We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead Freddies”

Dead Freddies Island Grill
Ranked #36 of 431 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Dead Freddies Island Grill is at 64th Street on the bayside. We have a delicious menu selection and a separate kids play area with a pirate ship for families. Great live music and a bayfront view makes for a relaxing stay. We also have an amazing outdoor deck to enjoy OC sunsets on the bay.
Columbia, MD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dead Freddies”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our favorite place in OC! The food is tasty, especially the pasta salad, and the atmosphere is fun. The prices are a little too high, though, for a family restaurant of this caliber. If the prices were a little more reasonable, I'd give it 5 stars and visit more often!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    374
    160
    64
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very clean, reasonably priced and good food.”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Went there to watch the Maryland football game. Had a few draft beers and cream of crab soup which was awesome. The rest. was very clean, the waitress was very polite and helpful

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShannonTravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not my best experience”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Went to Dead Freddies in December for a light dinner. We had been there last year, but just for drinks. It seemed like a fun place with a nice atmosphere, so we went back. I ordered a cosmo before dinner. The martini glasses are very small there, and it wasn't even quite half full. It was a terrible pour, and as a former bartender and bar owner, I would have been embarrassed to serve this. My friend ordered a manhattan martini that was approximately three quarters full. At least that was slightly better than mine. Our dinners were very bland, not what I expected at all. I had a cajun shrimp and crab wrap. I expected more spice and flavor. The best part of my dinner was the homemade potatoe chips. We were really disappointed and will probably not go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethann60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good for chachkis, comparable to Red Robin but pricey”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A $90 dinner out for 2 kids, 2 adults. WAY too pricey. Won't be happening again:

We went for dinner on a Saturday night in December. We were a party of 7 total. There was a 20 minute wait so we put our name on the list, got handed a pager and could see our name on the electronic board displaying what each parties place in line was and their respective wait. After about 20 minutes or so, we went back out to look at the electronic queue board and saw that our name was no longer there, but we had not been called/paged. We asked where our name went and they could not explain....were told that we'd be seated asap. About 5-10 minutes later, we got seated.

The restaurant is very appealing with lots to look at (pretty, professionally maintained fish tanks, pirates hanging from the ceiling etc.). The place is great for kids (again, lots to look at plus the noise level is naturally loud so any meltdowns etc. will not be noticed terribly). We were greeted promptly by a great waitress, Kim. She was attentive and friendly. No problem in splitting the checks between our two parties. The drink menu was impressive but had no prices. Many of the drinks come in chachki take home cups--a fish bowl, a plastic coconut etc. We ordered some beers and and a coco loco drink (plastic purple coconut). The coco loco was very, very icy with little beverage to it. $10 price tag. Was not impressed with the taste either.

Ordered a chicken sandwich, rockfish fish and chips and 2 kids meals, one coco loco and a 32 ounce beer came to $76 something plus a $14 tip. The kids meals were kids meals. Chicken sandwich (Honey Do chicken sandwich) was fair. The bun seemed to disintegrate as you ate it. The flavor was nothing special, average boring chicken burger. The rockfish plate was very good though.

All in all, a fun atmosphere especially with the kids. However, the food and drinks just did not live up to the pricetag. Would try some place else next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKUS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
“Pretty good”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch with my wife. Although it was a little pricey same menu as dinner. It was pretty good. I had cream of crab soup that was really good. And Rock fish wrap was just ok the chips are awesome and pasta salad was good. Would return service was good also

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dead Freddies Island Grill also viewed

 

Been to Dead Freddies Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing