We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great week”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunes Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunes Court
Ranked #48 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
York, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a great week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Like the other reviewers have said, this isn't a posh place. We felt it was as clean as could be for an older room. We didn't care about the older TV or the fact that housekeeping doesn't do dishes. I described it to friends as a small motel/condo because having a full size refrigerator, stove, microwave and toaster really helped keep the cost of meals down. The dishes and cookware in the unit were in good shape but there was no microwave cookware or oven roasting pan. Something I'll keep in mind next time.
We wanted a place on the boardwalk so our teenage granddaughters could go to the pier by themselves. We also wanted to be able to park our car and leave it. The location was great for that and I won't repeat the other reviewers descriptions.
One of the features that attracted me when looking for such a place was the partition between the sofa bed and 2 double beds (which were quite comfortable) by the way. The girls had something like a "private" bedroom to change in and didn't feel like they were sleeping next to their grandpa.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean front efficiency, 4th floor, a perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mejamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    125
    51
    17
    13
See reviews for
137
85
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

In previous years, we have stayed at the Dunes Motel with grandchildren. This year, it was my husband and I only. We stayed in an ocean front efficiency. Yes, this motel is an older one, but it was spotlessly clean. Yes, it has the old style TV, but so what. Yes, the bathroom is smallish, but very adequate. The towels were clean and always plenty of them (they also were not thin as someone previously stated). We ate breakfast in the room and made lunches for the beach. The room has no musty smells or smoking smells. We were very near the elevator, but really didn't hear anything at night. There was a light bulb out in the bathroom we when arrived and the maintenance man replaced it promptly. I noticed a lot of people working around the property, sweeping, cleaning glass doors, watering plants, etc. For an oceanfront room, this one fits the bill for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank athruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Dunes Motel in an oceanfront efficiency. We were initially a little bit put off by the "no frills" feeling about the place. Then we came to our senses and realized that we don't go on vacation to hang out in an opulent hotel room the whole time! This motel delivered on what we felt was important: cleanliness, price, and location. The efficiencies were clean and had basic pots, pans, ,utensils, plates and glasses. The coffee pot and toaster worked as did the stove and oven. Not fancy, but fine. I would like to see guest frills like shampoo and lotion, but again, not important. The location is awesome and you can easily access the boardwalk but don't have the noise and craziness that comes along with the boardwalk. The ocean view from our balcony was beautiful . The small pool in front of the office was clean and well kept. Housekeeping was prompt and considerate of the children's habits. I was floored that our room was nearly $300 per night, but, for that

close to the boardwalk, fancier places were at least
$100 more. A perk is that you can go next door to the more luxurious sister hotel to use the indoor pool. The bottom line is that we will be staying here again because it is a clean efficiency for a fair price in a good location. We don't do much but sleep and eat there anyway!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shudson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizbeth PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are frequent visitors to Ocean City, MD and stay in a property near the end of the Boardwalk that has kitchen facilities. We've stayed at several others, and the Dunes Manor Motel was by far the best. It is associated with the Dunes Hotel (same phone no for reservations) but one block closer to downtown. We stayed in a 5 story building, all ocean front efficiencies with private balconies. The end of the Boardwalk was just to the right of the property. You couldn't ask for a better location to meet our needs. The beds were comfortable, there was always adequate parking available, and the unit was clean. It was a little outdated, but much better condition (no musty or smoking smells) than other nearby properties. I wish we had discovered this place years ago!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulswifeElizabethPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

For the last 9 years we have stayed at the dunes manor the sister hotel to the dunes motel. However this year we thought might be nice to stay in the 2 room efficiency patio with our 3 young children. Well when we entered the room I was VERY DISAPPOINTED TO SAY THE LEAST. There were 2 double beds jammed into a room that barely fit one. 3 lamps none of which worked off the switch and old metal table they were passing off as a night stand, a dresses and 2 chairs which I think may have been from the dunes hotel since it has been remodeled. Way too small for so much junk. Our kitchen area was a joke...one very old and dated stove, nasty beat up cabinets and no counter space at all. To open the sleeper sofa we had to move the chairs from the table to make room. This room is so much smaller than the regular efficiency. My in-laws were in one so can state that with accuracy. The patio area was very nice especially with the kids as they could play and we could still enjoy the sun but they couldn't escape!
Also to our disappointment both the hotel and motel closed their kiddie pools...am employee told us they state wanted them to make changes that were very expensive and it wasn't possible to keep them. Seriously disappointed again.
We will definitely be going back to the dunes hotel next year... I guess you get what you pay for and pictures can be very very deceiving.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

When we walked in to our 3rd floor oceanfront efficiency our 1st impression was that it was clean. However after looking closer it became obvious that it hadn't been "thoroughly cleaned" in a long time. The corners of the windows were so dirty you could not see through the glass, there was black mildew behind the kitchen & bathroom sink, shower head and tub fixtures, the dishes were not clean (looked as if they were barely rinsed & placed back in the cupboard). The 1st day the maid never came to our room, we had to "flag" her down the next days of our stay. Even when she did "clean" she only ran the sweeper & made the beds. The tv's are outdated & our remote did not work. They do not provide any toiletries other than soap. They also don't provide filters for the coffee maker in the room, you may carry your pot to the office, fill it up & carry the scalding hot pot of coffee back to your room though. The bed was hard as a rock! It was difficult to sleep on to say the least. I woke up everyday with my back hurting. The entire property is smoke free, if they catch you smoking even outside they charge you an additional fee of $250. Read the rental agreement carefully, there are a lot of things that you are not allowed to do or you will be charged the additional $250. For example you are not allowed to get a henna tattoo, they may stain the sheets. The location is the best thing about this place. Even though guests have access to the dunes manor hotel property it seemed to be a pain in the behind to walk 2 hotels over to it. It would be perfect for the younger crowd, not for families with small children. At $175 (tax included) a night I didn't expect 5 star but I did expect a little more bang for my buck. Perhaps some shampoo & conditioner & for pete's sake who puts coffee pots in the room with no filters & expects their guests to walk through the property carrying hot pots of coffee?? I won't be staying or recommending the dunes motel... Its a shame because the location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April_rain124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

A coworker recommended the Dunes Motel for me, my three kids, and two friends who all wanted to stay in one room. My kids and I have been to OC five times in the last eight years and this was the best place we have stayed (other places have been way over-priced or very dingy and dirty). We loved having a balcony, the pool was decent (I had to laugh at the slamming gate comments other people made - after ten minutes of listening to it while laying out I was ready to scream, I can only imagine what it's like if you have a poolside room), and the convenience to the beach and boardwalk can not be beat. Six of us fit very well in the room, the bathroom was also decent sized and very clean, and we used the kitchen for breakfast and lunch every day. I will definitely return to this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cullene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.0 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#47 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#78 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#55 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Court

Property: Dunes Court
Address: 2700 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3440
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Court 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and ready for enjoyment, the Dunes Court is convenient to beach and boardwalk and Ocean City’s most exciting attractions. Each guest accommodation includes refrigerator, microwave, 46” flat screen cable TV, in room safe, air-conditioning and daily maid service. Family oriented activities on property or across the street at Jolly Roger as well as free off –street parking, free Wi-Fi and a gorgeous outdoor pool are additional features that will complete your stay. The Dunes Court is one of three properties in the Dunes portfolio and guests are invited to daily tea at the Dunes Manor Hotel at 3:00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Hotel Ocean City
Dunes Motel Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing