We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great family Hotel”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here Thanksgiving 2012. Loved the skating rink for the grandchildren. We had and ocean view room which was very nice. Everyone on staff was very friendly. The food was great,and service was great as well. The only downfall was the cleaning staff always seemed to be in a hurry,and didn't clean well.(dirty old fingerprints on back of bathroom door) Keep in mind that this is and older hotel. Would we come back? Most likley YES!

Room Tip: Higher floors 3rd and 4th are a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks for your great review! We love to hear kind words from all those who had the opportunity to join us for their Thanksgiving holiday. We're sorry about the housecleaning issue, we would have been happy to address that for you if you would have brought it up with a member of our friendly staff. We are an older hotel, but we are always making renovations and improvements. Thanks again for being our guest, we look forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    308
    223
    146
    198
See reviews for
713
149
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We are here for Thanksgiving 2012. The place was very clean. The Thanksgiving buffet at the restaurant was a very good buy at $18.95. It included peal and eat jumbo shrimp and crab claws. The Ice-skating rink was full all weekend. The indoor pool and gym had people in them were used all weekend. The bar has a great happy hour with food. Plenty of parking and best of all is that there is plenty of security. Many hotels in OC have lax or no visible security. Same applies to OC condos.
There is a breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs, but you will do better to order off the menu.

Room Tip: Get as high up as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cstansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks for your great review! We have a full staff dedicated to maintaining our appearance and operations year round. We are glad you had a chance to join us for Thanksgiving, we put a lot of effort into making sure your holiday is one to remember. For the price, once really cannot find a better value in Ocean City, especially since we have the most amenities in town. Thanks again for joining us this Thanksgiving, we can't wait to have you again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Let me make this very clear. The check-in process in this hotel is a nightmare. We stood in line for over half an hour with only 8 people ahead of us. Beyond that, the stay was pretty good. The place is pretty big, it has an indoor pool, indoor ice rink, its own gift shop/convenience store, and an excellent outdoor bar. Beach access is easy. The view of the beach from our rooms were a little obscured by another part of the hotel, but for the price we paid it was fine. We had the front desk call our room on two occasions telling us to stop smoking on the balcony, which is odd because we don't smoke. I assume someone from outside counted floors incorrectly. The rooms were clean and were cleaned up thoroughly each day by staff. The hotel gave us several coupons for its own services, including free skating and skate rental on the rink, money off the gift shop, money off in their in-hotel restaurant (which was also very good), and several other coupons to be used on our trip. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Inquire whether or not you can see the beach or not, if you care. Half the rooms face the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing The Carousel for your Summer beach vacation. We're sorry your check in experience was less than pleasant, our front desk staff are very professional, quick and courteous. Checking in is usually a breeze %95 of the Summer. We're glad you had a chance to take advantage of our "Vacation Extras" by booking through our website - it looks as though you booked at the advanced purchase "Letter Rate" promo we have every Winter. Stay tuned for more incentives such as this one, book early and save big! Thanks again for being our guest and for the great review. We can't wait to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I came down here from NYC with a bus tour and stayed 2nights. Rooms were very comfortable and there is a bar/restaurant. What I really liked is the interior ice skating rink and the unique "walkers" they use for wobbly skaters. We saw an excellent ice show presented by the Dorothy Hamill school,super professional teens. Our hotel tour guide was the absolute best!!! She made the trip very special.

Room Tip: they have fridge for those who need to store perishables like insulin(in my case)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouLudyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your review! We work hard to make sure your stay is one to remember. Our Bamboo lounge always has great specials on food and drinks as well as a friendly staff on hand to serve you. Thanks again for choosing The Carousel, we cannot wait to have you again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The rooms of the hotel are clean and that's the best thing about this place. Thank goodness for good housrkeeping. The Carousel needs a complete makeover including painting and flooring.The carpets in the halls are very dirty. The housekeeping staff does their best to vacuum them even at night but vacuuming won't help old, dirty, smelly carpet. If you just want a basic motel like room, this is a clean place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ric214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear concerned guest, thanks for your review. We work hard to make sure our rooms are well kept and maintained. Our carpets in the hallway are maintained by our staff on a daily basis, several times a year they are completely shampoo'd and deep cleaned by a professional carpet cleaning company. We have not had any complaints about any odor in our halls, and if we had we would call in a cleaning company for a total deep clean. Thanks for the review, we look forward to having you again in beautiful Ocean City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had booked for Sunfest Friday and Saturday we looked at the weather and decided because the weather was great we desided to go down on Thursday and called them in-route they told us that the room we requested was not avaiable but they would move us the next day. We checked in early and went to Sunfest when we returned I spoke to the Desk Manager Patrick and he told us we would be moved by noon the next day and ask if we had AAA or AARP which we have and freely adjusted our rates. ( What a nice young gentleman)

Now we have read reviews about the Carousel and had choosen a Ocean Front room on the 4 th floor the room was spotless there was new furniture and a large flat screen TVs . Everyone of the staff was extreamly nice with maintance people openig up doors and always saying hello and have a nice day. Housekeeping was avaiable and if you required a extra coffee for the coffee maker it was delivered immediately. We had breakfast in thier restaurant which was affordable with a nice selection at the buffet they also have a happy hour with great specials on drinks.
This is my first review but I wish they had more dots. So I think I'll just add a cherry and whipped cream

Room Tip: The ocean front views from the 4th floor are wonderfull .GREAT SUNRISES AND SUNSETS
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank martha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks for your business and thanks for the great review! We pride ourselves on great customer service and customer appreciation. Our oceanfront rooms are some of the nicest accommodations in Ocean City. We have new(as of May 2012) beds, bed spreads, carpet, paint, curtains, granite, headboards, TV's and Drapes. Thanks again for the great review, we can't wait to have you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I just spent a Columbus Soccer Tournament weekend at the Carousel. Ocean City had a busy Columbus Day weekend so prices were $139 as part of a "special" group rate. Way too high for this place!

The rooms are a little dingy and in need of a remodeling. My son commented on the peeling wall paper and carpet.

We stayed on a second floor room with our balcony overlooking the skating rink.

The room was very noisy with the ice rink and sports bar so close. (We had a pre-5am wake up.... )

We ate in the hotel restaurant. The food was average to below average. I had a Chicken Caesar salad. The chicken was grilled, very dry and burnt on the edges. The dressing was below average for Caesar salads IMHO. We also had Chicken Alfredo. The chicken was again overcooked. The Alfredo sauce was had an odd funky flavor, like none I've ever tasted before. Barely edible, we threw away over half of it in spite of being rather hungry.

The room did not fare any better. The room was hot as they have a "two pipe system" which does not work well in the spring or fall. Our room was too hot and we had difficulty sleeping. The front desk told us to block open our front door and open the sliding glass door to cool the room. (Gotta love filling your room with that fresh hotel hallway air!) A second call got a a noisy, low powered box fan. With virtually no outlets, we had to place it next to the bathroom and sleep in a draft.

I woke up early and tried to use the coffee pot, but it was broken. They brought a replacement pretty quick... but not quick enough to allow me to enjoy a cup of coffee before leaving.

I was lucky to wake up early as the alarm clock did not work either! Fortunately, asked the front desk for a wake up call and a disaster was averted. Several others in our group mentioned that their alarm clock did not work either.

Saturday was hot for fall at 80 degrees and the AC was not working (in neutral they said)., but Sunday was cold and rainy. We played an 8 am soccer game and returned to the hotel to dry out for our 12:30 game. We hoped to check out around 11:30, so our players could dry out and warm up. I asked it we could move the checkout from 11 to 11:30. The front desk would not budge. They said they could not as they had 180 rooms to turn over by 4. The focus was entirely on their issues and not the customers'. They could easily hire more help. Also they are not going to start 180 rooms at the exact same moment; they could have started cleaning our room a few minutes later without disrupting their schedule at all. I guess they don't realize they are in the service industry.

So aside from a dingy room, bad hotel food, non-functional AC, a broken coffee pot, a broken alarm clock and inflexible check out time - the room was fine for a $69 per night property.

My recommendation: Stay somewhere else until this place wakes up and realizes that they're in a competitive service industry and a skating rink alone does not make the Carousel a compelling offering.

Room Tip: Avoid overlooking the ice rink
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TC201260811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear concerned customer, we're sorry your stay did not exceed expectations. We wish you would have brought the Alfredo issue to our attention, we would have been happy to provide you with something more to your liking. During the Fall and Spring we do keep our heating system in neutral and offer either a box fan or space heater if our customers prefer the the temperature warmer or cooler than 70. If you were unsatisfied with your room we would have been happy to move you to a different accommodation. We have many different room types in our hotel, finding something that would have been appropriate for you and your son would not have been a problem. We do apologize about the alarm clock, this has not been an issue in the past and we will be looking into a solution to this problem.

The rate quoted for your group was the best we had to offer, holiday weekends are historically more expensive considering the demand is much higher. Currently, our rate is a modest $69 for the non oceanfront rooms and the weather is absolutely gorgeous.

If you would prefer an Oceanfront room, we have some of the nicest accommodations in Ocean City with new beds, bed spreads, drapes, carpet, TV, granite, paint and headboards. Additionally, when you book a room at the Carousel you are paying for the entire experience. Our rate is higher in the Summer considering we have more amenities open, but in the Winter we still have our ice rink, tennis courts, hot tub, sauna, indoor pool, fitness center, game room and gift shop open. We boast the most amenities in Ocean City and charge a competitive rate lower than most hotels our size(with less amenities). Thank you for being our guest, we hope your next visit to beautiful Ocean City exceeds expectations. PS: we have 3 hotels with rooms at different price points, certainly we can comfortably accommodate you and your family at any budget or expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
4.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
5.9 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing