We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family just stayed there for five days. The rates were wonderful, our room overlooked the ice skating rink and was very spacious with a great balcony. We loved ice skating and my kids loved the pools, both inside and outdoor. Staff was working around the clock to keep the hotel in top shape and you could really tell. It was very clean and everyone was very, very friendly. We won't be staying anywhere else from now on. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for choosing the Carousel as your beach vacation accommodations! We hope you had a chance to experience all we have to offer including live ice shows, theme nights, family photo night, movies on the beach, our 3 pools, outdoor patio bar and grill, oceanfront restaurant, ice rink, game room, sauna, spa, fitness center, great views, tropical lawn, complimentary beach chairs, moon bounce/pirate ship/ camp carousel for the kids and family movie nights! We will be sure to keep up the good work and cannot wait to have you once more in beautiful uptown Ocean City!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

833 - 839 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in Rehobeth for the last 7 years and thought we would try something different since the hotel we stayed in doubled in price. I read the reviews on TripAdvisor and there were a lot of good ones and other people complained about the hotel so we didn't know what to expect.
We were totally pleased with our stay, from the time we checked in until the time we checked out.
We had a room that faced the bay on the 3rd floor. We could hear people around us in their rooms, but it wasn't anything obnoxious. The rooms were clean and spacious. The airconditioning was able to keep up in our room when the temp. was in the high 80's low 90's. I checked to see if the hair dryer worked since I didn't bring one, and it must have been dropped by someone because it was cracked and it didn't work. I called the front desk and within 5 minutes they came and replaced the hair dryer. We came back from the beach on our 3rd day and our bathroom light was flickering and within 5 minutes they were there and replaced the light bulb. The maid service was prompt and did a good job on the rooms. I left a bowl in the sink to soak and they maid service had it cleaned along with our coffee cups and laying to dry. It was nice to come back to after the beach. I thought the mattresses were comfortable. I'm use to a pillow top, but they were still good not being made that way. I spoke with another family that was staying there and they said their daughter had an accident on the bed and they came and replaced the whole mattress. Nice to hear!
The food and drinks were good in the restaurant. The wait staff were friendly and accomodating. I didn't feel the food was unreasonabley priced. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the special meals they served at night looked good too. The pool side bar was great with the live music and both pools were great for the kids.
The ice show was nice, and so was the ability for the kids to ice skate at different times. The cost for skating and rental was $18.00 for 3 of us. We bought a palm tree drink at the Bistro for $7.00, and they could be refilled with slushies for $3.00. The movie on the beach was also fun along with having the bounce house and the pirate ship for the kids to play on.
There is a grocery store across the street and a little mall a block down called the Gold Coast Mall along with the Green Turtle. The mall had some nice little shops in it along with the Candy Kitchen. There was also a movie theatre close by too. So there was a nice variety of things around us if the weather would have been bad.
We will look forward to coming here again and possibly staying oceanside in a condominium.

Room Tip: Ask for bayside if you don't want to pay the price for oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for the excellent review! Our skilled professional staff works hard so that you can relax and enjoy your beach vacation. We proudly boast the most amenities in Ocean City and keep offering more to our guests every year! We hope you had a chance to experience all we have to offer including live ice shows, theme nights, family photo night, movies on the beach, our 3 pools, outdoor patio bar and grill, oceanfront restaurant, ice rink, game room, sauna, spa, fitness center, great views, tropical lawn, complimentary beach chairs, moon bounce/pirate ship/ camp carousel for the kids and family movie nights!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for a military family retreat with my 3 boys in May. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I considered canceling, but the kids were already excited about going to Ocean City, so we took the plunge. I am so glad that I did not actually have to pay for that room!! As other reviewers have said, the place is totally dirty and outdated. Our room was pretty big, but it kind of smelled bad. It was an "ocean view" even though most of our "view" consisted of the tops of the air conditioning units from the level below us. If you looked over and between the air conditioners, and ignored their noise, you could sort of see and hear the ocean. The Atrium and ice rink are kind of grey and depressing. Guests walking around with open beer bottles in the lobby and hauling cases of cheap beer up to their rooms didn't make it any better. The indoor pool was crowded and dirty when we were there. Yes, the staff was friendly and the hotel is right on the ocean, but that doesn't exactly make up for the dingy-ness of the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a condo and were completely disgusted! Our condo was completely filthy! I was horrified at how dirty this condo was, the carpets were black, their was mold in the bathroom, the walls were disgustingly dirty. The mirror on the in the main living area was broken, the fridge had missing pieces inside, the list goes on. There were code violations I'm certain of, broken outlets, missing cable box covers, broken radiators with sharp edges, a nightmare for parents if they have small children! Now, we did complain to the condo sales manger, Pat, who was very understanding and willing to help make the situation right. The bottom line is these rooms should be inspected after checkout and things should be taken care of right away. This particular condo needs to be gutted! Never again!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca8044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks for making the Carousel your family vacation accommodations! We do apologize for any inconvenience your particular condo may have caused you. Each one of our condos is cleaned and inspected in accordance with our 2013 adherence to conduct and product. Before the condo is turned over to the guest, it is inspected by 2 supervisors who are responsible for quality assurance. We are glad Pat was able to handle your issues, but do apologize that there were any issues. We hope you had a chance to experience all we have to offer including live ice shows, theme nights, family photo night, movies on the beach, our 3 pools, outdoor patio bar and grill, oceanfront restaurant, ice rink, game room, sauna, spa, fitness center, great views, tropical lawn, complimentary beach chairs, moon bounce/pirate ship/ camp carousel for the kids and family movie nights. We do offer exceptional accommodations and hope you allow us to earn your trust and business back in the upcoming seasons. Thanks again for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Years ago, my husband and I stayed in one of the jacuzzi suites and had a wonderful time. I was concerned with all the negative comments and reviews recently but booked a room anyway and was so glad I did. We booked an atrium room for ourselves and our little one. Miesha and Sarah at the front desk were very helpful, accomodating and super nice. We actually got into our room early. The room was very clean (I'm a clean freak and was impressed) and the balcony with oversized chairs was perfect to watch the ice show. The pools were great (we tried out all 3 of them) and were nicely stocked with towels. The outside grill/bar area was wonderful and the servers were excellant. According to our 4 year old, "This is the BEST ever!" It really was a wonderful time and we will definitely be going back. On a side note, my brother and his family had a condo the same week and were very pleased with everything as well.

Room Tip: Room 421 has a great view of the ice rink and is located close to the ice machine and elevators. Ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrookB118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for staying with us in beautiful Ocean City Maryland!! We hope you had a chance to experience all we have to offer including live ice shows, theme nights, family photo night, movies on the beach, our 3 pools, outdoor patio bar and grill, oceanfront restaurant, ice rink, game room, sauna, spa, fitness center, great views, tropical lawn, complimentary beach chairs, moon bounce/pirate ship/ camp carousel for the kids and family movie nights!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Bottom line- this hotel is dirty. The rooms were not clean- especially the bathroom. Light plate was dirty and the door to the bathroom was black from too many hands touching it. Could not use two "clean" towels because of black stains on them. The rug in the room was equally disgusting. The hotel itself was generally dirty- bathroom near the store was just filthy! And generally this place is outdated and not pleasing. Had to stay here because we were with a group event but will never stay here again. Food at the outdoor bar area was also not good. Chicken sandwich was overdone and tasteless.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank JK1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for being our guest and choosing the Carousel Oceanfront Hotel as your beach vacation accommodations. Every year we work hard to update our property to better accommodate our valued guests. This year we have added a new 17 person hot tub as well as new railings, inside and out, and new carpet in the atrium. Family photo night was also upgraded to include professional quality lighting kits, slr camera, props and a skilled professional crew. We hope you had a chance to experience all we have to offer including live ice shows, theme nights, family photo night, movies on the beach, our 3 pools, outdoor patio bar and grill, oceanfront restaurant, ice rink, game room, sauna, spa, fitness center, great views, tropical lawn, complimentary beach chairs, moon bounce/pirate ship/ camp carousel for the kids and family movie nights! Thanks so much for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend and one other friend, the room was clean, that's the only good thing I can say about it. Once we arrived, a ceiling tile fell on her head in the bathroom. Then later at night, we were accused by people that call themselves security, that we were throwing things off the balcony. After witch they came back and tried to sneak into the room by having a maid stand outside the door with a fan asking if we called for one, we didn't so we didn't open the door. Turns out security was standing next to her then they asked to come in, I asked why and they said we were under age and had to leave. Showed them our ID and they finally left us alone. Later the next day they laughed at us as we left. So Carousel lost all future business from me because of their poor maintenance and human resources.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing The Carousel as your oceanfront accommodations. We do apologize for any issues you may have had with the mis communication between our staff. We do reserve the right knock on the door and respond to noise violations as well as security violations. Our security staff only responds when guests complain. If a security staff member wanted to discuss a issue with a guest then they would approach the guest according to our protocol, and would absolutely not approach a guest in the manner in which you have described. The security supervisor and director of operations have reviewed the footage from our noise complaints from July 2012 and have concluded all security staff members have been compliant in accordance to our 2012 policy of code. We do apologize for any communication issues you may have had with our staff members and hope that you give us an opportunity to earn your business back. We hope you had a chance to experience all we have to offer including live ice shows, theme nights, family photo night, movies on the beach, our 3 pools, outdoor patio bar and grill, oceanfront restaurant, ice rink, game room, sauna, spa, fitness center, great views, tropical lawn, complimentary beach chairs, moon bounce/pirate ship/ camp carousel for the kids and family movie nights. Thanks again for being our guest, we hope to see you once more at our beautiful establishment in Ocean City, Maryland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
885 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#72 of 104 in Ocean City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#23 of 104 in Ocean City
879 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#37 of 104 in Ocean City
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $63 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing