We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Vacation Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just returned from vacationing at the Carousel and was very pleased with the hotel, overall. Contrary to other reviews of this hotel, the room was very clean and the bathroom was very nice (small, but nice). There was a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, sink and coffee maker which was nice, the beds were very comfortable and the room was very bright. There is a beach/poolside bar which we went to in the afternoon for a drink after being on the beach. Every afternoon there was live music; fun place to hang out. In the center of the hotel is an indoor skating rink which was actually just outside our room. That would be the only negative thing I would have to say, is the location of our room. It was a little noisey at night but it eventually died down. All and all, we really enjoyed the hotel and it's amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for the great review, and thank you for being our guest! We pride ourselves on having the most amenities in Ocean City, and for being the best family resort in town. There is so much to do, one would never need to leave the premises. We work hard to make sure your vacation is one to remember, and that your family has a wonderful experience. Thanks again for the great review, and thanks for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

826 - 832 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Several of my friends and I spent three nights at this hotel in July 2013. We were on the second floor (255 and 257). The rooms are dated and not as clean as they could be. There was a pair of socks left in the corner from the previous tenant and little pieces of paper in the corners of the bathroom floor. When we got up the first morning, there was water on the floor by the door. When we called the front desk, a man showed up immediately. He said the refrigerator had been turned down too far, apparently by the person who cleaned the room, and the refrigerator defrosted itself. He cleaned it up for us. The other room had a problem with their screen door on the porch, and a maintenance person showed up immediately. The employees are very nice at the front desk, too. The worst part of this hotel is the noise. Our balcony was a right over the kiddie pool and bar area, and there is a singer from 2 until 7 every day. We could not sit on the balcony during this time due to the noise. Very loud, very hard to take. If you must stay here, ask for a room way at the end of the building away from the pool area. The air conditioner is also very loud and runs on and off all night. There were lots of kids due to the skating rink so if you have children, you might like this place. Everyone else should book another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the bar/pool area as possible aid you want to sit on the porch during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueLovesTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear valued guest, thank you so much for your business and for the review. We do apologize that the atmosphere was not a good fit for your beach vacation expectations. The Carousel does offer 3 other choices at 3 different price points. Our other hotel on 45th st may have been a better fit for you. When you book a hotels with any of our other property's you will get the Carousel Group Vacation package. The Carousel Group Vacation Package offers the most amenities in Ocean City! Book a room at our hotel and get great discounts just for being our guest! Guests staying at any of our great hotels can join us for - FREE Ice shows every night at 6:30 (June 12 - Aug 20). - FREE Voucher for our free family photo night, - FREE Movies on the beach Wednesdays on 118th st - FREE Family movie night at the Carousel - FREE Live entertainment on Carousel Back patio everyday in the Summer from 2 - 6pm - 10% discounted dining at The Carousel.

Thanks again for being our guest in beautiful Ocean City MD!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I traveled to Ocean City Maryland with my husband and our 4 boys on 4th of July. This was the first time we stood at this hotel - we wanted to stay at a better hotel and my expectations were high....Definitely not worth the money. You do not get what you pay for - they should not ask for the prices that they do. The rooms are outdated, the mattress was uncomfortable, the carpet was stained and dirty, there were no safe to store your personal items, and there was only 2 outlets in the whole entire room. The staff was not friendly at all - not kid friendly!! Staff would not even smile. Breakfast was horrible, pancakes were cold and taste like frozen microwaveable pancakes. I asked housekeeping where was the laundry room and they told me they didn't know - Housekeeping was also not friendly. When I checked out I was not asked how was my stay. I would not consider this hotel ever again.

Room Tip: Definitely not worth the money - find another hotel - Not Friendly at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JASMINIVETTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing the Carousel Hotel for your family's beach vacation. We are constantly renovating the hotel rooms and amenities every year. This past year we renovated all the Oceanfront rooms, added a new hot tub to the indoor pool, added new carpet to the entire atrium area, upgraded Family Photo Night, replaced all the sliding glass doors and balcony store fronts to the condos and upgraded our restaurant and management. We are working hard every year to make this your favorite beachfront hotel in beautiful Ocean City, Maryland! Thanks again for being our guest, we hope to earn your business once more in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you like outdated rooms and dirty bathroom then this place is for you!!! The hotel NEEDS to be renovated period!!!! They will never have to worry about my family and I staying here again. They should not ask for the prices they do its truly not worth it....

Room Tip: The best tip is find another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks for your review and thank you for being our guest! The Carousel executives have re invested millions of dollars into renovations of the rooms, the property and the amenities. We recently installed new carpet in the atrium and surrounding the Ice Rink, overhauled the restaurant menu, added a new hot tub to the indoor pool, and added new railings and sliding glass doors to every condominium. The Carousel boasts the most amenities in Ocean City including: Nightly Ice Shows, Indoor & Outdoor Pools, Oceanfront Restaurant, Hot Tub, Sauna, Fitness Center, Game Room, Patio Bar and Grill, Tropical Lawn, Live Entertainment, Bamboo Lounge, Free Family Photo Night, Theme Nights, Camp Carousel and Movies On The Beach.

Thanks again for your review, we hope your next stay to beautiful Ocean City exceeds expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is the second year in a row we've stayed at the Carousel and my family and I love it! Rooms could use a little updating, but we were only in the room for sleeping. Lots to do here, perfect for families with kids. When it rained, there was plenty to do at the resort. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Am seriously considering buying a condo here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your review! We are thrilled that you decided to come back a second year and start a family tradition. Here at the Carousel we offer exceptional service and boast the most amenities in Ocean City, MD. We work hard to update and beautify this historic hotel and are always making great renovations. We hope you decide to get one of our great oceanfront Condo's, all of which have just been given a face lift with new storefronts and sliding glass doors! Thanks again for being our guest in Ocean City, MD!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We rented a 2 bedroom condo for a week. The room was disgusting and outdated. The pots in the kitchen had dried food on them, the drawers were falling off, the couchs were so dirty we covered them with sheets to sit down. As I showered with my flipflops on because of the gross bathtub I decided to complain to the mananger. We were moved to a much nicer room without any hassle, but the first room was so dirty it was hard to enjoy the resort at all. The housekeeping staff really needs some training or accountability. The security guard came to help us move and was wonderful as well as the condo mgr Pat, but they should not even rent room 1204 out until it is remodeled and cleaned.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks for your review. We do apologize that your stay was less than exceptional. There are no excuses for the drawers, the pots or couch, which is why we upgraded your stay and moved your luggage with a smile. We will be visiting these issues during our next meeting and the issues have been noted and will be addressed. We hope you had a chance to experience all we have to offer including live ice shows, theme nights, family photo night, movies on the beach, our 3 pools, outdoor patio bar and grill, oceanfront restaurant, ice rink, game room, sauna, spa, fitness center, great views, tropical lawn, complimentary beach chairs, moon bounce/pirate ship/ camp carousel for the kids and family movie nights!
Thanks again for your review, we do hope to see you again here at The Carousel in beautiful Ocean City, Maryland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's a nice stay, but average. The Carousel used to be a top notch hotel in its day, just starting to show its age. It's a good, average hotel, no "wow factor" left. Needs updating to the rooms and lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FAJA424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your review! Here at the Carousel we work hard to maintain and upgrade our hotel and amenities every year. This past year we renovated all the Oceanfront rooms, added a new hot tub to the indoor pool, added new carpet to the entire atrium area, upgraded Family Photo Night, replaced all the sliding glass doors and balcony store fronts to the condos and upgraded our restaurant and management. We are working hard every year to make this your favorite beachfront hotel in beautiful Ocean City, Maryland! Thanks again for being our guest, we cannot wait to have you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
888 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#16 of 104 in Ocean City
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#72 of 104 in Ocean City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
326 reviews
4.9 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#57 of 104 in Ocean City
321 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $64 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing