We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood and Atmosphere”
Review of On the Bay Seafood

On the Bay Seafood
Ranked #50 of 426 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: From Rob and Rose: We would like to take this opportunity to THANK all of our great guests who have written such wonderful reviews about us and our little place. We work hard, alongside our wonderful family of staff, to ensure that everyone has a great experience while visiting us. We truly hope you enjoy your experience! From all of us to you, we believe our Guests are truly the BEST! You are 5 star!
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood and Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you ask the question "where should we get crabs" in Ocean City, MD you should only have two options: Crab Bag on 142nd street or On The Bay Seafood. These are the only two places where they truthfully know how to authentically steam a real MD crab. Both places are extremely busy and equally good, but I prefer On The Bay. There are picnic tables set up in the sand and you simply walk up to the counter, order what you want, sit down, and it all comes to you. The prices are a little more affordable than Crab Bag, and the service is probably a little better. Don't fall into the trap of going to the disgusting all you can eat crab/seafood restaurants in Ocean City such as Higgins or Phillips, they sell undersized, poorly steamed crabs just trying to make a huge profit off of the crowds they see during the summer season. If you don't want to fall into the tourist trap and want to actually have a relaxing authentic Maryland crab dinner, go to On The Bay Seafood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    109
    35
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
223 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Family had a wonderful meal.”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My family had a meal here and it was the 6 of us and we had a very good time. A few people has the endless crabs and others had separate meals. All were satisfied with what they had. I had crab-cake sandwich which was a great portion size with great vegetable side options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Va2Broadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Underwhelming, Unimpressive”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place was busy, and there was a confusing line situation. Since the seating was outside picnic tables it was confusing as to who was next to be seated and how close to the other guests. The wait for food was not bad, but the food itself was awful. The crab cakes were bland and unseasoned.The fries were soggy and the coleslaw tasted just of mayonnaise. It was sorely disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beezy1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drums, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious crab shack!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We wanted to take my parents for an authentic steamed crab dinner and On the Bay was perfect! You eat outdoors on paper covered picnic tables. The crabs are big, well seasoned and delish! Go early as they sell out of the different crab sizes quickly! I think the price is comparable to the quality of the seafood. My mom enjoyed the crab cake. The clams were good. Pick the mac salad over the coleslaw!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was one of our favorite restaurants in Ocean City and have eaten here frequently, but this trip we were disappointed. The food just wasn't as good as it has been on previous trips.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Bay Seafood also viewed

 

Been to On the Bay Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing