We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #36 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I had booked a 5 night stay at the sister hotel Coastal Palms a couple blocks away. We decided to go a day early and grab a room somewhere. Unfortunately it was difficult to find a room, and the only one we were able to locate was a pricey patio room. Our ocean facing room had a patio that was basically running into the outdoor restaurant. This caused us to close our curtain and not enjoy the view at all. The cost was a few dollars shy of the total of the five nights stay at the Coastal Palms and the room was almost the same except our Coastal Palms room had a view we could enjoy.
The hotel was nice and clean with a good onsite restaurant and indoor ice-skating rink that I am sure make the room cost go up, but since you can still use the amenities by staying at the other location, I don't know why anyone would stay at the Carousel.
The restaurant did have a good dinner and breakfast buffet. Checkin and checkout were easy. Parking was no problem

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear valued customer, thank you for being our guest, and thank you for the review. The patio rooms at the Carousel are more expensive due to having new beds, bed spreads, carpet, tv's, paint, drapes, granite and furniture. These rooms are considered Ocean Patio and do not boast the same view as our Oceanfront rooms, but do offer the same furnishings and quality. Many of our customers appreciate the patio location since they have such a great proximity to our outdoor amenities. The Coastal Palms property is a great deal with nice rooms but is only an Oceanblock property whereas The Carousel is a direct oceanfront location. Although Coastal Palms guests are permitted to use many of the Carousel amenities, they are not permitted to use the indoor/outdoor pools, spa, saunas or fitness center. Thanks again for being our guest, we hope to have you as our guest again with one of the Carousel Group properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    311
    225
    146
    199
See reviews for
719
150
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our group of seven stayed at the hotel from August 17 - 20 with very satisfactory results. The rooms were clean, and the staff went out of their way to help with any issues that arose during our stay. I used the indoor pool to exercise and found it to be clean and well maintained. Management took appropriate action when we had a problem with a noisy neighbor. Housekeeping even assisted us in helping move our luggage. The children in our party had a great time at the ice rink, both skating and watching the shows. We were very pleased with the hotel and would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 501 which had a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review of our hotel! We try hard to make sure you experience the vacation you deserve. We proudly offer the most amenities in Ocean City and boast to be Ocean City's favorite family resort! Thanks again for choosing The Carousel as your family vacation destination, thank you again for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A group of about 10 friends and I stayed in a condo in this hotel. The condo (1202 i think it was.) that I guess is owned by other people and not the hotel itself, was really nice. It was clean, the bathrooms and kitchen were very nice. No problems there. The beds were clean, no bed bugs or anything nasty underneath the beds. It had just been updated so it was a truly nice, taken care of condo. A little loud, but that was because of all the loud obnoxious teenagers that were there. I can't see how that would be the hotels fault. I was afraid, after reading reviews that it was going to be gross, smelly, and dirty. But it was not. Over all it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kait C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review! If you booked through the Carousel, the condo was definitely in our rental program. We hold a higher standard than most rental programs and encourage guests to make reservations through the hotel itself. We are glad you found your stay enjoyable! Thanks again for choosing the Carousel, we can't wait to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed there Halloween weekend, it was AWFUL. The first issue was that the ceiling in our room started leaking so
we had to be moved. We were
moved into the atrium...loud, loud
loud. Aside from the fact that the music stays on late in the ice rink there was a large group of blind people staying at the hotel at the time for a convention. Once their convention let out they stood around the atrium talking loudly for over an hour, the staff did absolutely nothing to
move them along even though it was nearly midnight. I do understand that it was the off season and they needed to
cater to the convention guests but some
consideration should be given to
other hotel guests too. Maybe they should better plan on putting convention guests in the rooms adjacent the atrium
so it is less disruptive to everyone. I also
noticed while sitting in the cafe area that one of the blind hotel guests was asking for assistance to place an order and the woman working the counter was pretending not to hear. They were not standing in front of her but a few feet away, she was waiting on no one and the blind hotel guest was practically screaming so there is no way she didn't hear. She chose to ignore a handicapped hotel guest. Absolutely disgusting.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear concerned guest, were sorry you had a less than excellent stay at our hotel last October of 2011. We are a little perplexed as to why you chose to review the hotel nearly 11 months after your check out. We would have been happy to move your room if you were dissatisfied with the convention of the blind which we had in house that weekend. We absolutely want all of our guests to feel right at home and enjoy their stay as much as they deserve. We bend over backwards to ensure our guests are well taken care of and provide excellent service with a smile. We have some of the best staff members working in hospitality in Ocean City Maryland. Were sorry for the mis-understanding, but, none of our staff members would have acted in the manner which you explained in your review. Thanks for being our guest, we hope you enjoy your next stay in beautiful Ocean City MD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our second year staying at the Carousel. The first year we rented from a private owner on the 22nd floor. The floors were sandy, dirty, and the place smelled bad. We complained to the realtor, and we were told someone would come to re-clean the place. No one did. This year we decided to rent directly from the Carousel. Room 1402 to be exact. The Carousel promotes itself as a non-smoking property, but they sell cigarettes in the gift shop. There are non-smoking signs posted informing you of this policy (which includes no smoking on the balcony); however, it is not enforced. The room smelled terrible. Smoke came in through the vents, and from the balcony. The carpets were flithy and very stained. The mattresses were horrible with divets in the center, and the pillows were lumpy and hard. The garbage disposal smelled like someone had thrown cigarettes down them. You could not stand near the sink. Some members of my family, including me, have Asthma. We complained about the smoke problem, and were told they would send security to the above floors to remind them not to smoke. However, the smoking problem was not resolved. They gave us an air cleaner, but it could not be used while we were in the room as it emits Ozone, which is not good for Asthmatics. Who wants to return to a room filled with Ozone anyway? Needless-to-say we had to deal with respiratory problems the whole week. WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n2dancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear concerned guest, we are sorry your stay was less than excellent. The Carousel is a non smoking building and we do enforce a $250 cleaning fee if one is found smoking in their unit. There are rare occasions, such as yours, where we cannot pin point the smoking perpetrators and cannot remedy the problem completely. Our air ionizer is a great unit which resolves any odor issues but unfortunately, in some cases, emit a minute amount of ozone which can irregularly effect ones Asthma. If we had known about the plows or mattress we would have been happy to attend to the problem. Were sorry you had a less than excellent stay with us, we hope your next trip to beautiful Ocean City MD exceeds expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family and I just returned from the Carousel for a week's stay. This was our first stay and the children had a great time.

PROS:
* Excellent location - beachfront property.
* Staff are courteous and polite, except for one icey front desk clerk (with red, straight hair).
* Lots of amenities - FREE parking, two beach rentals, WiFi, family pictures, movies (outdoor/indoor).

CONS:
* Outdated. In DIRE need of a renovation - stuck in the 80s!
* Elevators are very slow and small.
* Ice skating is pricey. At check in, the package stated it was $4 but we were charged $6 the entire stay. When I inquired with the Front Desk, she stated it was due to the "rentals'. Well... yeah. You need "ice skates" to go "ice skating". In addition, the rink lack supervision - unruly young skaters are racing, some inexperienced going the wrong way, or hanging out chatting.
* Maid service is spotty. Some days were good, while the last few days, the coffee service wasn't replenished (no coffee, no sugar/creamer, and no mugs). Microwave was left filthy.
* Outdoor pool is TINY, the same size as a residential pool. Indoor pool was dirty, bordered by puddles. Again, there is no supervision with unruly kids, swimmers not rinsing sand off, etc..
* Seasons Restaurant - service was SLOW and food was mediocre at best!

TIPS:
* If you are on a lower floor, take the elevator if you don't have luggages.
* There is a Food Lion, Burger King, Dunkin Donuts, and a pizza place across the street.
* Get to the beach early (before 11AM) to get a good spot.

Room Tip: Avoid "city view" = parking lot view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear valued guest, thank you so much for choosing the Carousel as your family vacation destination! We do pride ourselves on having the most amenities in Ocean City MD. We do apologize about the mis-communication on the price of skating, no where do we advertise the "package" as $4, unless you have brought your own skates. Our pool is comparable to that of other hotels/condominiums our size. We do have 3 pools and a hot tub, our indoor pool being the largest. Were sorry that your stay in Ocean City did not exceed expectations, we truly do hope you choose to visit Beautiful Ocean City for your next Vacation Getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We just spent a week in a hotel condo ...Good and bad,,,will not return

Parking staff was very well organized upon arrival. Parking was never an issue the whole week.

Check in was great and before 4pm

AC was very loud inside the condo. Called and repair man came within 30 minutes to fix. He also got us light bulbs as 2 were burned out. Informed us the wall switches do not work and we needed to use switches on lamps.

As the week went on we noticed things that told us how aged this hotel/condos are...I made a decision that if we could live with it,,I was not going to make a stink..but all along deciding never again.

Place is LOADED with kids that have No manners and invisable parents...we are an adult family.

AC unit outside condo was very very loud and hot
Toaster would only toast x1 and then had to rest 10 minutes...circa 1970's
Condo had greasey dust on all doors and laundrey room area behind appliances was filthy.Mini blinds were caked....
Hair dryers are the kind that are on the wall..but they are not on the wall..but a have the wall unit attached.
8 sets of towels....we are average size,,,towels were small...bringyour own
Soap and shampoo were out by day 3...bring your own
Kitchen was poorly stocked,,,,mix and match ..circa 1980"s dishes,pots...no bowls
Furniture is old and beat up,,,springs were broken on cushions...
Extra pillows ...no pilllow cases...beds were average,,,linens gray in color.
Carpet in commons areas old and dirty
Exit to to beach smelled terrible outside of skating rink....like wetness....very hot
Standing water where you rinse feet off,,,people just all walk in it....
Indoor pool and hot tube dirty..
Beach bathroom not useable..doors with out looks..paper towels empty Circa 1960's
Toilet seat in room showed wear away with black spots

The beach chairs were great and the staff working there were always happy....
The grill and bar was good,,and dispite no site of management this group of staff worked as a TEAM....
View from condo was wonderful....

Despite all these things we had great weather and used the condo as a place to sleep and eat breakfast..no toast..enjoyed the beach to the right of the property..which was more adults and less trash talk...

We have decided we need a nicer,newer,cleaner more adult condo

Namaste

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellnobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear valued guest, thanks for your review and thank you for choosing The Carousel. The Carousel is indeed a popular family destination(very kid friendly), we do own a hotel on 45th st. (The Atlantic Oceanfront Inn) which is more contemporary which caters to adults and couples. We do have a professional cleaning crew who pays close attention to detail on every condo we rent out through our association. It seems as though a lot of these problems should have been addressed prior to your check in, it may be possible that the condominium was not booked through our Condo Association(directly with the Carousel - possibly with Caldwell Banker or a third party organization). Please call our condominium office and surely we can accommodate you in a unit that is right for you.

We truly do want to EARN back your business and prove that we do value you as a customer and want to accommodate you as our guest. Thank you for choosing the Carousel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
844 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
850 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
2,057 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing