We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Families and Couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I practically grew up at the Carousel since my parents owned a condo during my teen years and we used it year round. I have fond memories of spending time with family and friends at the beach,tennis court, indoor pool, arcade and ice rink. Over time, my parents sold their condo, the hotel changed hands a couple of times and I have been bringing my own family to the newly renovated hotel. I am excited about all the new amenities that make the hotel even more family friendly such as an outdoor pool, kiddie camp, family movies, nightly ice skating shows, and live entertainment. Hotel guests also get a free family photo and the use of free beach chairs. For these reasons and more, the Carousel has always been our first choice for a family vacation. So when my husband and I decided to plan a vacation without the kids this summer, I wasn't entirely sure this was the right place for a couple's weekend until we checked into our hotel room. We sprung for an oceanfront room overlooking the patio after learning about recent renovations to this section of the hotel. The Bamboo Lounge and palm trees outside our window made us feel like we were back in Hawaii where we spent our honeymoon many years ago. The hotel room was very clean, spacious, and beautifully furnished. The kitchennete and bathrooms had beautiful granite countertops and I was pleasantly surprised to find a large, flat screen TV with HD in our room. We were especially excited to have a king size bed with plenty of pillows and a very comfortable mattress. During our stay, the hotel was very busy with families on vacation but we found it easy to enjoy our time as a couple. The best part of the vacation was feeling relaxed, entertained and comfortable at the hotel. Practically everything we needed for a memorable vacation was either onsite or within walking distance from the hotel. The only downside to this vacation was having to remember to tone down the excitement in our voices while sharing the details of our day with our kids during phone calls home. We didn't want them to feel too bad about everything they were missing out on!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review! We encounter a lot of guests who have very fond memories of childhood family vacations at the Carousel and we try and make sure the same experience is available to our guests and their children! We make many improvements every year and its exciting to know our guests truly appreciate all our hard work.

You are correct, we have recently renovated everything in our Oceanfront rooms including all the furniture, drapery, bed spreads, beds, carpet, flat screen TV's and granite. Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was my 3rd year in a row staying at the Carousel and I couldn't be happier. We arrived at 2:45pm and our room was ready, as were all the other that were checking in. The front desk was very helpful and polite. The staff is always holding doors and helping in anyway they can.I never been to a hotel where they are constantly cleaning. Every minute somebody was cleaning the glass or vaccuming. I love when people complain about sand...hello your in Ocean City! Yes, the 2 pools may have been sandy by the end of the day but they were crystal clean in the morning! Nothing was nicer than enjoying a drink in the pool, which is allowed as long as it isn't glass. The outdoor bar and grille are amazing! We did encounter one minor issue that was resolved by the manger, Chris, right away. He couldn't have been more accomadating or nicer, offering us a free breakfast for our inconvience. I am counting down the days to next summer! In fact, I am so anxious to get back to the Carousel that I am planning a fall trip!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FHM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review! We work hard to make sure our facilities are clean and your experience is one to remember. We can't wait to have you as our guest again in the Fall!

Thanks again for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed mid June this year... Hotel is nice - full of kids running around without parents. Ice skating rink is cute. Food prices outdoors are quite expensive... We would have had not much to complain about until we were charged $200 for a room damage charge that they could not prove, I have called numerous times left my number and no response from anyone. My advise is to watch your card charges and take pics of the room before you leave.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StellaGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear valued customer, thanks for being our guest this Summer! We are not sure which room you stayed in, or what incident caused us to charge you for room damages. We have only had a few rooms this season which we had to keep the security deposit(mostly senior week students whom had just graduated). We do not keep the security deposit unless we need to do serious cleaning, call in a carpet cleaning company, or find damages which had not been there before the stay. Please give us a call and try to resolve any conflict you may have. We do have staff ready to take your call 24 hours a day. Most of the managers who work in accounting and condo services work normal business hours 8-5pm.

Thanks again for being our guest, we hope you choose to stay with us next time for your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Carousel last week (july 2012) and it had some positives as well as negatives. First, the hotel is family friendly and the front desk was helpful. The internet connectivity was difficult at first, but resolved in time. Our room overlooked the ice skating rink, which was very noisy, Had a very bad first night and could not sleep. The bed left a little to be desired, particularly the bedding & pillows. We asked to be moved to another room due to the noise, which improved our quality of sleep. Some positives were free beach chair rentals and easy access to the beach. Overall, the hotel needed a good cleaning, including the outside bar area, which actually had a very bad smell. The price was high for the quality but we still had a very nice time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bernadettePittsburfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear valued customer, thanks so much for being our guest! Our internet does require an access code which can be retrieved via front desk. Our Atrium rooms can be a bit noisy during the day, but many people prefer them to our other non oceanfront rooms since they offer great views of the Ice Show and Ice Rink. We do pressure wash the outside patio area every night to ensure optimum cleanliness and sanitation.

We're glad you took advantage of the free beach chair rental and hope you had a chance to redeem your free family photo voucher as well! Thank you for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Carousel Hotel (starting July 14) in the “deluxe standard” room, which faced the bay. This was our first time in Ocean City and after much research on choosing a hotel that would be in a good location and have the necessary amenities; we believe we made a very good choice. All employees were pleasant and made us feel welcome. We did not have to cross any busy highway to get to the beach, very lovely and picturesque landscaping, a restaurant on the premises and snack bar. Although we did not have any young children with us, this is definitely a family hotel with many fun kid activities.

Other positive aspects of this hotel is that staff members were on hand to help with luggage, hold doors open and answer questions. The complimentary beach chairs were a plus, the fitness center was better equipped than we anticipated and the free family portrait night was an extra bonus. There was also an ice rink, which we did not use, but enjoyed watching others skate and admired the free nightly ice shows. Another advantage to this hotel is that there is plenty of parking including a garage next door which we used, keeping our car out of the hot sun.

The only issue we had was that our ceiling was dripping water that we discovered on our first morning. The front desk had maintenance check it out and they believed it was due to a faulty air-conditioning unit above our room, and it was determined that we could move into a different room as soon as one became available that morning. The situation was handled in a professional matter and we were promptly accommodated. Other posts have complained about the elevator wait after check in; we suggest just being patient as this situation is to be expected when there are many guests all with the same idea…to unload and get to the beach.

If you prefer a hotel that’s away from the noise of the boardwalk, this is a great location. A bus stop is across the street that makes plenty of stops along Coastal Highway and down to the boardwalk if you are in need of transportation.

Yes, we would stay at this hotel in the future. Keep in mind this is an older hotel, but well maintained, the staff is always cleaning all areas of the hotel and our room appeared to be renovated.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissMaria927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for the positive review! We work hard to make sure you have the experience you deserve. Were glad you enjoyed family photo night, that is one of our proud new additions to the free amenity package we offer! Its our way of saying "thank you" for being our guest!

We're sorry you had an issue with one of our rooms and thank you for your patience. It is great to hear it was handled in a courteous, professional manner.

Thanks for all the great tips, and thank you for being our guest! We look forward to having you at The Carousel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We booked the hotel because the website made it seem like it was a family oriented hotel.We arrived late with our three children and after I checked in and began to unpack a large crowd of college aged kids arrived, ( must have just left the bar ) and we were approached by one guy who had no problem asking if our cooler was filled with beer. Then he went in the hotel. I went right in and asked for my money back and we stayed at the Hampton. I felt that the website did not show you an accuracte description of the hotel. Will never go again!

Room Tip: The Hampton Inn and Suites is a very nice hotel! Very clean, friendly staff. Love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beldan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear concerned customer, our main clientele is families, because our hotel offers more family activities than any other hotel in Ocean City. Were sorry your first impression wasn't as positive as it could have been due to a college aged individual asking about the contents of your cooler.

Our hotel offers more family oriented amenities than any other resort in Ocean City. Just to name a few of our features, we offer, free family photo nights, movies on the beach, free ice shows, theme nights on our patio and camp carousel for the kids. Additionally, our hotel has a moon bounce, pirates ship, three pools, hot tub, sauna, game room, bistro, lounge, oceanfront restaurant, back patio with live entertainment every night and tennis courts.

We hope your next trip to beautiful Ocean City exceeds expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Carousel this past weekend and it was very average. Check in was quick! The elevators are very slow! We chose this hotel because we were traveling with our kids and this trip was all about them! I will say that it was a perfect stop for children, because it was very kid friendly!

The room was old and needs alot of work, like I even think the mirror was hung upside down. Very nice new TV's in the room though!

My 3 year old son, enjoyed all the little rides and the carousel. The breakfast was beyond mediocre. The bar and grill on the outside, the servers were very slow, but polite once they too your order. The beach front was nice, the pools were nice, just small. Overall it was just a really average hotel that was just a place to rest your head for 2 nights with your kids. I would not return because for $379.00 per night plus tax, I could stay in a 4 star hotel in Hawaii (which I have)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janelleandjamescash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear valued customer, were sorry you felt the hotel to be average. Although were not positive which room you stayed in, it had to have been an Oceanfront Suite for the 379 rate. In fact those rooms have been completely re modeled with new beds, carpet, TV's, digital cable, drapes, and granite counter tops.

Stay tuned this February/March when we run our biggest promotion of the year. You will get the best rate and wont end up paying 379 a night! Thanks for being our guest, we truly do hope you choose The Carousel for your next exciting family vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
888 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#19 of 104 in Ocean City
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#72 of 104 in Ocean City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
326 reviews
4.9 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#58 of 104 in Ocean City
321 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $63 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing