We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family had a wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Our family had a wonderful stay!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

7/29-8/2/13 We are a family of four - with two children ages 18mo and 7yo. It can be difficult to meet the needs of both kids at such different ages. However, the Carousel offered so many options we never had a problem. While the 18mo napped in the afternoon and went to bed early, our 7yo went ice skating, swimming (indoors or outdoors), played on the beach, played in the game room, sat on our balcony and watched a movie or played games (there were two decent upholstered chairs), or got a snack at the bistro. The 7yo got to watch a movie on the beach at the hotel and got to go see fireworks at a nearby park.

Yes, it was expensive. But it was worth more money, with more to do - especially the day we had a lot of rain and thunderstorms (of course less money is always preferred, but it is prime vacation season and it met our demands/needs). The room was decent - far bigger than some of the less expensive places we have stayed. We had fresh towels daily. Our family doesn't require fresh sheets daily - so while another review mentions them not getting them, that was not an issue for us. It's a hotel - it's a room used by thousands of people - and it was in good condition, especially considering how people treat things when they don't belong to them. It was clean, had a kitchen sink, microwave, mini frig and coffee pot. We stayed not-Oceanside, on the 4th floor, overlooking the ice rink. My only real frustration was the wait at the elevators during the busy times of the day... but that also has to do with how rude other guests can be by butting in front of people already standing there waiting.

The restaurant offered a great breakfast buffet - where the kids eat free. Breakfast for the four of us cost $25, which isn't bad at the beach. We ate there several times for breakfast and dinner, the service was slow most times, which could be frustrating... but once you know this, you just have to stay on top of the server to work with you.

We hope to be able to afford to stay here again in coming years. The next time, I will book a room on the other side of the rink, as the elevator seemed less crowded and you don't need to cut through the lobby and main rink/bistro area to get to the beach access. Also, a lower floor (we were on the 4th floor) so we can do the stairs with kids, stroller, and baggage easier.

PS - There is a grocery store behind the hotel within walking distance - get kids snack and sandwich items and load the mini frig - the cost of a hamburger or hot dog will put you over budget... plan ahead!

Room Tip: The pool side rooms are next to the beach access area - so I am confident there would be some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    311
    225
    146
    199
See reviews for
718
150
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolcott, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Five families just returned from a week long stay at the Carousel Resort and we had a great time..condos were clean..staff was very nice..inside and outside bar were great.. Plenty for the kids to do..hotel restaurant was good.. I'm glad we were smart enough not to take reviews too seriously!! We would stay at the Carousel again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for choosing The Carousel for your family's beach vacation accommodations. We have worked hard to upgrade and expand our amenity package every year! Thank you for the kind words, we really appreciate the positive motivation to keep The Carousel as one of Ocean City's most popular resorts and hotel.

We can't wait to have you as our guests again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Staying here currently until Monday and this place is a joke. $2,500 for a week and you get to sleep in filthy rooms with serious safety violations line a sprinkler head that was broke and had a rage stuffed in itoror a dryer that the heating element never shut off and make the entire laundry room sweat to the point where there was standing water in the dryer. Room is gross prison cells are cleaner than this place. Rugs that were once white are Brown and stained all over with burns all over the place. And the restaurant where they have all you can eat crab legs and prime rib for $29.99 is more like a high school cafteria Buffett with corn, mac n cheese, mash potatoes. Which by the way were cold including the crab legs and the restaurant is full of flies that like to land on all your food while you eat. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE THIS PLACE IS A JOKE. Workers are rude and don't understand English. I don't normally complain and just deal with stuff but honestly this place is unbelievable bad. If you stay here you are wasting your time and money go somewhere else there is a reason they are ranked so low in ocean city. If you read this and then stay you will regret it. And they were notified of all the issues and acted like they didn't care they replaced the dryer with a old used dryer. So don't believe any messages they place on here saying they are sorry and tried to make the stay better because they didnt at all.

Room Tip: Drive right past it to Irene or ANY other place in ocean city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear past guest, thank you for choosing the Carousel as your vacation accommodations. After reviewing your post we can only conclude that you have rented a private condominium through a affiliate company such as Caldwell Banker. Our condos are cleaned and inspected before allowing guests to enter, and certainly we would not have missed a leaking sprinkler head. Would you mind calling the hotel to let us know which unit this was? We need to address this issue as it is, as you said, a violation.
The description of the room does not match that of any room rented in our Condo Association. Please allow us to EARN your trust and book directly with a friendly member of our staff. We have thousands of repeat guests who keep bringing their families back year after year. There is a reason we are Ocean City's favorite oceanfront hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Baltimore, MD
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just stayed here for 5 days with our family. Room was in disrepair. One wall falling apart. Bathroom not very clean. No clean sheets during the stay. They were simply pulled up. Only two sets of towels were provided in a room with two queen beds. We had to go in search of additional towels. Two times, our rooms were not even cleaned until after 4:30 pm - and that was after we called to complain. Once we stopped a maid in the hall with clean towels in her "trolley" to ask for clean towels so that we could shower with clean towels and were told that we had to call the front desk to request towels and that they would call her and THEN she would give them to us. ??? Rooms were never vacuumed during the entire stay. The front desk told us this was because there were too many activities going on at the hotel. That made no sense. Once, we walked in our room to a Carousel worker (a man) using our bathroom. The rooms were extremely noisy in the evening and night. One of the bistro workers gave us the wrong change for a $50 (for an $8 bill) but denied it and never gave the correct change back. He only gave us change for a $20 bill instead of a $50 bill. Rooms were very plain. No pictures on the wall as decoration. Instead there were pipes running along the walls. Air conditioning was extremely noisy. Only thing good was the ocean front room view - but we certainly could get other oceanfront rooms elsewhere - and certainly will next time. Would never recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCCM224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear past guest, we do apologize for the issues stated in your review. Our staff is all fully trained and attend orientation within a week of employment. There is no reason why our maids would refuse extra towels, or why your room would not have been vacuumed. Please call us at 410 524 1000 and ask for Robin L to address these issues personally.

As a management team, The Carousel group has worked hard to upgrade this historic property and offer a superior level of hospitality to our guests. We make many improvements every year, not only to our hotel but also to the rooms as well. Please allow us to EARN your trust back and show you why we are Ocean City's favorite Oceanfront resort and hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at The Carousel from 7/22 to 7/27. We had an oceanfront room and it was spotless. We stayed on the fourth floor. The balcony was great, and there was a little table and chairs for us to sit out there. We had an awesome view of the beach. We had plenty of towels, and our room was always clean. There were people cleaning the doors, elevators, rugs in the hallways, so clean. The staff is friendly. We played mini golf daily, and took the bus to the boardwalk, and amusement parks. It was fun! The beach was crowded, but fun. Get your umbrella out early to save a spot on the beach. People claim their spots early. It was great having Food Lion across the street so we could keep some snacks in the room.
If we had to complain about one thing, it would be the lack of supervision of children. Some Parents let their children run wild and yell in the hallways, push into the elevators, and ice skate unattended. There didn't seem to be a time limit in the rink, and some of the kids were pushing and shoving on the ice.
This is a great place to stay, but very crowded. We had to wait 40 minutes for a luggage rack to check out. The security lady was so helpful and assisted us. Again, the staff is wonderful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you so much for booking a room at our great oceanfront hotel on 118th st. We have worked hard to upgrade our oceanfront rooms and provide you with the vacation experience you deserve. Last year we upgraded the carpet, granite, flat screen tv's, bed spreads, drapes and paint! We do cater do a lot of families and offer unlimited skating while on the rink.
Our hotel can be a bit crowded on Saturday afternoons and on big check out days, but we do offer bell service to anyone trying to expedite the process.

Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights with a girls softball team and their families who were participating in the USSSA World Series nearby in Salisbury. The resort met all our needs. Comfortable, clean rooms. We had a beach front room with balcony and enjiyed a beautiful view of the ocean in the early sunlight. Beach access. Indoor and outdoor pools. Snacks and food available. They even had fun on the ice rink after their games were over. Breakfast was available in the hotel restaurant or you could visit a number of other places nearby, Dunkin Donuts, Fractured Prune etc. The staff were friendly and housekeeping responded promptly to our requests for more towels, pillows etc. it's not a luxury hotel but its ideal for families, though it is quite a distance from the boardwalk but maybe that's a plus. I would go back happily.

Room Tip: Beach view costs more but nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for choosing the Carousel for your softball tournament accommodations. We pride ourselves on the amenity package you have described. We are not a luxury hotel, but we do offer a great deal to our guests including free Family Photo Night, Free Movies on the Beach, Free Nightly Ice Shows and the most amenities in Ocean City MD! Thanks again for your business, we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have been back to the Carousel 3 times now and every time, we have been more than pleased. It is right on the beach, a great outdoor patio for drinks and lunch, kids activities, movie night on the beach on Wednesdays, and even a kids club a couple times a week. There are alot of families there. It is a great location for lots to do!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gme123gme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for staying with us during your family vacation. We have worked hard to update our hotel every year. We pride ourselves on offering the most amenities in Ocean City. We hope you had an opportunity to enjoy all we have to offer!

Thanks again for being our guest, we look forward to having you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
842 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
850 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
2,055 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing