We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darn Good Coffee”
Review of Decatur Diner

Decatur Diner
Ranked #54 of 431 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Darn Good Coffee”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

After a rough night camping in the rain, we stopped into Decatur Diner for breakfast. The kids all ordered chocolate chip pancakes and hot chocolate, which they all inhaled. The whipped cream on top was a real treat for them. My wife also did pancakes, which she liked. I tried the sausage gravy with home fries. The gravy had larger sausage chunks than what I am used to for sausage gravy, but I still enjoyed it. The home fries were greasy and would have been perfect after a night of several adult beverages, but that was not the kind of trip we were on. I did eat some, but my wife wasn’t touching them. The coffee was surprisingly good, far better than I would expect from a diner. Our server was super nice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TikiGoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    36
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food, quick service”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stopped here for q quick breakfast on a Sunday (Memorial weekend). The place was packed. We were told there would be a 20 minute wait but we were actually sitted in about 10 minutes. The food was good, Nothing spectacular but good, fresh food. What was really good is coffee. Not your usual watery staff that's so often passes as coffee in the diners but a real deal. The service was quick and efficient and always with a smile on a face.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Galaxy775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Second visit not so good”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Tried it in January and it was fabulous food. Too bad it wasnt this time. The pancakes were thin and rubbery. The stuffed french toast reminded me of two slices Aunt Jemima frozen french toast, toasted, with a teaspoon of peanut butter and half of a banana. So sad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilson13160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy in a beachy atmosphere”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We had a wonderful breakfast here. The sausage links are the best ever! On weekends, be prepared for a short wait. It is worth the wait!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mgb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast of the Trip !!”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

While staying at a local campground, we tried the Decatur Diner for breakfast. The food was great, my children loved the M&M pancakes! The service & staff was fast & friendly.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mummaiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Decatur Diner also viewed

 

Been to Decatur Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing