We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to the beginning of the boardwalk!”

Thrasher's French Fries
Ranked #5 of 431 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go to the beginning of the boardwalk!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

An institution in OC the original at the beginning of the boardwalk still does them the best! I like mine with salt and malt vinegar.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5bottomspink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,251
    286
    116
    47
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thrasher's Fries”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It's part of going to the OC, a visit to Thrasher's fries. They were very good. It seems it's customary to put apple vinagar on them (they have it on the coutner) I only sampled one that way and don't recommend. But to each their own. If you are at OC you need to stop but and buy a bucket of these fries for the expierence.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fries even crispier and better than last year.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

In the summer, I think the staff get rushed and pressured by the long lines of drooling fry-lovers, and the workers don't always fry the potatoes to the extent they should and hence the fries aren't as crispy as is optimal. The beauty of coming after Labor Day is that they aren't in such a rush to pull those babies out of the boiling oil, and the long fingers of spuds get a nicer, darker crisp exterior that is to die for. This is the Thrasher's that I love the best, although the summer soggier ones are good, too, and still not to be missed. Yum. Yum. Yum. I already miss them. Tip: Eat them while they are hot and if you are a ketchup lover like I am bring your own because Thrasher's doesn't believe in ketchup. Don't even announce that you will be putting ketchup on them or they won't sell you any, lol (well, okay, not sure about this but I wouldn't risk it).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrinka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompsontown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Boardwalk must”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived in OC around 7:30 on Thursday evening, so before we went to our condo, we went to the boardwalk. When on the boardwalk, Thrasher's Fries are a must! My wife likes her fries in vinegar, so we asked for another cup so we could share and they gave us one, no problem. These fries don't need vinegar or ketchup to make them the best fries ever! Taking the first few fries off of the top is like playing Jenga trying not to topple them onto the boardwalk, but the sea gulls appreciate a few fries finding their way to the boardwalk. Gotta get more or try them for the first time! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best fries in the world... Next to my Moms of course!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Great Fries! Worth the seemingly high price, you get plenty at any size. Don't ask for ketchup, but there is plenty of vinegar if you like & a box to spill them into since the cup container is OVERFILLED! YUM! More for me!
Only one drawback, those darn seagulls! Go for cover by sitting in the nearby gazebo or get attacked by the birds! They are like dive bombers if you have any food. Alfred Hitchcock must have gotten his idea for the movie here!! Lol
Anyhow dont miss Thrashers Fries, at least 3 locations in Rehoboth Beach. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivmassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thrasher's French Fries also viewed

 

Been to Thrasher's French Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing