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annandale_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for your return business at our oceanfront hotel in Ocean City MD! We pride ourselves on the great view of both the ocean and the bay. Experience great sunrises and sunsets all year round! Thank you for taking the time to write this great review, we look forward to having you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Ocean City for my birthday weekend. We have a 4 year old, so thought it might be fun to go with another family. We all made reservations at the Carousel Hotel because it looked like a fun place for the kids.

PROS:
Hotel is beachfront

Ice skating rink is super cool! My son was able to ice skate with no problems because they had walkers for the inexperienced.

Hotel had a nice pool, bounce house for the kids and gave complimentary beach chairs.

Rooms were pretty clean considering it's at the beach (sand is everywhere regardless of where you stay)

CONS:
Parking is a nightmare. There are spaces in front of the hotel to park and unload your luggage; however, every single space was taken and apparently these folks didn't feel the need to come back to their car after unloading. There was concierge out front that didn't even care that these people never moved their vehicles. Needless to say, we ended up having to park in the middle of the road to unload (in a hurry!!) then park our vehicle in a huge parking garage next to the hotel (there are no where close to enough parking spaces at the hotel).

This hotel is FAR from all the action. There is a bus stop down by the road, but plan on traveling to get anywhere.

There was a dirty shirt in the corner of our room left over front previous customers.

Patio rooms are directly in front of the pool or bar so anyone can see in.

The second day we were there, we were sitting out on our balcony and someone above us dumps their cooler out onto our porch...it went all over our stuff. I went down and told the front desk...they sent someone from security out to say something to them but that's it.

My husband and I decided to stay an extra night...I went to the front desk to ask if our room was available for another night. The lady said that yes it was available so I told her to reserve the room. I told her that I would be right back to handle paperwork because I wanted to tell my husband (he was out in the truck). When I came back in they said that my room had gotten booked before she got a chance to book it...NICE!! We ended up having to move all of our stuff (fun fun) to another room...BOOOO!

Even after all the problems I had, the hotel never once offered me a discount or anything at all. I don't ever ask for a discounts or coupons, but you would think at $300/night they would be able to offer something for such issues.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your review. As you had mentioned we are a family friendly oceanfront hotel with a great pool and amenity package. The parking situation has not been a large issue in the past. We do have an expansive parking lot, 4 story garage, street parking and over-sized lot just next to our hotel. We do allow guests to momentarily park in the fire lane while they are checking in during peak hours. Typically we do not experience much congestion in the fire lane and we always have enough parking for all of our guests. In addition to our expansive parking options, we offer Bell Service for those who would like assistance moving into their vacation accommodations.

The hotel may be 5 miles from the boardwalk but we are close to an array of great dining options, Northside Park, mini golf, movie theaters, Fenwick Island, bowling and many family friendly attractions as well.

The Patio rooms are located directly on the patio next to the pool, tropical lawn and bar and grill. These rooms are often in high demand due to their quality and rate. We are sorry a guest spilled water on your balcony, we cannot take responsibility for the actions of others but we did take action by kindly reminding the other guest to be more careful in the future.

We do apologize for the room move. During the peak season we do typically sell out and in your particular situation it simply had to be done. We do offer complimentary Bell Service which can be provided even if you are away from your room.

We offer so much to our guests including Free Family Photo's, Movies on the beach, discounted ice skating, Theme Nights, free beach chairs and the most amenities in OCMD which is why we are one of the most popular hotels in the area.

Thank you again for being our guest, we hope to accommodate you again during your next family vacation in beautiful Ocean City!

Sincerely Carousel Hotel Management Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
4.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#26 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
5.9 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing