We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour Club(Ocean City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Hawk Motel(Ocean City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cayman Suites(Ocean City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,364)
Filter reviews
1,364 results
Traveler rating
393
348
248
163
212
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
393
348
248
163
212
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsice skatingbounce houseice showsmoon bouncefree beach chairsfood lionoutdoor poolhot tubbar and grilloff seasonbeach accessocean viewpirate shipplenty of parkingrinkskatessummer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
847 - 852 of 1,364 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

7/29-8/2/13 We are a family of four - with two children ages 18mo and 7yo. It can be difficult to meet the needs of both kids at such different ages. However, the Carousel offered so many options we never had a problem. While the 18mo napped in the afternoon and went to bed early, our 7yo went ice skating, swimming (indoors or outdoors), played on the beach, played in the game room, sat on our balcony and watched a movie or played games (there were two decent upholstered chairs), or got a snack at the bistro. The 7yo got to watch a movie on the beach at the hotel and got to go see fireworks at a nearby park.

Yes, it was expensive. But it was worth more money, with more to do - especially the day we had a lot of rain and thunderstorms (of course less money is always preferred, but it is prime vacation season and it met our demands/needs). The room was decent - far bigger than some of the less expensive places we have stayed. We had fresh towels daily. Our family doesn't require fresh sheets daily - so while another review mentions them not getting them, that was not an issue for us. It's a hotel - it's a room used by thousands of people - and it was in good condition, especially considering how people treat things when they don't belong to them. It was clean, had a kitchen sink, microwave, mini frig and coffee pot. We stayed not-Oceanside, on the 4th floor, overlooking the ice rink. My only real frustration was the wait at the elevators during the busy times of the day... but that also has to do with how rude other guests can be by butting in front of people already standing there waiting.

The restaurant offered a great breakfast buffet - where the kids eat free. Breakfast for the four of us cost $25, which isn't bad at the beach. We ate there several times for breakfast and dinner, the service was slow most times, which could be frustrating... but once you know this, you just have to stay on top of the server to work with you.

We hope to be able to afford to stay here again in coming years. The next time, I will book a room on the other side of the rink, as the elevator seemed less crowded and you don't need to cut through the lobby and main rink/bistro area to get to the beach access. Also, a lower floor (we were on the 4th floor) so we can do the stairs with kids, stroller, and baggage easier.

PS - There is a grocery store behind the hotel within walking distance - get kids snack and sandwich items and load the mini frig - the cost of a hamburger or hot dog will put you over budget... plan ahead!

Room Tip: The pool side rooms are next to the beach access area - so I am confident there would be some noise at most times of day. The music at the rink plays until 10pm, so you do have to contend with that if you stay rink-side (but we brought a sound machine to help drown out noises anyway). The lower you stay, the less time you will wait for elevators and can use the stairs, but it will be a bit more noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Five families just returned from a week long stay at the Carousel Resort and we had a great time..condos were clean..staff was very nice..inside and outside bar were great.. Plenty for the kids to do..hotel restaurant was good.. I'm glad we were smart enough not to take reviews too seriously!! We would stay at the Carousel again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear guest, thanks for choosing The Carousel for your family's beach vacation accommodations. We have worked hard to upgrade and expand our amenity package every year! Thank you for the kind words, we really appreciate the positive motivation to keep The Carousel as one of Ocean City's most popular resorts and hotel.

We can't wait to have you as our guests again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Staying here currently until Monday and this place is a joke. $2,500 for a week and you get to sleep in filthy rooms with serious safety violations line a sprinkler head that was broke and had a rage stuffed in itoror a dryer that the heating element never shut off and make the entire laundry room sweat to the point where there was standing water in the dryer. Room is gross prison cells are cleaner than this place. Rugs that were once white are Brown and stained all over with burns all over the place. And the restaurant where they have all you can eat crab legs and prime rib for $29.99 is more like a high school cafteria Buffett with corn, mac n cheese, mash potatoes. Which by the way were cold including the crab legs and the restaurant is full of flies that like to land on all your food while you eat. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE THIS PLACE IS A JOKE. Workers are rude and don't understand English. I don't normally complain and just deal with stuff but honestly this place is unbelievable bad. If you stay here you are wasting your time and money go somewhere else there is a reason they are ranked so low in ocean city. If you read this and then stay you will regret it. And they were notified of all the issues and acted like they didn't care they replaced the dryer with a old used dryer. So don't believe any messages they place on here saying they are sorry and tried to make the stay better because they didnt at all.

Room Tip: Drive right past it to Irene or ANY other place in ocean city
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Troy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear past guest, thank you for choosing the Carousel as your vacation accommodations. After reviewing your post we can only conclude that you have rented a private condominium through a affiliate company such as Caldwell Banker. Our condos are cleaned and inspected before allowing guests to enter, and certainly we would not have missed a leaking sprinkler head. Would you mind calling the hotel to let us know which unit this was? We need to address this issue as it is, as you said, a violation.
The description of the room does not match that of any room rented in our Condo Association. Please allow us to EARN your trust and book directly with a friendly member of our staff. We have thousands of repeat guests who keep bringing their families back year after year. There is a reason we are Ocean City's favorite oceanfront hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just stayed here for 5 days with our family. Room was in disrepair. One wall falling apart. Bathroom not very clean. No clean sheets during the stay. They were simply pulled up. Only two sets of towels were provided in a room with two queen beds. We had to go in search of additional towels. Two times, our rooms were not even cleaned until after 4:30 pm - and that was after we called to complain. Once we stopped a maid in the hall with clean towels in her "trolley" to ask for clean towels so that we could shower with clean towels and were told that we had to call the front desk to request towels and that they would call her and THEN she would give them to us. ??? Rooms were never vacuumed during the entire stay. The front desk told us this was because there were too many activities going on at the hotel. That made no sense. Once, we walked in our room to a Carousel worker (a man) using our bathroom. The rooms were extremely noisy in the evening and night. One of the bistro workers gave us the wrong change for a $50 (for an $8 bill) but denied it and never gave the correct change back. He only gave us change for a $20 bill instead of a $50 bill. Rooms were very plain. No pictures on the wall as decoration. Instead there were pipes running along the walls. Air conditioning was extremely noisy. Only thing good was the ocean front room view - but we certainly could get other oceanfront rooms elsewhere - and certainly will next time. Would never recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCCM224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear past guest, we do apologize for the issues stated in your review. Our staff is all fully trained and attend orientation within a week of employment. There is no reason why our maids would refuse extra towels, or why your room would not have been vacuumed. Please call us at 410 524 1000 and ask for Robin L to address these issues personally.

As a management team, The Carousel group has worked hard to upgrade this historic property and offer a superior level of hospitality to our guests. We make many improvements every year, not only to our hotel but also to the rooms as well. Please allow us to EARN your trust back and show you why we are Ocean City's favorite Oceanfront resort and hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at The Carousel from 7/22 to 7/27. We had an oceanfront room and it was spotless. We stayed on the fourth floor. The balcony was great, and there was a little table and chairs for us to sit out there. We had an awesome view of the beach. We had plenty of towels, and our room was always clean. There were people cleaning the doors, elevators, rugs in the hallways, so clean. The staff is friendly. We played mini golf daily, and took the bus to the boardwalk, and amusement parks. It was fun! The beach was crowded, but fun. Get your umbrella out early to save a spot on the beach. People claim their spots early. It was great having Food Lion across the street so we could keep some snacks in the room.
If we had to complain about one thing, it would be the lack of supervision of children. Some Parents let their children run wild and yell in the hallways, push into the elevators, and ice skate unattended. There didn't seem to be a time limit in the rink, and some of the kids were pushing and shoving on the ice.
This is a great place to stay, but very crowded. We had to wait 40 minutes for a luggage rack to check out. The security lady was so helpful and assisted us. Again, the staff is wonderful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear valued guest, thank you so much for booking a room at our great oceanfront hotel on 118th st. We have worked hard to upgrade our oceanfront rooms and provide you with the vacation experience you deserve. Last year we upgraded the carpet, granite, flat screen tv's, bed spreads, drapes and paint! We do cater do a lot of families and offer unlimited skating while on the rink.
Our hotel can be a bit crowded on Saturday afternoons and on big check out days, but we do offer bell service to anyone trying to expedite the process.

Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews